We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,390)
Filter reviews
2,390 results
Traveller rating
1,834
401
113
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,834
401
113
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barchocolate factoryafternoon teacovent gardenindigo restaurantwaterloo bridgeprivate loungehealth clubwest endturn down servicebottle of champagnewonderful hotelperfect locationexecutive roomperfect staybirthday treatlondon hotel
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 2,390 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Service was first class but this is added to your bill
It's beautiful but not worth £185 for myself and my daughters
Small sandwiches but your offered more although the chocolate is so sweet you couldn't manage to eat it all

I would say over priced

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank mufty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, Managing Director at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Mufty 2

Thank you for choosing to visit for Afternoon Tea.

I do appreciate your mention of our first class service and I wish to ensure you our offering is competitively priced with other luxury hotels in our neighbourhood.

Thank you for your thoughts and we hope that you will consider returning again.

Yours sincerely

Simon Hirst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed for a week at this hotel. It was well located if you are going to the Theatre area or Covent Garden. The room was a good size, but not comfy or cozy or luxurious. The lighting in the bedroom was odd--all on or all off, you cannot control bedroom lamps or lighting separately. The switches for lighting are strangely located, too. The bathroom: cannot turn on the shower without getting wet and getting the floor of the bathroom wet, the sink area has a low deck and a very raised single bowl sink, which then caused the water to splash everywhere. One night we returned after a long day of touring to find that the toilet was not working and they had been having plumbing issues on our floor all day (the ick factor here). The staff is very officious, but not warm or friendly. Our included breakfasts were generous in quantity, but rarely delicious. We would prefer a warmer, cozier place to stay, especially since it was chilly and rainy during our trip.

Room Tip: we had a view of the theatre across the street, playing The Lion King
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, Managing Director at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017


Dear Mrs B503

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as we had hoped.

I very much regret the unfortunate plumbing issue that occurred and wish to sincerely apologise to you. I do appreciate that there are many hotels to choose from in London and I regret that we did not meet your expectations on this visit.

Yours sincerely

Simon Hirst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is a terrific hotel, cleverly fashioned from a lovely Beaux Arts building that occupies an entire triangular block and once housed the Morning Post newspaper (Churchill's one-time employer). The location is superb (across the street from several theaters and the Courthauld Gallery at Somerset House, a five-minute walk to the Underground station in charming, exciting Covent Garden, and a 10-15 minute walk to Trafalgar Square). The hotel's lobby bar and restaurant (Eneko) are top notch. The hotel's service is peerless, from Tiago and Jose and others at the front desk to Salvatore and other bell station staff to the very helpful and knowledgeable concierge team. We didn't have time to use the basement gym and pool, but they too look very sleek. Our room was quiet, comfortable and attractive if oddly small (but because it's so well laid out and visually appealing, the size wasn't really a drawback). For the cost of the stay, I'd say they might include at least a modest (say, Continental) breakfast. But all in all, I'd say very well done, and thank you. We look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Califorays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, Managing Director at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Califorays

We were delighted to welcome you to One Aldwych for your recent visit.

Thank you for taking the time to write about so many aspects of the hotel. We appreciate your mentioning our building, protected under English heritage, together with our comfortable accommodation and our ideal setting in the heart of Covent Garden.

It is a pleasure to hear that our team enhanced your stay and thank you for noting our reception and concierge teams, together with our famous Lobby Bar and Basque restaurant Eneko at One Aldwych.

We are so pleased that you are planning a return visit and look forward to seeing you again one day.

Yours sincerely

Simon Hirst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

A really lovely place, very friendly staff, and absolutely fantastic afternoon tea. A picture of the a Tower of Joy which was full of sweets, the tea was good as well, try the Mango. Can recommend also for families, they brought a special plate for kids.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Katja-Riina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, Managing Director at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dar Katja-Riina V

Thank you for choosing One Aldwych for your recent visit, we were pleased to welcome you and your family for our Afternoon Tea ‘Inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory’.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for posting a photo of our sweet offering, including our decadent golden egg and homemade candy floss.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and do hope that there is an opportunity to see you again.

Yours sincerely

Simon Hirst
Managing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Title says it all - nearly everything here is always perfect, and the standards displayed higher than high. Have said so many times before, but it's well worth repeating. In this stay the hotel made a mistake, but the way they dealt with the situation was superb. If something had been wrong, then I would be reassured that One Aldwych would be there in an instant and could be relied on. Naturally, they were full of apologies, although there was no real problem for us. In a city with a whole host of high end hotels, One Aldwych offers even more. Staff turnover is much, much lower than most top line hotels, which again is really telling.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian-Mc-SOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, Managing Director at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Ian-Mc-SOR

It is our pleasure to continue to welcome you to One Aldwych. Thank you for your review.

As a smaller independent hotel with many long serving staff, we very much value our many regular guests. My sincere apologies for the error mentioned and I am pleased that we were able to make amends for this.

I do appreciate that there are many hotels to choose from in London and we greatly appreciate your support. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Simon Hirst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews