We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most authentically helpful staff!”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #41 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A weekend trip to London for a special birthday trip was "topped n tailed " by our outstanding experience at One Aldwych. From the moment we arrived on Friday evening until we left on Sunday, all the staff were uniquely authentically friendly,personable and helpful. From cocktails on Friday evening, an excellent breakfast next morning to an exceptional Tasting menu at the Axis restaurant with accompanying wine on Saturday evening, to getting us a taxi quickly on Sunday morning during the torrential downpour (without any hesitation of getting themselves wet) this hotel really does understand customer excellence and took the opportunity to address you by your own name too! Room was truly clean and delightfully comfortable - just had hopped that tea making facilities had been available for an early morning cuppa! This will be the hotel we return too for future weekends as so close to major events / locations but quiet too. No hesitation recommending this lovely hotel and restaurant whatsoever!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank anais74704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear anais74704

We were delighted to welcome you for your weekend stay at One Aldwych. Thank you for your lovely feedback, especially with regard to the team members you encountered.

We are pleased to place tea making facilities upon request, please do mention this for any future visits.

Thank you very much for coming to stay and we hope that you will return soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,453 - 1,459 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was as close to perfect as any hotel experience can ever be. Outstanding service and at every turn needs anticipated!

Staff remains excellent. In particular in Indigo restaurant, one night we dined there we took a friend who is a very, very "difficult" client. We have once seen a chef close to tears dealing with him!!! However, Indigo took him completely in their stride. He ordered something not on the menu as a main course and chef made an excellent job of producing it and went way above and beyond the call of duty. We love the fact that almost all the Indigo staff have uniformly genuine personalities.

Reception even let us check out very late which we sincerely appreciated - again above and beyond the call of duty with zero fuss. And that the room was cleaned and remade in the morning while we were having breakfast even though we were leaving that day was sincerely appreciated and something we have never seen a hotel make the effort to do before. Superb!

Floristry throughout the hotel remains stunning and emboldening.

Doormen continue to operate on high level. Even though we were arriving much later than originally expected doorman still was able to pick out our car in heavy traffic and be there instantly. All the doormen seem really on their game of recognising hotel guests arriving outside and being right there to get doors and assist. When we were arriving in different Uber cars all the time, that was very impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Ian-Mc-SOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Ian-Mc-SOR

Thank you sincerely for your super review. We are delighted to continue to welcome you to One Aldwych and greatly appreciate your writing.

I especially wish to thank you for highlighting the outstanding service you received throughout your stay. I know our team will be thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you again for all your support.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second visit to the excellent One Aldwych for my Wife's birthday again. The hotel makes excellent provision to remember and then celebrate special occasions for guests. Lovely bottle of wine and birthday cake delivered to room in recognition of the birthday and then more lovely chocolate cake again in the lobby bar when we were having a late night drink the following day when, Guillame, the superb waiter recognised us from the previous year.

The rooms are super comfortable and brilliantly looked after by the housekeeping staff, with many little touches to help make the stay memorable.

We will definitely want to return for another celebration next year, - to enjoy the wonderful service from the excellent hotel staff, a truly superb breakfast in the Indigo restaurant, not to mention that the One Aldwych has the best location of any hotel we have stayed in in any city. You can step outside the front door straight onto a hop on hop off London tour bus (3 different companies available), just across the street or round the corner to see Mamma Mia, The Lion King, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory or The Royal Opera House and then there is the whole of Covent Garden and the Embankment on your doorstep. The best Hotel service and the best of London - a wonderful combination for a truly memorable long weekend.

Room Tip: If you need a 'walk in' shower request an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear robinsnesting

We were delighted to welcome you back to One Aldwych and thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your celebrations and that Guillaume and the team helped to make your stay memorable. Thank you also for describing our terrific location, in the heart of Covent Garden and close to so many theatres and sights.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had drinks in the lobby of One Aldwych the other day with a friends. Its a fantastic setting being an old disused bank that was remodelled into the hotel.

The service is excellent with attentive staff and a VERY large selection of cocktails. If you don't see what you want on the bar menu, just ask and they can most likely make it, they'll certainly try.

The cocktails are pricy (£13 each) however they are big measures, you certainly get your monies worth. They also do a small selection of bar food. The mini burgers are very tasty, but stay away from the spring rolls - they were very dry. bar food on average about £12,50 a serving (we got 3 mini burgers for that).

All in all, a really lovely setting for afternoon cocktails and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisWOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear ChrisWOwens

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time visiting the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych and thank you for writing a review.

We do appreciate your mentioning our fantastic setting, as One Aldwych occupies one of the most important Edwardian buildings in London - originally as the home of the Morning Post newspaper and then in later years Lloyds Bank.

Thank you also for your feedback on our Lobby Bar, where our award-winning barmen are always delighted to assist. With regard to your spring rolls, I do believe this to be a one off and pass on our apologies. Thank you very much for all your other positive comments.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our experience at this hotel began with the doorman taking our bags out of the taxi, followed by a very welcoming and polite reception experience. The room was a decent size and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath. Our room faced the Lyceum, and although it was a little noisy during the night, I wouldn't expect anything else in central London. We had cocktails in the bar before going out in the evening, which were pretty expensive but absolutely worth it, along with the exceptional service in the bar. We had a continental breakfast in the morning, again served impeccably. We each had a spa treatment which was bliss. I can't fault this hotel; we will definitely return. Exceptional staff who have obviously been very well trained, along with fabulous decor and a great central location.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the Lyceum, and it was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear y_alison

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych. I am delighted that you had a great stay and especially enjoyed our Lobby Bar and Health Club. Thank for your kind words regarding our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink with my husband and friends it's quite expensive wouldn't expect otherwise. I wanted a whiskey cocktail that wasn't on the menu and the bar staff were only to delighted to invent one for me. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank abbey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear abbey87

Thank you for your post following your visit to the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable evening and look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm shocked to be seeing some negative reviews for the Charlie & the Chocolate Factory afternoon tea, you really can't please everyone can you??

We arrived a little early but were shown to our table and the menu and teas were explained to us straight away. The food was wonderfully presented, as were the cocktails and it was all delicious! Throughout the afternoon we were offered more/different teas if we'd like to try and asked if we would like any more savouries, scones or sweets (I would have loved to but couldn't possibly!)

I didn't feel at all hurried and though the atmosphere was quite ahem, upmarket (not my usual pub lunch!) I didn't feel at all out of place and was very comfortable. The waiters were attentive and made small talk but were not at all over the top, I hope I can go back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Nicolecook

Thank you sincerely for your review of Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much appreciate your sharing this experience.

We are delighted that our Afternoon Tea ‘Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate factory’ has become so popular. It is our aim to provide a welcoming and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy afternoon tea, with an added fun twist.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team. We very much hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME by Melia London
ME by Melia London
#70 of 1,076 in London
2,800 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,076 in London
1,028 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#58 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £311 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing