We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We'll always have Paris!"”

British Tours - Day Tours from London
Ranked #33 of 716 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Tours Ltd. is Britain's longest-established personal tour operator established in 1958. If you are looking for personally guided day tours in and around London, extended tours of England, Scotland & Wales, and excellent tour guides, you have come to the right place.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After carefully planning a five day trip to London, my daughter asked if we could squeeze in a day in Paris. Hmmm. I wasn't sure how to accomplish that feat at the last minute, and I wondered if it would be worth it to do a whirlwind day in Paris. I asked Angela at British Tours if this was possible. Not only was it possible, but Angela put the entire tour together, along with roundtrip EuroStar tickets for 2, in just a few hours. We left London's St. Pancras Station on an 8:00 a.m. train on a Saturday in July, and arrived in Paris a few hours later. As we emerged from the train, we saw Richard smiling and holding up a sign with our names on it, just as Angela had promised. Richard welcomed us and took us on an unforgettable tour of Paris. If your goal is to see Paris in one day, I cannot imagine touring Paris any other way. Richard talked as he drove and filled us in on Parisian history. We went to every possible spot that one would dream of seeing. Richard not only drove us to every spot but gave us a personal tour at each location. The weather was above 90 degrees F, and it was a blessing that British Tours supplied us with an beautiful clean air conditioned car and chilled water bottles during the day. We dined in a Parisian bistro, shopped for an hour in the boutiques, and enjoyed the grand tour. We traveled quickly and efficiently through the tour, but definitely lingered and wandered whenever we wanted. When my daughter and I settled into our seats at 9:00 p.m. on the train for our return trip to London, we both spent the next two hours talking about Richard's tour and reliving the emotions and mental pictures from our wonderful day. Thanks to Angela and Richard at British Tours, my daughter and I will always have Paris!

2  Thank MyPerspective_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are really happy to hear how much you enjoyed the tour. Paris is amazing indeed and so easy to get to from London: it would be a mistake not to visit it!


Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I just came back from our first trip to London. We had an amazing time and can not speak highly enough about British Tours and specifically our tour guide Geoff. We were picked up at our hotel and spent seven hours seeing everything we wanted to see and more! Geoff was professional, knowledgable, courteous and customized our day to how we wanted to spend it. We loved it so much that we came back to the hotel and booked another half day. Len was our second guide and he proved to be just as great as Geoff. If you are considering getting a guide or doing a tour you do not have to look or consider anyone else. British Tours is your company!

Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Beth,

Thanks you so much for your great review. Reading your comments about the guides we choose for you makes our job worth it!

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We scheduled our Tour of London for our first full day there, and we are so glad we did! Our guide, Lovett, was incredibly knowledgable....not to mention exceptionally charming! From the moment he collected us at our hotel to the moment he dropped us back off we were enthralled with the beauty and history of London as seen with him as our guide. He got us front row viewing locations for The Changing of The Guard. We loved having a private guide for Westminster Abbey. We are certain it was much more interesting with Lovett than it would have been holding a pre-recorded walk-through to our ears the entire time! Then we capped off our day with a fantastic tour of The Tower of London. The entire day spent with him was fantastic! We were so impressed with his knowledge of the history, architecture, and monuments all through Central London that we could barely absorb all he was telling us. Booking this tour, and having the good fortune to secure Lovett as our guide was a highlight of our trip! This was our first trip to London, but because of the fantastic people we met, and sights we saw, we're certain it won't be our last!

Thank lisahubbard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Lisa,

Thanks for the great review. We hope you'll come back to London in the near future!

Having a British Tours guide is invaluable, especially at key locations that can be very crowded and feel overwhelming, such as Buckingham Palace during the Changing of the Guard. Our guides escort travellers to the best viewing spot so they can actually see the ceremony, and not just the heads of other tourists!

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I came across British Tours on the web and made contact while in London. I booked 1.5 days of London Tours and we were guided by Len. We could not have been happier. He was on time, drove a beautiful car and more importantly, was a wealth of knowledge on English history. We were taken to all the historic sights and buildings in London and his commentary on the history of all was excellent. Could highly recommend Len, from British Tours and the British Tours Company for having such professional Guides.

1  Thank murrayfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are really proud of all our guides: we choose them for their knowledge, their personality, and their interesting academic and professional background.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This review comes much too late but I had to put it down anyway!

Friends coming in from Vienna wanted to have a day trip outside of London to see something different and not just go shopping and eating in the capital! After getting in touch with the very helpful staff at British Tours, we tailor made a day tour consisting of three stops (actually we even squeezed a quick ride through Salisbury in thanks to the driver Graham!).

The excursion was fabulous and we were all picked up by the minibus and our tour guide Mark who was amazing beyond belief. Before we even left Piccadilly Circus he had started the tour and was telling us about historic features and fun facts around London.

All three locations were extremely interesting and any question we asked Mark, he gave us a detailed answer. Better than any guide book could have explained!

All in all the tour was amazing and we look forward to planning another tour once the group comes to visit London again later this year.

Highly recommended service and will be well worth your money!

Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Anna,

Thanks for the review. We are really glad to hear that your group of friends enjoyed the sightseeing tours with us and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Tours - Day Tours from London also viewed

 

Been to British Tours - Day Tours from London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing