We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“David Hockney - A bigger picture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Academy of Arts

Royal Academy of Arts
Book In Advance
US$33.29*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #87 of 1,516 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“David Hockney - A bigger picture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent exhibition. Didn't like the pushing and shoving in the shop. Poor selection of postcards on offer.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    355
    114
    46
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“David Hockney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great exhibition, very busy though, even on a Thursday! Heard someone say the queuing time was two hours - Glad I'm a member!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debswestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The experience was horrible. So many people you couldn't see a thing let alone appreciate the scale of the works from a reasonable distance. The shop was right in the middle of the entrance and exit so it wasn't even possible to buy some postcards to look at Hockney's work at home!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“David Hockney exhibition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

It's a good venue, but how ridiculous that you have the exhibition open until very late, along with the shop, yet close the cafe at 530pm?! Daft!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We went to the Hockney Exhibition which was superbly presented. Though busy it was not too crowded and we could take our time and view all the paintings in the glorious environment of the Royal Academy. There was a long queue of people waiting to buy tickets for the day but we opted to take out the annual Friend membership there and then so that we could walk straight in without delay. Though this cost about twice what we would have paid for tickets it is really quite a bargain as the Friend membership is pretty generous, allowing both of us in on one ticket and we could have taken four children with us too! The RA managed the exhibition with great efficiency and we will certainly be back for more visits to see other exhibitions now that we have become "Friends".

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank has2bperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Academy of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Royal Academy of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing