We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed one night while on a Mother's Day 'treat' weekend. The hotel is in a great location for Covent Garden in a quiet street with good shops around it. We loved the design and style of the hotel and the rooms. Wonderfully comfortable beds and fabulous linen and beautiful design of room 111.
We started with a few cocktails and ate in the brasserie on Saturday night. A great atmosphere and vibe. I can honestly say was one of the best meals I have eaten in a while. The service was impeccable and food outstanding.
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic but HUGE portions.
My only negative comment is that I would have preferred a room with bath but never thought to make the request. I also prefer to have tea making facilities in the room but didn't realise until the Sunday morning there was no kettle.
The stay was expensive - the bills for room for two ,cocktails and dinner for three was over £700. Not cheap but I felt we got what we paid for. I would have liked longer to enjoy the comfort and ambiance of this hotel.
We are heading to New York for Easter for a special family 30 year wedding anniversary celebration and on the strength of our experience in CGH we are going to use their sister hotel, the Crosby Street. I hope it lives up to our experience in London.

Room Tip: Check if the room has a bath if you prefer a soak as opposed to a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Comfortable without being ostentatious. Excellently trained staff and first class breakfast. Great location. My only criticism would be the bathroom. It would be better to have walk-in showers rather than baths with shower over especially when the baths have such high sides. Not a problem for us but I can see it would be an issue for some.

Personally, I would not stay anywhere else in London given the option.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank WingcoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

CGH is exquisite - it is understated in its excellence and the interior environment is delightful. Shame we had to leave! My only quibble is that the flowers I had pre-arranged were not in place at first, and then an unquoted administration fee was added for their delivery when I checked out. (Although there was no hesitation in this being refunded, the act of trying to sneak it on to the bill in the first place was rather disappointing).

Room Tip: First floor is convenient for use of the beautiful drawing room and library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7th007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Covent Garden Hotel is perfectly situated in London to take part in a more trendy, neighborly vibe and yet still have access to anything you need. I would live in the hotel if I could due to its location and the energy of the area. It's busy but not touristy. Located on a fairly busy yet boutique-y street (Monmouth Coffee is right across the street), there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from within steps of the door. Covent Garden is a 2 minute walk. The underground is a 5 minute walk. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are large by European standards. The bath products (Henry Miller) are quite nice. The breakfast in the morning is more than ample with hot and cold dishes to offer. The staff (at the restaurant, the doormen and the concierges especially) are friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sduprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

rooms, staff, location, common areas,....everything is amazing. I loved to have a tea in the afternoon (excellent selection) served with delicious traditional cakes as well as relaxing close the fireplace. No doubt: recommendated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuzui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Convent Garden Hotel is pretty and intimate. The rooms are very simple (almost borderline bare) with classical furnishings and subtle though cheerful colors, and the common areas are delightful. The lobby is small and understated, and the restaurant immediately to your right as you enter is bright with windows along one wall and an open entrance through which you can see people go in and out of the hotel. It's a charming environment and also a good place for people watching. The library on the first floor is the star of the hotel – the rich wood paneling and grand fireplace are quite luxurious. In addition to the larger library is a smaller more private room with its own sitting area, as well as a separate fully stocked honesty bar. All areas are well kept and clean, and there is no element of tiredness. The décor works.

The service at the hotel varied but was overall good. The front desk staff was most efficient and perky without being cloying. The waitresses/waiters in the restaurant were equally professional, and the breakfast they serve is exceptional (overpriced, but welcome to London). Do treat yourself to breakfast in the restaurant – it’s worth resisting room service and going downstairs. The concierge service, however, leaves much to be desired. When I asked for restaurant recommendations and specified my preferences, the suggestions offered were completely the opposite of what I had requested (e.g. I said I wanted to avoid Asian and Indian food, and yet the first recommendation was a nearby Indian restaurant). This happened more than once. I wound up answering my own questions with a little help from google.

The hotel sits on a small side street lined with several interesting boutiques and restaurants. The tube station is just a 5-min walk away. Although outside noise was not at all an issue, some rooms offer better views that others. Ask for a street view, otherwise you’ll end up facing an air shaft.

I have just a couple complaints…. Firstly, there are only two small elevators, and the fit is rather tight when there are more than two people needing to go up or down. Secondly, the honour bar is a great touch, but I saw no indication of pricing anywhere. Thus is was a bit of a shock when I received the bill at the end of my stay (and assuming it was correct, then the honour bar is even more overpriced than the restaurant). Lastly, there was a lot of construction during my stay. The first room to which I was shown was right by the elevators, one of which was undergoing massive construction. I was then moved to a room a couple floors up, and for the entire first day the carpet outside my room was being replaced, which made it difficult to luxuriate in an otherwise beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NYEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Covent Garden as a family and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

The hotel: old world beauty with all the modern amenities you need.

Location: right in the heart of covent garden with a bounty of shops and restaurants steps away. It is central to many popular attractions as well as business ventures.

The drawing room: this equates to a concierge or club lounge in the USA. It is a lovely large room with a fireplace and many seating areas. An honor bar stocked with drinks and snacks is at hand. We ended many evenings here with quiet conversation or a game of gin rummy!

The staff: courteous, respectful and helpful. The concierge was knowledgable and we used his services many times. It is simple to get a taxi out side the door of the hotel or they can arrange for a car to pick you up at a moments notice.

The rooms: all the rooms are individualized as far as the decor which adds to the charm. They are large clean rooms with a seating area and a desk with plenty of outlets for charging our technology driven lives. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable allowing for much needed jet lag induced sleep.

The bathrooms: beautiful and spacious with large walk in showers.

Conclusion: when in London there is no need to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,075 in London
1,496 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,075 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#17 of 1,075 in London
1,783 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,075 in London
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £336 - £1,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing