We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but TINY rooms and some outrageous charges”
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #239 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but TINY rooms and some outrageous charges”
Reviewed 16 May 2007

The hotel is very clean and has modern, stylish decor, but the superior rooms are so small, they look they were literally cut in half. Some of the rooms have bathrooms so tiny, you can barely fit one person in them and taking a shower with the door closed is an exercise in extreme claustrophobia.
Room rates are, I guess, in keeping with London prices and the current value of the pound, but $40 U.S. for internet service? $60 for continental breakfast for two? An honesty bar that charges something like $25 per drink? That is just INSANE.
Staff is friendly and helpful, but also sort of clueless. Can't make recommendations or give information without looking it up. Very few of them are English and/or seem to know the city very well.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location and decor
  • Disliked — staff knowledge, size of rooms, prices
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tripperZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    95
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
126
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Stayed at this delightful and characterful hotel on a "girls" trip to London and consistent with its sister hotels, it proved to be a real winner for service, style and comfort. The location is ideal for cultural activities as well as shopping. Easy access to theatreland via underground. Delicious breakfast with great variety. The garden is quite charming and an oasis of solitude. The staff are exceedingly helpful and professional. I was impressed with their enthusiasm and I felt like a really welcomed and valued guest. My room was immaculate and stylishly decorated. Well done yet again to this small hotel chain for providing an exemplary hotel experience!

  • Liked — Splendid service, ambience and comfort
  • Disliked — No gripes at all
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Spindlelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Simply the perfect place to stay! Exquisite, reasonably priced, well-located, utterly comfortable, everything excellent. Gracious friendly efficient staff, lovely breakfast--I just loved everything. I'll always stay at No. 16!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yoyoyo43050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

My husband and I had an amazing weekend in London while staying at Number 16. The hotel was quaint and elegant. The english decor made us feel right at home in England. The rooms were beauifully decorated and had a romantic feel...amazing marble bathrooms! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and had a great variety. The location of Number 16 could not be better. It is located about a block from South Kensington tube stop, so you can easily get anywhere in the city. But who needs to leave S. Ken, with all of the great restaurants and museums!! I would stay again in a heartbeat and I recommend it to all of our friends and family.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

Just returned from a 4-night stay (my third) and was extremely surprised and disappointed, given that Number Sixteen is one of my favourite hotels, that £200 and €100 were stolen in cash from my room at some stage during the 4 days.

My fault for not putting the wallet with my cash reserve in the in-room safe but, in over 20 years of international travel, this is the first time I have ever had anything stolen from a hotel room.

So be careful: use the safe. Even here.

  • Liked — Location; nice overall experience
  • Disliked — Watch the rates: VAT at 17.5% is excluded and if breakfast is extra, while nice, with the obligatory service charge, it costs £16.04 so a single room quoted at £100 is actually £133.54.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank El_Viajero_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

My husband and I were surprised by the hospitality and comfort that "Number Sixteen" offered. From the beautiful linens to the lovely warm towels, Number Sixteen was "top notch". The marble bathrooms were also a treat! We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kchoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

This is a jewel of a hotel in South Kensington. It is nestled among some of the most lovely homes in London. This place is NOT for you if you want the cheesy tourist version of London. It is quiet and charming. They also just redecorated and it looks great. What I really liked is that the rooms were spotless and there is great access to the tube station, restaurants and museums. One warning - rooms are small. When they say single deluxe - they mean single. I was by myself and it was totally fine (and for 135 pounds in London I will take it!). It would have been too small if I were there with my husband. Service was extrememly friendly and accomdating and even drew me a map when I couldn't find a pub where I was supposed to meet friends. Will definitely go back.

  • Liked — clean rooms, nice decor, friendly service, fabulous location, quiet
  • Disliked — the rooms were a tad small
  • Tips/Secrets — book in advance - it was totally sold out.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank glasbcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#154 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#543 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#168 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Property: Number Sixteen
Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing