We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous gorgeous hotel”
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #293 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Simply the perfect place to stay! Exquisite, reasonably priced, well-located, utterly comfortable, everything excellent. Gracious friendly efficient staff, lovely breakfast--I just loved everything. I'll always stay at No. 16!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yoyoyo43050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2007

My husband and I had an amazing weekend in London while staying at Number 16. The hotel was quaint and elegant. The english decor made us feel right at home in England. The rooms were beauifully decorated and had a romantic feel...amazing marble bathrooms! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and had a great variety. The location of Number 16 could not be better. It is located about a block from South Kensington tube stop, so you can easily get anywhere in the city. But who needs to leave S. Ken, with all of the great restaurants and museums!! I would stay again in a heartbeat and I recommend it to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2007

Just returned from a 4-night stay (my third) and was extremely surprised and disappointed, given that Number Sixteen is one of my favourite hotels, that £200 and €100 were stolen in cash from my room at some stage during the 4 days.

My fault for not putting the wallet with my cash reserve in the in-room safe but, in over 20 years of international travel, this is the first time I have ever had anything stolen from a hotel room.

So be careful: use the safe. Even here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank El_Viajero_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

My husband and I were surprised by the hospitality and comfort that "Number Sixteen" offered. From the beautiful linens to the lovely warm towels, Number Sixteen was "top notch". The marble bathrooms were also a treat! We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kchoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

This is a jewel of a hotel in South Kensington. It is nestled among some of the most lovely homes in London. This place is NOT for you if you want the cheesy tourist version of London. It is quiet and charming. They also just redecorated and it looks great. What I really liked is that the rooms were spotless and there is great access to the tube station, restaurants and museums. One warning - rooms are small. When they say single deluxe - they mean single. I was by myself and it was totally fine (and for 135 pounds in London I will take it!). It would have been too small if I were there with my husband. Service was extrememly friendly and accomdating and even drew me a map when I couldn't find a pub where I was supposed to meet friends. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank glasbcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

This hotel has all the features of a Firmdale establishment (they have six hotels, in South Kensington/Knightsbridge, and in the Soho area.) We love staying in them, particularly for the chic decor and the comfort of the rooms and public areas. All of their bathrooms are modern and large, by London standards. The staff are young and friendly, and the rooms are always spotlessly maintained, with turn-down service.

When we visited, the hotel was in the middle of refurbishing some of the bedrooms and had plans to change the color palette in one of the sitting rooms. (None of this affected the other guests -- they probably didn't even notice.) But it's a mark of this company's commitment to always looking updated and fresh that they change the decor so often.

The positives of 16 Sumner include the location in South Kensington. Truthfully, this part of town can be a bit grotty, despite being one of the most expensive areas in London. But Sumner Place is a lovely street -- a real oasis. At the same time, you're close to good restaurants and the tube, as well as all the shopping in Knightsbridge. We stayed in one of the larger rooms overlooking the street, and it was like living in your own chic townhouse.

I do have a couple of complaints. The hotel has a wonderful garden in the back which, theoretically, is available for breakfast and to hang out in. But this is London -- even in the summer, the garden is often unusable because it's too wet or cold. There's a small conservatory for breakfast, and unfortunately, when the garden is unavailable, the conservatory gets crowded very quickly during breakfast. We carried our croissants, fruit, juices, etc., into one of the sitting rooms, as did another couple. We were able to improvise an eating table, but the other couple just put their plates, etc., on the floor. Not exactly the four-star experience you'd hope for! Next time, we'll probably just have breakfast in our room.

There's also a slight sense of being nickle-and-dimed by this hotel. There is an honesty bar, where you get to pay 8 pounds for making your own drinks. The hotel had no DVD library, but instead had an arrangement with a local rental store -- for 4 pounds per DVD. The Internet wasn't free, either.

All this aside, though, we would happily stay in this hotel again. In our opinion, the positives far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

This is a great hotel in every way but one - the basic room for singles is the size of a closet and the bed won't fit anyone over 5' 8". Other than that, it is in a great location, wonderfully decorated, and the staff is very responsive. But if at all claustrophobic or tall, ask careful questions about the size of the room and bed.

5  Thank Gustie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#359 of 1,077 in London
415 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,077 in London
3,449 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,004 reviews
South Kensington
Blakes Hotel
Blakes Hotel
#412 of 1,077 in London
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £217 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing