We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One Aldwych
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
ME London(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Savoy(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveller rating
1,761
389
107
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,761
389
107
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate factorylobby barafternoon teacovent gardenindigo restaurantwaterloo bridgeprivate loungehealth clubturn down servicewest endbottle of champagnewonderful hotelperfect locationdeluxe roombirthday treatlondon hotelchlorine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,574 - 1,579 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our experience at this hotel began with the doorman taking our bags out of the taxi, followed by a very welcoming and polite reception experience. The room was a decent size and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath. Our room faced the Lyceum, and although it was a little noisy during the night, I wouldn't expect anything else in central London. We had cocktails in the bar before going out in the evening, which were pretty expensive but absolutely worth it, along with the exceptional service in the bar. We had a continental breakfast in the morning, again served impeccably. We each had a spa treatment which was bliss. I can't fault this hotel; we will definitely return. Exceptional staff who have obviously been very well trained, along with fabulous decor and a great central location.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the Lyceum, and it was a great room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear y_alison

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych. I am delighted that you had a great stay and especially enjoyed our Lobby Bar and Health Club. Thank for your kind words regarding our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink with my husband and friends it's quite expensive wouldn't expect otherwise. I wanted a whiskey cocktail that wasn't on the menu and the bar staff were only to delighted to invent one for me. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank abbey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear abbey87

Thank you for your post following your visit to the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable evening and look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm shocked to be seeing some negative reviews for the Charlie & the Chocolate Factory afternoon tea, you really can't please everyone can you??

We arrived a little early but were shown to our table and the menu and teas were explained to us straight away. The food was wonderfully presented, as were the cocktails and it was all delicious! Throughout the afternoon we were offered more/different teas if we'd like to try and asked if we would like any more savouries, scones or sweets (I would have loved to but couldn't possibly!)

I didn't feel at all hurried and though the atmosphere was quite ahem, upmarket (not my usual pub lunch!) I didn't feel at all out of place and was very comfortable. The waiters were attentive and made small talk but were not at all over the top, I hope I can go back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nlc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Nicolecook

Thank you sincerely for your review of Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much appreciate your sharing this experience.

We are delighted that our Afternoon Tea ‘Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate factory’ has become so popular. It is our aim to provide a welcoming and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy afternoon tea, with an added fun twist.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team. We very much hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying here for a London weekend break. The welcome was efficient and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - obviously making an effort and this showed. The communal areas of the hotel are smart and quite trendy and we enjoyed a few (rather pricey) drinks in the bar after going to the ballet one night.

The room was well appointed and a reasonable size for London. The bathroom was pleasant though every time you flushed the toilet there was a loud mechanical whirr from what I can only assume was some sort of waste flow system. This was a bit offputting as it was really quite loud and ruined the tranquility of what was otherwise a decent bathroom. There was no iron in the room which was also a bit of an inconvenience.

Not cheap but we got a reasonable deal and felt we had paid a fair price for such a convenient location in central London.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return if we were able to get a good deal again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Timbo_82

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at One Aldwych. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our helpful team, hotel design and fairly priced rooms.

In reference to our plumbing system, this is based on an environmentally friendly water system. The system is generally very successful in providing quiet accommodation, however I apologise that you were disturbed on this occasion.

Thank you once again for all your feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Perfect 31st birthday gift from friends. We had a fantastic time. It was delicious and very unique. The birthday cake was a special treat. I would highly recommend. It was great and there was plenty to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank NDRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear NDRT

We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday visit to One Aldwych for our plentiful Afternoon Tea. Thank you for your review and recommendation and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews