We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - lovely rooms and wonderful service”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #40 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel - lovely rooms and wonderful service”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for just one night (sadly) and had a great time. We both work and live in London so the location wasn't a big deal for us, but for someone visiting London this hotel is perfect - you're close to Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Charing Cross and of course many of the west end theatres.

Service at the hotel was just perfect and they seem to be aiming for "exceeding expectations" and they do. Service is friendly, helpful and generally faultless.

We had cocktails in their bar before dinner - would definitely recommend this - and they were lovely. Dinner was also great - we had dinner in the restaurant just above the bar and the food was very good. We had breakfast in our room the next morning and it was just as good.

The rooms are a good size and the bed was really comfortable. Great bathroom too.

We both left the hotel realising that the hotel had really delivered - there was nothing they could have done to make it any better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_London12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,612
    353
    101
    30
    10
See reviews for
426
792
97
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I love this hotel.

I have stayed at One Aldwych on four or five occasions now - most recently whilst on holiday, but usually whilst on business in London.

What sets this hotel apart from any other I have stayed in throughout Europe is the quality of service. A good example: I left some shirts to be laundered. One of them came back with a small hole repaired.

Weather forecasts appear by the bed every evening, with bottles of water. Fresh towels and fresh fruit are delivered in the evening during the turnaround service. The concierge / bell boys and the receptionists go out of their way to welcome and remember you. They all seemed to remember my name; on my first visit they were apparently aware that I had just stepped off a transatlantic flight, and went out of their way to find an available room at 9am.

The location is excellent - just been the City / Holborn / law courts area and Covent Garden. The breakfast was good (beyond that I did not use their restaurants). There is a very lively and contemporary bar in the basement, which always seems to be popular and has a nice vibe. The swimming pool is small, but the spa and the gym are first class.

What perhaps lets this hotel down slightly is that the rooms are pretty small. That is perhaps inevitable in an old business, which has been converted as sympathetically as this one. However, the rooms are immaculate and beautifully appointed. The bed redefines comfortable and the bathrooms - always a good barometer for the quality of a hotel in my view - are spacious, with good quality toiletries and a modern aesthetic.

I am not prone to raving about 5 star hotels, which come with a certain level of expectation anyway. But this one at least serves to confirm that there are good hotels in London, with high quality service and which employ good staff

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Stayed at One Aldwych for two nights in March. Hotel is a 5 - 10 min walk from Covent garden Tube station.

The hotel is excellently run with very polite and helpful staff.
The hotel is close to many theatres and restaurants and walking distance to many attractions.
The rooms are fairly small but clean and well appointed; breakfast was included in our pre paid rate of £250 per night, and was very good.
If paying for breakfast separately it could set you back about £50 per couple per morning.
The hotel comes with a good size swimming pool, with modern Gym, sauna and steam room.
In short this is a great hotel and having stayed next door at the Waldorf we would definitely rate One Aldwych a better choice of hotel and stay again next time were in London.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I have stayed here several times and I am always pleased with the service and rooms. The rooms are modern and small but very comfortable Great location in by Covent Garden makes it the best place to stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

One Aldwych was a fantastic hotel with an elegant and lively bar. The room was of average size but extremely stylish with a live orchid in the luxurious bath. Wonderful sculpture in the bar/lobby and in the room. The staff were amazing and served all of our needs. Complementary WiFi. Easy walking distance to Covent Garden tube but there was a taxi outside the hotel at all times, making travel easy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiversideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

This hotel has a magical mix of attentive staff and informal atmosphere. We felt that the staff really wanted to make our stay special - and that is a wonderful feeling. Of course it costs, but there are more expensive hotels where you won't get that wonderful feeling!

The bar has a great atmosphere. The concierge got us top seats in minutes to a show that was going to start in two hours. The people who gave us our spa treatments did an excellent job. The breakfasts are WONDERFUL! The restaurant in the cellar offers tasty food - safe but not boring - in a pleasant environment.

My wife does not like to splash out on hotels, but she was pleased with this one and felt it was worth it. I, on the other hand, do like to pay for luxury hotels, and I also felt this was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We're Americans who spend about a month a year overseas and tend toward boutique hotels. Sometimes it's just us adults: this time, we brought the two kids who are 11 and 13. One Aldwych is now on my list of top 3 European hotels and it's due in part to the hotel and its location that I so enjoyed this trip to London. The rooms are a bit small, but fabulously appointed with generous modern bathrooms that include heated towel racks, big tubs, and very good soaps/lotions. Rooms themselves are modern with comfortable beds and very tall elegant windows. What really stands out, however, is the hotel service. Twice a day fresh towels, free bottles of water, daily fresh fruit for snacks, immediate, courteous attention to every request and need.
We tend not to use hotel restaurants and prefer to get around a bit. Not here! Daily breakfast was tremendous and several times, we sat in the lobby bar, which is always packed with London types (people-watching!) having drinks and tea. Drinks, food, service--all fabulous. Can't recommend this place highly enough. We expect to return in the fall

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyFromAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#66 of 1,069 in London
2,649 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 1,069 in London
4,613 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#19 of 1,069 in London
997 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,069 in London
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing