We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would love to come back”
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #293 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I absolutely loved my tiny room (305) upstairs. I stayed for four nights, but would've wanted to stay forever. Lots of stairs to climb and it was a bit of a maze at first, but for me it was just part of the fun. The bed was super comfortable and I enjoyed the view from the window when lying on the bed - the rooftop of the opposite building and lots of sky with planes. My friends stayed in a larger room (103), which was gorgeous, too. The hotel was really clean. Wi-fi worked well.

In my room I could hear the next door neighbours and sometimes the planes, but I slept with earplugs, so that was not a problem.

The staff was friendly, the hotel was beautiful, very interesting decor. We sat in the private garden a lot, it was lovely. The location was great. Lots of cafes nearby if you didn't want to have a hotel breakfast (nice, but expensive). South Kensington station was right there and the area was really nice.

I truly enjoyed my stay and would love to go back anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandandolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Was here as solo traveler in April - had one of the smaller rooms. Found it was well organized however so the size was not an issue at all - it's all very cute and well-appointed. Loved the pillows, bedding, shower and heated tower bar. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. Also loved how close the hotel was to the tube station - one that has access to three of the main lines; you can get everywhere very easily. Had breakfast included - it was fresh and yummy. I found all the staff to be very warm and helpful. A really lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danasarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything about this hotel is wonderful ... The location, the rooms, the garden. But most importantly the staff who are all delightful. I especially want to thank those who were on duty on the evening of the 30th of April when I was struggling to get to the airport for a long haul flight (tube strike, my cab did not show). They were very very helpful and calming.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thehungrymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I discovered the hotel via a recommendation and felt at home from the first time. Since I am welcomed with personal attention every time I return which makes my trips to London a particular pleasure. Rooms are small but offer all amenities you need; the ground floor offers plenty of space and the excellent breakfast (varied buffet and offer on the menu) assures an excellent start into the day. The staff is helpful and attentive throughout the stay. I look forward to returning soon. And if you do not manage to get a room at Number 16, look out for another Firmdale place in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raoul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

WOnderful small boutique hotel, with charming rooms, excellent service, an honour library bar, and great breakfast room in the conservatory looking out on the garden. A lovely terrace garden which we didn't use because of the temperature, but a hotel I would come back to.

Room Tip: Breakfast only, although room service was available. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

... make sure your room faces the garden. I stayed in this hotel for a week and was very happy in a beautiful double room overlooking the garden. However my colleague was on the front and was woken very early by the rubbish collection. No fault of the hotel but worth knowing.
The breakfasts are fantastic and eating outside in the summer is a great way to start your day. The two lounges although small are both very cosy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent one night here recently. Great location, beautiful garden in the back, quiet, tastefully decorated, kind staff, healthy delicious continental breakfast. Tasteful touches such as linen spray provided.
Rooms on the small side and rather expensive but overall very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#359 of 1,077 in London
415 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,077 in London
3,451 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,004 reviews
South Kensington
Blakes Hotel
Blakes Hotel
#412 of 1,077 in London
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £217 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing