We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One Aldwych
Nearby Hotels
US$381
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
US$163
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$248
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$459
US$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
US$588
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveller rating
1,761
389
107
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,761
389
107
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate factorylobby barafternoon teacovent gardenindigo restaurantwaterloo bridgeprivate loungehealth clubturn down servicewest endbottle of champagnewonderful hotelperfect locationdeluxe roombirthday treatlondon hotelchlorine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,572 - 1,577 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second visit to the excellent One Aldwych for my Wife's birthday again. The hotel makes excellent provision to remember and then celebrate special occasions for guests. Lovely bottle of wine and birthday cake delivered to room in recognition of the birthday and then more lovely chocolate cake again in the lobby bar when we were having a late night drink the following day when, Guillame, the superb waiter recognised us from the previous year.

The rooms are super comfortable and brilliantly looked after by the housekeeping staff, with many little touches to help make the stay memorable.

We will definitely want to return for another celebration next year, - to enjoy the wonderful service from the excellent hotel staff, a truly superb breakfast in the Indigo restaurant, not to mention that the One Aldwych has the best location of any hotel we have stayed in in any city. You can step outside the front door straight onto a hop on hop off London tour bus (3 different companies available), just across the street or round the corner to see Mamma Mia, The Lion King, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory or The Royal Opera House and then there is the whole of Covent Garden and the Embankment on your doorstep. The best Hotel service and the best of London - a wonderful combination for a truly memorable long weekend.

Room Tip: If you need a 'walk in' shower request an executive room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear robinsnesting

We were delighted to welcome you back to One Aldwych and thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your celebrations and that Guillaume and the team helped to make your stay memorable. Thank you also for describing our terrific location, in the heart of Covent Garden and close to so many theatres and sights.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had drinks in the lobby of One Aldwych the other day with a friends. Its a fantastic setting being an old disused bank that was remodelled into the hotel.

The service is excellent with attentive staff and a VERY large selection of cocktails. If you don't see what you want on the bar menu, just ask and they can most likely make it, they'll certainly try.

The cocktails are pricy (£13 each) however they are big measures, you certainly get your monies worth. They also do a small selection of bar food. The mini burgers are very tasty, but stay away from the spring rolls - they were very dry. bar food on average about £12,50 a serving (we got 3 mini burgers for that).

All in all, a really lovely setting for afternoon cocktails and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisWOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear ChrisWOwens

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time visiting the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych and thank you for writing a review.

We do appreciate your mentioning our fantastic setting, as One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London - originally as the home of the Morning Post newspaper and then in later years Lloyds Bank.

Thank you also for your feedback on our Lobby Bar, where our award-winning barmen are always delighted to assist. With regard to your spring rolls, I do believe this to be a one off and pass on our apologies. Thank you very much for all your other positive comments.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our experience at this hotel began with the doorman taking our bags out of the taxi, followed by a very welcoming and polite reception experience. The room was a decent size and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath. Our room faced the Lyceum, and although it was a little noisy during the night, I wouldn't expect anything else in central London. We had cocktails in the bar before going out in the evening, which were pretty expensive but absolutely worth it, along with the exceptional service in the bar. We had a continental breakfast in the morning, again served impeccably. We each had a spa treatment which was bliss. I can't fault this hotel; we will definitely return. Exceptional staff who have obviously been very well trained, along with fabulous decor and a great central location.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the Lyceum, and it was a great room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear y_alison

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych. I am delighted that you had a great stay and especially enjoyed our Lobby Bar and Health Club. Thank for your kind words regarding our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink with my husband and friends it's quite expensive wouldn't expect otherwise. I wanted a whiskey cocktail that wasn't on the menu and the bar staff were only to delighted to invent one for me. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank abbey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear abbey87

Thank you for your post following your visit to the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable evening and look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm shocked to be seeing some negative reviews for the Charlie & the Chocolate Factory afternoon tea, you really can't please everyone can you??

We arrived a little early but were shown to our table and the menu and teas were explained to us straight away. The food was wonderfully presented, as were the cocktails and it was all delicious! Throughout the afternoon we were offered more/different teas if we'd like to try and asked if we would like any more savouries, scones or sweets (I would have loved to but couldn't possibly!)

I didn't feel at all hurried and though the atmosphere was quite ahem, upmarket (not my usual pub lunch!) I didn't feel at all out of place and was very comfortable. The waiters were attentive and made small talk but were not at all over the top, I hope I can go back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nlc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Nicolecook

Thank you sincerely for your review of Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much appreciate your sharing this experience.

We are delighted that our Afternoon Tea ‘Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate factory’ has become so popular. It is our aim to provide a welcoming and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy afternoon tea, with an added fun twist.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team. We very much hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews