We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #171 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for 4 days after arriving from NZ before heading on to Italy and it was fantastic. I booked a tiny single room as I was travelling on my own. When I arrived prob 6am ish the staff were lovely and got my bag up to the room where there was a lovely hand written welcome note and chocolates waiting for me. The room was gorgeous - the decor was very girly but lovely, the bed was super comfortable especially after a long haul flight, the bathroom was small but had a great shower and lovely toiletries and a lovely bathrobe. The room may have been small but it was well designed with plenty of room to store my rather large suitcase. This was one of the best hotel experiences I've enjoyed in a long time. Great location too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    94
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
74
125
58
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Located in the South Kensington area of London and convenient to transportation is a wonderful place frequented by guests that have long term ties to this gem of a hotel. While this is one of several hotels owned by the Firmdale Hotel Group it in no way is a "cookie cutter" product that's been mass produced. It's a beautiful hotel, smartly decorated and attended by a very attentive and caring staff.

The rooms, while small, are beautifully decorated with up to date bathrooms and all guest amenities. Our ground floor room (#14) overlooked a charming garden that is also a shared view from a bright breakfast room that is well appointed and attended. The hotel is a short walk from the Victoria & Albert Museum, British Museum and nearby shopping and restaurant areas are only around the corner. Not cheap (there are no bargains), not expensive, it's a great value and delivers on what it purports to be; an elegant, upscale place to use as your central headquarters while visiting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenwalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Number Sixteen (and its sister hotels) are a great alternative to London's luxurious and overpriced hotels. It has a enviable location in South Kensington, just a 3-minute walk from the Underground station. The hotel's decoration and fixtures are both high-quality and tasteful at every corner. Even though the rooms are small, they're comfortable and well distributed. Just right for London, a city in which you pay for location rather than for size (unless you plan to stay in for most of the time). Number Sixteen's staff is very accommodating and helpful, so feel free to call ahead and get ask for help or guidance if you need it. Breakfast is tastefully served and portions are generous and delicious. A great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are probably the smallest. If you get one of those, try to change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonsoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of December. Really lovely room, not huge but big enough for one night. Great amenities (robes, bath products etc.) and well-stocked, if expensive, mini-bar. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, breakfast was generous and tasty. The only slight problem was the very high temperature in the room - very hard to sleep even with the window open and heating off. The hotel in general also seemed over-heated considering the mild weather. That was only a small niggle though, and I would definitely recommend this great hotel in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Probably the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in: lovely design, friendly and helpful staff, great location, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and fab breakfasts. Have stayed here twice now and would move in if possible. Perfect!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank StamfordHem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

After years of staying in the city's grand hotels we discovered Number Sixteen and have never looked back. Comprised of what were once four individual houses in a classic South Kensington row, the hotel has an intimate "house party" feeling. Beautifully decorated and impeccably maintained it is a perfect place to come home to after a day around London's very wander-able streets and shops. Breakfasts are tip-top and there's limited, high quality kitchen activity at other times, but no real dining. In lieu of a bar, drinks are served in lounges with the look and feel of stylish townhouse living rooms.

Room Tip: The smallest rooms are fine for one but tight for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussydame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was a work trip for my wife, so I was the spouse tag-a-long. The hotel was expensive, compared to US standards. But our room was paid by work. So we may not have stayed here, if we paid for it. Loved the location, because it was close to the Tube. Rode the Tube everywhere, so the location was great and the neighborhood is really safe. Walking around all times of night (i.e. 3am), so I felt really safe. Overall I would recommend the hotel, if you are staying in London. The only complaint is that the bathrooms are really small (I am 6'7). The bathrooms are for really small people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#238 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#167 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Property: Number Sixteen
Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing