We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #15 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spot on in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Covent Garden Hotel is perfectly situated in London to take part in a more trendy, neighborly vibe and yet still have access to anything you need. I would live in the hotel if I could due to its location and the energy of the area. It's busy but not touristy. Located on a fairly busy yet boutique-y street (Monmouth Coffee is right across the street), there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from within steps of the door. Covent Garden is a 2 minute walk. The underground is a 5 minute walk. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are large by European standards. The bath products (Henry Miller) are quite nice. The breakfast in the morning is more than ample with hot and cold dishes to offer. The staff (at the restaurant, the doormen and the concierges especially) are friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sduprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    122
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
182
352
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shizuoka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

rooms, staff, location, common areas,....everything is amazing. I loved to have a tea in the afternoon (excellent selection) served with delicious traditional cakes as well as relaxing close the fireplace. No doubt: recommendated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuzui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Convent Garden Hotel is pretty and intimate. The rooms are very simple (almost borderline bare) with classical furnishings and subtle though cheerful colors, and the common areas are delightful. The lobby is small and understated, and the restaurant immediately to your right as you enter is bright with windows along one wall and an open entrance through which you can see people go in and out of the hotel. It's a charming environment and also a good place for people watching. The library on the first floor is the star of the hotel – the rich wood paneling and grand fireplace are quite luxurious. In addition to the larger library is a smaller more private room with its own sitting area, as well as a separate fully stocked honesty bar. All areas are well kept and clean, and there is no element of tiredness. The décor works.

The service at the hotel varied but was overall good. The front desk staff was most efficient and perky without being cloying. The waitresses/waiters in the restaurant were equally professional, and the breakfast they serve is exceptional (overpriced, but welcome to London). Do treat yourself to breakfast in the restaurant – it’s worth resisting room service and going downstairs. The concierge service, however, leaves much to be desired. When I asked for restaurant recommendations and specified my preferences, the suggestions offered were completely the opposite of what I had requested (e.g. I said I wanted to avoid Asian and Indian food, and yet the first recommendation was a nearby Indian restaurant). This happened more than once. I wound up answering my own questions with a little help from google.

The hotel sits on a small side street lined with several interesting boutiques and restaurants. The tube station is just a 5-min walk away. Although outside noise was not at all an issue, some rooms offer better views that others. Ask for a street view, otherwise you’ll end up facing an air shaft.

I have just a couple complaints…. Firstly, there are only two small elevators, and the fit is rather tight when there are more than two people needing to go up or down. Secondly, the honour bar is a great touch, but I saw no indication of pricing anywhere. Thus is was a bit of a shock when I received the bill at the end of my stay (and assuming it was correct, then the honour bar is even more overpriced than the restaurant). Lastly, there was a lot of construction during my stay. The first room to which I was shown was right by the elevators, one of which was undergoing massive construction. I was then moved to a room a couple floors up, and for the entire first day the carpet outside my room was being replaced, which made it difficult to luxuriate in an otherwise beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Covent Garden as a family and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

The hotel: old world beauty with all the modern amenities you need.

Location: right in the heart of covent garden with a bounty of shops and restaurants steps away. It is central to many popular attractions as well as business ventures.

The drawing room: this equates to a concierge or club lounge in the USA. It is a lovely large room with a fireplace and many seating areas. An honor bar stocked with drinks and snacks is at hand. We ended many evenings here with quiet conversation or a game of gin rummy!

The staff: courteous, respectful and helpful. The concierge was knowledgable and we used his services many times. It is simple to get a taxi out side the door of the hotel or they can arrange for a car to pick you up at a moments notice.

The rooms: all the rooms are individualized as far as the decor which adds to the charm. They are large clean rooms with a seating area and a desk with plenty of outlets for charging our technology driven lives. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable allowing for much needed jet lag induced sleep.

The bathrooms: beautiful and spacious with large walk in showers.

Conclusion: when in London there is no need to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Firmdale sure knows how to run boutique hotels. After staying for years at Number 16 in South Kensington, I switched to the Covent Garden Hotel because it was directly across the street from my office -- not realizing it was another member of the small Firmdale group. But just like Number 16, the Covent Garden Hotel is warm, sophisticated and lovely with excellent service at every turn. Convenient to Soho, theatres and Covent Garden, the hotel is a short walk to hundreds of restaurants, clubs and quirky little shops. It's also next door to Miller Harris, who supplies the lovely smelling bath products for the hotel. The staff goes above and beyond routine hotels, and on one visit several years ago had a silver-plated teapot repaired for me after I returned from Portobello market to discover it leaked. The Drawing Room, with its two fireplaces and overstuffed sofas is the perfect place to host friends, have a drink in the evening or even take your laptop to work. Push the service button and tea arrives, ask for some heat and they light the fire. The only problem with the Covent Garden Hotel is that it can be very hard to leave.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less traffic noise. Ask for a room on the Monmouth Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truthtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just back from my first stay, and I'm kicking myself for never having found it before. A lovely hotel, with warm, clean, well furnished and comfortable rooms and exceptional service, in a location that can't be beat, with reasonable prices. Theatre, shopping, restaurants, and clubs are all within minutes on foot. There's nothing opulent or fancy, but there's also nothing at all missing to detract from a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A few things to note. The rooms are all sized and configured differently - some have larger living areas and small bathrooms (with the shower in the tub, a bit of a climb), while in others the reverse is true, and there are rooms in the "basement" - if details like that matter to you, be sure to ask questions when you book. The restaurant is just o.k., and a bit slow, but fine for breakfast and, honestly, in that neighborhood there's no reason to eat anything else in the hotel. The bar, and especially the service at the bar, is terrific (if you can get back before it closes - life in London . . .). The fitness center is tiny, but well equipped and open 24 hours - it was great because I had it to myself, but I imagine with even 1-2 others in it I'd start to feel cramped (the aerobic equipment is VERY close together).

Room Tip: I tend to think higher up is better, and again it depends on what you care about in a room since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSS100NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in London, the location is perfect, right in the heart of Covent Garden and also because it had such a lovely, cosy atmosphere. It is discreet and on a quiet street in a great part of London. And best of all the rooms are quite big! The staffs are very nice and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing