We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Charles Dickens Museum
from US$200.29
More Info
from US$83.93
More Info
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
693
347
70
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
693
347
70
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life oliver twist christmas carol doughty street original furniture five floors well worth a visit audio guide enjoyable visit answer questions on display novels information insight volunteers glimpse inspiration
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

We visited the same day as the Foundling Museum. Both small museums are worth the visit. The cafe is good for a nice lunch or tea break.
Gift shop especially nice with the illustrated editions of Dickens books.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank georgiab660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDickensMuseum, Manager at Charles Dickens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

We arrived at 48 Doughty Street on Saturday evening at 6pm and were greeted at the door by the museum’s Front of House supervisor Ms. Kim Navarko. We had reserved a private after hours tour, and Ms. Navarko had also kindly arranged to have the gift shop open for us as well. Before we began the tour we enjoyed a few glasses of wine together outside in the lovely patio area listening to the little gurgling fountain and enjoying the flowers. Dickens’ spirit still pervades this house, especially in the dining room and master study! As it got dark outside we had the feel of what it must have been like to have been invited here for one of his dinner parties, especially those during the Christmas season! Ms. Navarko’s tour was exceptionally well done! Her professional demeanour and comprehensive knowledge of Dickensian subject matter was quite impressive. However what appealed to us all the more was her friendly and open disposition towards us. She made us feel as if we were long lost friends! Our tour lasted approximately two hours, and was SO INTERESTING! To have seen a lock of Dickens’ hair was truly amazing! This is a magnificent tribute to one of the world’s greatest and most treasured literary masters. The curators have done an absolutely beautiful job here that is worthy of the highest acclaim in our opinion. This was one of the highlights of our two-week trip to England, which included the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District, and also Dumfries and Galloway Scotland. Fittingly it ended with a visit to the Poet’s Corner at Westminster Abbey where we paid our respects to Mr. Dickens’. We would highly recommend a stop at this museum for those who love such a great writer. IT WAS FASCINATING!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDickensMuseum, Manager at Charles Dickens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

If you want the backstory of Charles Dickens, here is the place! This house museum provides a good overview of the author and his life and his writings. See how DIckens and family lived. And how he entertained his friends. Every aspect of his life is explored. Read some of his correspondence and see where he traveled.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank MidwestKathM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDickensMuseum, Manager at Charles Dickens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

I had the good fortune of visiting the Dickens Museum on a rainy day in September and was the only person there. What a wonderful experience to move from room to room -- even the laundry room in the basement -- and get a real feeling for how Dickens and his family lived during their time there. I suggest using the audio guide for additional information. Worth a visit while in London!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank LisaD90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDickensMuseum, Manager at Charles Dickens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2019 via mobile

I read the reviews even the one stars. I can’t understand how this can be given one star. I spent 3 hours here and it is so easy to imagine Charles sitting at his desk writing his novels, and he and his family eating and playing in the other rooms. This gives a brilliant reproduction of how the family lived. I’ve read some of the books and seen the movies but this museum brought Charles Dickens life to life. The audio guide is very good. Very impressed by it. Staff were great . WCs excellent. Cafe has the basics. Had scones and clotted cream and jam. Very miserly with cream and I should have asked for the scone not to murdered in a microwave!
Notwithstanding the scone - this has been one of the best small museums I have been to while in London. Highly recommend it. Don’t listen to the unimaginative miseries.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank SarElOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDickensMuseum, Manager at Charles Dickens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Thank you for your lovely review and your feedback on scones and clotted cream will be passed on. We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews