We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see for any reader of Charles Dickens”

Charles Dickens Museum
Ranked #65 of 1,615 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Charles Dickens Museum in London holds the world's most important Dickens collection with over 100,000 items including manuscripts, rare editions, personal items, paintings and other visual sources. Based in 48 Doughty Street, the author’s only surviving London house, we offer visitors the chance to experience what Dickens’s home would have been like and learn more about the great novelist and social commentator. We are open from Tuesday to Sunday, and welcome visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must see for any reader of Charles Dickens”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited this former home of Charles Dickens on our recent trip to London. It is in a very nice neighborhood and you can almost envision the horse drawn carriages passing by. The home itself has been kept much as it probably was when Mr. Dickens himself lived there. You can see how he must have lived, and see one of his desks that he probably spent many hours at, writing under the lamplight. Each room has interesting facts posted and cool objects to look at. Don't miss the hedgehog in the kitchen! There is a nice little gift shop, and a cafe attached to the back garden, which was a nice spot to sit and reflect on the sunny day that were visited. This is a very nice museum and well worth a visit. There was so much atmosphere here, I wanted to raise a bowl and say "Please sir, I want some more."

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ricladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    223
    53
    17
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As far as historical houses...this is top notch!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Dickens House in London is one of most favorite places to visit. It is in the home where Dickens lived with his growing family and where he wrote some of his most beloved work. There are many artifacts that Dickens actually owned and used. The rooms are full of period furniture some of which was owned by Dickens...check out the toilet chair. lol The people who work there are eager to share their knowledge and appreciation of Dickens and the home. It has a very pleasant coffee/tea shop at the back where you can grab a bite, and if it's a nice day you can eat outside. Every 3rd Saturday you can book a guided costumed tour. Nearest tube stop is Russell Square, but if you are up for a good walk you can walk from Kings Cross/St. Pancras. If you are interested in more Dickens...Check out the free self guided tour from http://www.walksoflondon.co.uk called "A Journey through Dickens London".

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lpeacock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
653 reviews
358 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

If you're a big fan of Dickens, this is you're place to go, but even if you're a casual fan, you'll enjoy the visit to the one time home (albeit for only a couple of years) of the "Christmas Carol" author. There are lots of original artifacts here and you can picture the family moving throughout the premises.

It is not huge and took us about an hour to meander through the house. The gift shop has a few nice Dickens items for sale for any big fans and the tea shop has some nice items if you're looking for a little break.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Five floors of family history and background to Dickens well supported and interpreted by the volunteer guides. A really interesting insight into life in the mid 19th century and how Dickens' life shaped and informed his writing. Well worth the £8 entrance fee. Didn't have time to sample the tearoom. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting and Alive”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Running short of time, we almost dropped this from our itinerary. That would have been a shame. This museum was far more interesting than I expected. I am a casual fan of Dickens but I have a new interest after spending some time in the house where he became a famous writer. It's very well done with lots of authentic artifacts - it feels like the Dickens family will walk back in the door and wonder what you're doing in their house. The gift shop and cafe are nice as well and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DW752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles Dickens Museum also viewed

 

Been to Charles Dickens Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing