We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing room and the best location”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #39 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“amazing room and the best location”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We have just spent three nights in a studio suite at this hotel, and the bad thing is that from now on, no hotel in London will be as good as this.
Yes, it is expensive, but worth it!
We loved the level of service - we had some trouble with the DVD and a noisy AC, but less than two minutes after we called reception someone was knocking on our door, ready to help.
The room was gorgeous - comfortable beds, desk, sitting area with sofa, lighting to suit all occasions, windows that opened, smallish bathroom (but still both shower and bath and lovely REN bath products), lots of closet space and very cleverly hid minibar and safe. But the best was the view - over Waterloo Bridge, the Thames and down to Royal Festival Hall. We had breakfast in our room every morning - wouldn't miss sitting there, looking out, coffee in hand...
We took great advantage of the pool - we had our 8 year old daughter with us, so the pool was truly relaxing and refreshing after a day out in London.
Even though this hotel mainly caters for business people (I assume), they warmly welcomed our daughter - all members of the staff knew her name, she had slippers and robe her size and was treated to a smoothie on the house one night. They told us that they also had movies for children in the DVD library, but we had brought our own.
We didn't bring training gear, otherwise we would have used the gym and the jogging map provided. Will next time!
Location can't be beat - right next to Covent Garden, theaters, great restaurants - and London Eye is just down the road!
We can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    339
    96
    29
    10
See reviews for
409
756
94
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Can't add much to what is said by other reviewers. Quiet, classy, in a superb location, etc, etc. If you want a real quality hotel in central London, give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Christmas Shopping time! But this is the place to stay...

its elegant, relaxed and just a pleasant place to be.

London isnt too nice a place to be because of traffic etc etc etc, so we booked this place so that we could walk everywhere.

Its a fantastic location and much much more.

Save up that extra bit of money and stay here . 100% recommend it.

lovely staff and a high level of design

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zoe_elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Booked last minute this hotel and it is now my No# 1 favourite hotel in London. Previously had always liked the SOHO Hotel but now that I have experienced One Aldwych, I am converted and this will be my choice from now on.

All rooms have queen or kingsize beds - we stayed in a standard room and they are small (no doubt about that) but perfectly formed - really high quality fixtures and fittings. I loved the little TV in the bathroom !

Location - perfect, just walk out into Covent Garden and everything walkable - this was major plus point for me, a few minutes from Covent Garden tube or the mainline train station.

Overal, I loved it - really top class and the best location in London.

  • Liked — Luxury and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
274 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

i think one aldwych is THE classic contemporary london hotel. forget the ian schrager et. als of the world, this place is for real, not just a soulless space with funky furniture. this was my seventh or eight stay at one aldwych over the last four years and its amazingly consistent , loved it the first time, loved it every time since. do yourself a favour and book one of the rooms at the front of the hotel that over look waterloo bridge, beautiful.
the service is excellent from the door man greeting when you arrive jet lagged from the states, front desk, wait staff and concierge, to the night watchman(when you also arrive but very late and slightly tipsy from a night on the town). breakfast is lovely and if i lived in london i'd go there for brunch on sundays. the bar is a beautiful space with great cocktails, certainly a great place for informal business entertaining over tea or for meeting friends for pre dinner drinks.
do yourself a favour and stay at one aldwych !

  • Liked — service, design, location.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank divenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I booked One Alwych for two nights to celebrate my 30th birthday with some london based friends. I couldn't be happier with my choice. The hotel was everything it promised to be, from the sumptuous facade, to the outstanding interior design and thoughtful service. The room was small but extremely comfortable, with the best bed I ever slept in, B&O tv, a minibar stocked with excellent food & beverage, and a very large tub. I was offered a champagne bottle and a slice of chocolate cake with "happy birthday" written in chocolate sauce, a very nice and thoughtful touch I greatly appreciated. Breakfast and brunch were superb and not overly expensive (26 Eur). The staff was really attentive courteous and easygoing, and the whole experience was memorable.

  • Liked — The staff, the design, the location, the bed
  • Disliked — lack of separate shower in the bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Superb experience from start to finish. Charming staff - nothing too much trouble. Classy ambience, high standards, excellent location. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geohenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#71 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing