We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great opportunity to help your kids see history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.91*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #39 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-famous museum houses portraits of noted Britons from the Tudors to the present day.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great opportunity to help your kids see history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My two teen boys were tired of typical art museums, so we skipped the National Gallery and headed to the Portrait Gallery. After learning a lot about the history of England before our trip, they enjoyed getting to see paintings of historical figures.

The museum was free (donation requested) and in a beautiful building behind the National Gallery. Definitely worth an hour of time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Menlo_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,800
    1,272
    284
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The NP Gallery offers an interesting range of Portraits - really enjoyable. We didn't get beyond the first floor as time was ticking by - but we shall definitely return and venture upstairs too. London can be an expensive place to visit - so a free attraction like this is absolutely worth seeing. I really enjoyed the range of famous people alongside other more personal portraits. I cannot see how anyone would be disappointed with this brilliant gallery.
Also, a sweet little cafe on the ground floor - great for a refueling cup of tea!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KittyandWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Woderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have always wanted to visit the Portrait Gallery and were not disappointed. Superbly laid out and easy to folllow with lots of splendid portraits and memorabilia. Particularly liked the self portrait by Van Dyke and the little miniature of Jane Austen. Afterwards we had a coffee and cake in the restaurant at the top from which there was a magnificent view across London. The visit to the Gallery is a must and to think that it is free. Wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MPolo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, simply amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is the place I loved more in London.
Arriving through the beautiful Trafalgar Square, you can feel the time stop when you get in the N. P. Gallery. It's a very pleasant journey to get lost within those halls and rooms, filled with masterpieces. There are so many highlights... I can mention Monet, Manet, van Gogh, Botticelli, Rembrandt, Perronneau... But, there is one specific paint. I can't remember either the name nor the artist, but I have it clear in my mind: a frozen flooded, with turbulent waters, landscape. A small paint, that, I used to stare to for hours on, falling asleep and waking up several times inbetween my work's shift.
If you are visiting London, you shall not leave the Gallery behind: Trafalgar Square itself is a very turistic point, and you can visit the Gallery free of charge.

Outstanding.

Over.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Romantics are a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

See the romantic portraits if you like writers of that generation. The building itself is a piece of architectural art and worth in its own right. The painting are arranged by date oldest at the top working down to the modern portraits on the ground floor. I was delighted to see an excellent portrait of Mo Mowlem and Maggie Smith. Worth a diversion

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing