We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun British Department Store Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortnum & Mason

Fortnum & Mason
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.36*
and up
Independent Shopping Tour of London with Private Driver
Ranked #6 of 718 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: From a small grocery store in Piccadilly in 1707, has grown a celebrated store with an international reputation for the exclusivity and quality of the products it sells. Fortnum's Food Hall is an irresistible display of gourmet pleasures, from chocolates and biscuits to smoked salmon and Stilton, vintage marmalade and seasonal produce. Passionate about provenance, we are proud to recommend every jar, spoonful and slice for our hungry customers.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun British Department Store Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I are not hardcore shoppers but we had a great time in this multi-storey department store. The merchandise is tastefully British and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is something for everyone here but the prices reflect the fact that this is a London luxury department store.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DW752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    596
    144
    126
    110
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved everything about this place!!!! The shop itself is amazing and the afternoon tea in the Diamond Jubilee room was an amazing experience, it has been done to a really high standard and really makes it feel like a special experience.. What I really liked is although it is quite posh you don't feel out of place and you are treated the same as anyone else would be.. The tea, cakes, sandwiches and scones are beautiful and the fillings sooo tasty, we are going back in December and cannot wait!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dalton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Sadly my visits to London are less frequent than they used to be however we visited last weekend and as usual it was well worth leaving home early to get there for early breakfast at Fortnum's. This breakfast never disappoints and the staff are very attentive,it is a real treat and one that always gives pleasure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic High Tea Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I made reservations at the Diamond Jubilee Tea Room for afternoon tea at 3:00pm during our first trip to London! It was absolutely amazing! We enjoyed taking time out of our busy schedule to relax and soak in the experience. The scones and other snacks were great! The tea was the star of the show! We are far from tea experts and the many tea choices were overwhelming. Our waitress kindly guided us through the selections and helped us pick out the perfect tea to our taste preferences. It was heavenly! We had fun browsing about the store after our tea. There was a lot of loose leaf tea and accessories.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwreedii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I like that store. It's the perfect place to buy some treats, exquisite tea, fudge, chocolates, you name it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank millgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortnum & Mason also viewed

 

Been to Fortnum & Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing