We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service.”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #42 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel has excellent and responsive service, clean, modern rooms and is close to everything.The staff were very accommodating, especially when my travel plans changed and despite the fact that the hotel was very full. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CRL144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear CRL144

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to One Aldwych. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to assist your travel plans.

I hope that we can welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this superb hotel. Fantastic location, right next door to Lyceum theatre - which was perfect as we had tickets for the Lion King. Staff excelled in looking after us. Very polite and helpful, nothing seemed a bother or too much trouble. Would recommend in a heart beat. Dined at Indigo within the hotel which was sublime. All in all best trip to London and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gmanovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear gmanovitch

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of One Aldwych. We very much appreciate your comments and kind recommendation.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on a future London visit.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked Charlie and The Chocolate Factory afternoon tea on the recommendation of my hairdresser for my daughter's 18th birthday. WOW it was all fantastic - from the attentive waiters/waitress to the fabulous food - beautiful hotel - am hoping my husband will treat me to a night there in the near future!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Christine P

It was a pleasure to welcome you for your daughter’s celebration and thank you for your lovely comments on our Afternoon Tea ‘Inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory’.

I do hope that we will see you again and that there will be an opportunity for you to stay in the future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with amazing attention to detail. Everything was effortless with amazing staff and service. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in with a fabulous location making it easy to walk almost everywhere in Central London . I hope to be back.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank LondonS_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear LondonS_r

Thank you for your super review of One Aldwych. I am thrilled to read your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great little spot. Have stayed several times over the years and always good (surprisingly quiet at night too), and whenever in town, tend to meet contacts in the bar. Its easy to find for folk and the bar area is lovely, bright and roomy. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear DBM007_13

Thank you for your review and recommendation of One Aldwych. We do hope to continue to welcome you, either for a hotel stay or a visit to the Lobby Bar. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked this hotel as a special treat for my wife's birthday. The whole experience, from the booking to check-out was outstanding.

I started the booking process online but decided to call and do it on the phone. This was a good move as the booking operator, Rui Morais helped me to find the best deal available, which was cheaper than the one I found online. Rui was polite, patient, and very, very helpful. Rui mentioned that,as it was my wife's birthday, the hotel would see if the could do something a bit special, like a chocolate cake. We ended up booking a suite for two nights.

On arrival at the hotel on the Saturday morning we were greeted at the door by very helpful staff and directed to reception. The check-in process was conducted without delay and with the minimum of fuss. The receptionist, Carolina (I hope I've spelt that right), made a point of wishing Marilyn a happy birthday and showed us to our room. The hotel had upgraded us to an Executive Suite, with a view along Aldwych. The suite consisted of a huge lounge, a kitchenette, with coffee machine, fridge and microwave, and a massive bedroom. There was even a brolly in the wardrobe and a safe in a hidden location. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable, providing a great night's sleep.

The whole hotel is bedecked with the most exquisite flowers (from their in-house florist) including in the rooms. There are also various abstract paintings all over the place. The whole atmosphere in the hotel is one of refined luxury, without being over the top extravagant.

On the Saturday evening room service delivered a bottle champagne in an ice bucket and a small chocolate cake on a plate with 'Happy Birthday' piped in chocolate. As we had a table booked for dinner, we asked if we might have the drink the following evening, if they could provide some fresh ice. This was accepted without hesitation.

The turn-down service, which I have experienced in other hotels, was in a different league here. The maid arrived to turn down the bed, which was normal. What wasn't usual practice was that a small linen towel was placed on each side of the bed to protect your feet from the carpet (which appeared spotless) until you put on your slippers, which were also placed one the towel. She also left a bottle of water on each bedside table and a card with the next day's weather forecast.

Breakfast was a very enjoyable experience, being cooked to perfection and served impeccably. I particularly liked the provision of a fresh cup for each cup of tea.

Room service deserve a special mention as it appeared that anything requested was delivered almost before the telephone was replaced!

Perhaps one of the most outstanding features of this hotel is the swimming pool. This is coloured blue and the lighting is subdued making the water appear a deep azure. At one end of the pool the entire wall is covered by a screen on to which is projected a continuous video of various underwater creatures, including sharks, dolphins and turtles. If you dip your head under the water, you can hear calming music playing softly. What an experience!

Without exception the staff were polite and helpful, with ever being obtrusive, which all helped to make our short stay all the more memorable.

If you're ever in London and want to stay somewhere that makes you feel really special, go to One Aldwych!

Room Tip: Because of the position of the hotel, all rooms should have some sort of view. We stayed on the fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relaxationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Relaxationist

Thank you sincerely for your wonderful review of One Aldwych.

We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your wife’s birthday with us and to know how much you enjoyed your stay. It is also a pleasure to have team members named in person and both Rui and Karolina are delighted to read your comments.

I very much appreciate your detailed feedback with regard to so many of our facilities. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful swimming pool, our art collection and our floral arrangements, which are created by our own in-house florist Mark Siredzuk.

On behalf of us all thank you again and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I loved my Stay in the One Aldwych. We Stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor with and amazing view over the city.

This hotel serves the most amazing crafty created breakfasts and dinners. The rooms are fitted with absolute luxury offering en-suite bathrooms comprising of a luxury bath and shower.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the most amazing! Offering scenic city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mornay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MornayKork

I am delighted that you loved your stay at One Aldwych and thank you for posting a review. I hope that there is an opportunity for us to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#18 of 1,078 in London
1,049 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#340 of 1,078 in London
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#76 of 1,078 in London
2,858 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#37 of 1,078 in London
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £279 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing