We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST way to get a taste of London”

British Tours - Day Tours from London
Ranked #29 of 710 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Tours Ltd. is Britain's longest-established personal tour operator established in 1958. If you are looking for personally guided day tours in and around London, extended tours of England, Scotland & Wales, and excellent tour guides, you have come to the right place.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The professional and gracious staff and guides at British Tours was a great experience. We did a 7 hour tour yesterday with Alastair Davidson in a lovely Mercedes. Alastair was warm, friendly, accommodating, and so well educated on all London. He picked us up at our hotel and toted us a back location to see the preparation of the changing of the guards (they were feet away in full uniform, band blasting and the crowds were all at the palace) We also saw the government buildings, big ben, lovely parks, unique neighborhoods, and an outstanding castle just outside of the city (Hawthrone Palace) We heard great facts and stories about the royals and all about this city's history and how it has made her who she is. The impact of Kings, religion, war, fires, and her queens and how it has defined this city. A lovely day I will always use British Tours AND always request Alastair!

Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! It's great to read about how much you enjoyed the tour and how much you got out of your day.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for British Tours - Day Tours from London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 390 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

June 7, 2014, start at Victoria Station & end at London Eye. A very long day, plan to buy your own lunch, but you see many different attractions in London, including drive-bys while on the coach. Tour Guide was David. Very clear & knowledgeable & answers all questions. However, he should have told everyone where we were headed next, so we knew where to meet the group after seeing an attraction. (My spouse returned to the coach parking lot by mistake at one point.) Obviously experienced, David managed to time our tour of various parts of St. Paul's Cathedral, so that we still saw the crypt and the American apse that were closed for a private wedding when we arrived. We had time to climb up to the whispering chamber, too. Lucky day - we watched the Queen's birthday rehearsal - an expanded changing of the guard. Problem with Premium Tours overall, though: Coaches are too cramped and uncomfortable for sitting for relatively long times - I'm short, but still had little legroom and couldn't move enough to take photos out the windows. Also, David was trying to manage at least four different tours (morning only, afternoon only, all-day, with Eye or an afternoon Tea), so we'd hurry to our location, only to wait five-plus minutes for David to take names and count people. Finally, our tickets bought through Premium for the London Eye weren't fast track and included a "movie" we did not want. You do not go to the London Eye as a group - just dropped off - and you're on your own to return to your hotel. There was over an hour wait for the Eye at the end of the tour, so we had to buy upgraded tickets.

Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Wendy,

I am afraid you posted your review on the wrong page. I understand the experience you are reviewing is for a coach tour (group tour).

British Tours only specialises in private sightseeing tours.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My day trip (10 Hs) to Oxford, Stratford and Warwick was perferct.The guide Geoff was extremely nice, pleasant and professional.
The cost was high but the result very rewarding.

1  Thank paulobopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Paulo,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our services. We hope to welcome you again to Europe in the near future.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a wonderful 4 hour private tour of Hampton Court with Andrew. Andrew was friendly, professional and knowledgable. He picked us up promptly from our hotel and drove us out of central London to Hampton Court. After the beautiful drive we arrived just after it opened. This allowed Andrew to take us around with almost no one else there. We saw the gardens and the maze top. Andrew was very accommodating when our group requested a coffee break and he even dropped us off at the pub we intended to have lunch at. A private tour is expensive and we felt is was an excellent value.

Thank Wjm420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour and the services of our guide!

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a wonderful, leisurely, informative, and exciting tour we experienced with Mark of British Tours! From the magical mist of Stonehenge at sunrise, to the lovely alleys and crescents of Bath, to the pubs & spires of Salisbury, our group of 4 had the experience of a lifetime! Mark was entertaining, knowledgeable, and accommodating. This was well worth the price. Booking from the US was extremely easy.

4  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Kay,

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. We are glad to see you enjoyed the beautiful English countryside with our guide: those locations are truly magical!

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Tours - Day Tours from London also viewed

 

Been to British Tours - Day Tours from London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing