We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever hotel shower, poor lighting means only 4 stars”
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #56 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked the Hide for a one night stay and it proved to be an excellent choice. This modern low level hotel (not easy to spot on a busy A41) was in most respects excellent. The 4 star result rather than five was because we found the lighting, particularly in the bathroom unnecessary minimalist. The hotel is plush, well decorated and modern. It feels luxurious with white towelling dressing gowns, lots of extra goodies in the bathroom and free water in the fridge. We asked for a quiet room and it was beautifully peaceful, with a large comfortable bed. Furthermore at £115 for bed and an excellent continental breakfast, it was very reasonably priced for London, including free parking - I would say excellent value, which is one of the many reasons it is rated in the top 5% of London hotels by Trip Advisor. Initially both the TV and the heating/air conditioning systems took a bit of time to sort out, but they worked well in the end. The shower in the ultra modern bathroom was superb. It has a rain shower head but one which delivered the water from a very high powered pump. It also had an excellent hand held shower wand, if you didn't want to get your hair wet. (I haven't got much so it doesn't matter!) The lighting in the bathroom was definitely lower than we would have wanted. No light directly over the shower compartment, beautifully glassed in with sound door - no water anywhere but where it should be - frequently not our experience with hotel showers! And shaving was not easy in a dimmish light from the mirror behind the sink. I did mention this missing element as we departed and they seemed keen to put it right, so hopefully maybe a lighter bathroom will be forthcoming in the future. All in all, a delightful surprise. A beautiful well run, pleasantly serviced hotel, which does what it says and at surprisingly reasonable price. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: As it is on a busy main room, I would recommend asking for a quiet room, which is at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice clean hotel,The breakfast food was excellent .In the room you get chocolates, water, coca cola, 7up free of charge. the bathroom was lovely,the staff were very friendly, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Traveling to London by car is not a good idea usually. However, if you stay at the Hide Hotel you can enjoy free parking and close access to the Northern Line underground at Hendon Cross. For us this was excellent. A twentythree minute tube trip takes you to Leicester square.
The rooms are comfy, with nice beds. The only minus in our room was that the placing of the curtains in a silly way, made it virtually impossible to open the window, and the aircon was not cool enough. The staff tried their best to help and cannot be faulted.
The breakfast room is small, and since it doesn't open until 8 am on weekends there was quite a rush and we had to go back to our room and wait for a table to become available. Opening the breakfast room earlier would probably ease this problem. The breakfast itself is lovely with nice meats, cheeses and even salmon, but no hot food.
All in all a great, small, modern, elegant hotel on the outskirts of London. If we come by car again we would love to return here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I wrote a really long review for the hide but my phone managed to delete it so here is the brief version
~ luxurious furnishings
~ spotlessly clean
~ very helpful, welcoming staff
~ lovely, complimentary treats in the room (chocolates, cold drinks, hot drinks, biscuits and a range of bits and bobs in the bathroom)
~ really near to local tube station
~ excellent value for money

Slight negatives:
~ quite a way from the centre (about half an hour) but I think that's reflected in the price
~ rooms are slightly small
~ bread and pastries were slightly dry at breakfast

All in all, it was an excellent stay which I'd definitely like to repeat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Small (only 1 spot on the floor I can open my suitcase) but is a very clean room. Bathroom is also clean and comfortable. I hate the weak water flow in many shower you found in major hotels but they do not have such a problem at all. Breakfast is decent enough although there are not many things to choose from. Complimentary cookies and drinks in the fridge is a nice & warm touch.
Location (end of zone3) is the reason why they charge such a low price. For the similar price you can only stay in a much less decent room in zone1,2. I did hesitate when I booked this hotel but it turned out not an issue. It is only 5 minutes walk to the Hendon Central tube station and another 25 mins to reach Kings Cross where we took Eurostar to Paris.
My room is not facing the main road so it is very quiet. Maybe this is a point to note if you will book.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popcorn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Hide London was a great discovery this early 2014. This hotel is a mix of bed and breakfast and boutique hotel. Our experience was very successful. Located besides Hendon central station underground, we can take some 25 minutes to reach Tottenham Court Road station, a central point to visit British Museum, Oxford Street or Charing Cross Road. The beds are soft and queen size only, with great quality linen. The executive room is bigger and we can find a chair, a tea/coffe machine and many cool drinks. Friday night we received a huge chocolate box with a spanish cava bottle, a very nice gift! You can find some restaurant options around the quarters. Our choice was a italian one, called L'artista, with good food and prices not so high as you can find at city center. Staff is polite, breakfast is good for the proposal, and you can obtain a taxi service from/to airport if you can ask to concierge. Prices not so abusive as you find in more touristic areas. I will return to The Hide London, certainly!

Room Tip: i think you will prefer the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marciopascoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Hide is very convenient as it is located just 2 minutes walk from Henson central station on the northern line. It is a small modern hotel. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are very comfortable with modern facilities, tea and coffee making facilities. It was definitely a nice surprise to find complimentary chocolates on check in. Breakfast is continental with a good variety of cuts and pastries. A hotel that is definitely worth considering and revisiting.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,077 in London
274 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,077 in London
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,841 reviews
Park Plaza London Park Royal
#120 of 1,077 in London
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing