We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hideaway in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hideaway in London”
Reviewed 25 March 2009

This place had something special compared to other luxury hotels. Personal, friendly service in an intimate, but very welcoming setting. Arrived early in the morning off a flight and was shown to a great shower in the gym to freshen up before I went out and was called as soon as the room was ready. Truly gorgeous room - it was big and beautifully finished, a nice mix of stylish, modern and classic. Character-filled neighborhood, a short walk to Trafalgar Square and galleries there. Plenty of good boutiques and restaurants nearby. A particular highlight was the reading room, with a big open fire, where we retreated after dinner.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    123
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
190
368
50
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I liked the covent garden hotel. It is centrally located, but I think it has some flows.
I think the room service is very expensive and the breakfast very small.
Also the dvd player and the TV in my room did not work.
The staff are friendly and helpful but don't know spanish.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jason1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This hotel although in a nice location, it has a lot of disadvantages. I stayed there for 3 nights and came back today with a disappointment I wanted to share. I believe that the covent garden hotel is overrated.
The first day that we stayed there I had an accident in the room, a wood from the bathroom fell on my hand and it was bleeding and painful. I called the reception right away and after a while they sent in my room a housekeeper with band-aids and a maintenance person who would fix the wood. I asked for some panadol pills as I had a headache and they didn't have in the hotel, so somebody from the concierge went to the pharmacy to get me some. And now I ask you: Is it possible a 5 star hotel not to have an emergency kit with pain killers? On top of that they charged me for the pills at the check out!!!!!!!!!!!! and they didn't even apologize to me. If you are going with children please be careful.
Secondly, they had a dvd played in the room that it didn't work and although I called them to fix it the previous night, the next day I found out that it still was broken...what a service!
Maybe if you are not a model, or an actor or someone famous they don't care....and that is a shame when you pay for a room 330 pound plus 15% vat each night...that is almost 400 pound...everybody should be treated like a royalty paying that vast amount...just another posh hotel!!!
the breakfast...DISAPPOINTMENT...I had included in my rate English breakfast and what you get with that: a small sausage, two eggs, ham, tomato, coffee and a juice. If you ask for toasted bread they charge you hahahaha tragic! They didn't even have a buffet...
They also charge 20 pound a day for the internet. It should be free, in a hotel like that. But maybe they are used to charge anything!
If you want to waste your money, this is the right place for you!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank twinstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

A lovely hotel, completely calm and relaxed - right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I stayed at the Covent Garden for two nights in February with my fiancee, and enjoyed every moment.
From the second we walked in we felt the warmth that was emitting from both the hotel and the young friendly staff.
We were upgraded to a beautiful deluxe room and it was fantastic. Spacious, spotless and extremely comfortable. As we were Mr/s Smith members we were given a bottle of Champagne on arrival, plus the hotel gave us a complimentary box of chocolates. A nice touch i thought.
The concierge were able to arrange a table at J. Sheeky's (an excellent seafood restaurant) with only a couple of hours notice. Nothing seemed too much for any of the staff. They weren't even phased when a certain Bafta winning actress came down for breakfast the morning after. Just another day for them I guess.
The only negative of the whole stay was the charge for internet.
I have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world, and i have to say that the Covent Garden is head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capitalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I would love to thank all the staff at the hotel for a wonderful stay, wen we arrived we were welcomed by smiling and very helpful staff, the room was amazing in every way, ie clean, everything was perfectly laid out. the food was the best food iv had anywhere, the facilities where amazing. i WILL be recommending this hotel to everybody i know. thank you again to every one at the hotel for the amazing stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I booked a night at the Covent Garden Hotel to celebrate being together 5 years. It was also only the second time we had left our 17 month son with someone else overnight, so we decided to splash out.

It was definitely worth the expense. I had read other reviews on here and thought surely a hotel cannot live up to this - but it did. Superb location, beautiful decor, exemplary, friendly service, wonderful food. Lots of attention to detail.

Just a perfect weekend, yes, it is very pricey, but it is worth it for a treat.

  • Liked — The staff - incredible service
  • Disliked — Having to leave......
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#23 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing