We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modernized British Style - I love it : D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modernized British Style - I love it : D”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My husband stay with Firmdale group hotels most time when he has business travel in London. This group provides consistent top services and great deco rooms all the time. Best bontique group who do their design and branding not just 50% but all the way !!! This is very important to carry out their idea and provide the unique experience to their guests. Trust me, you will experience the same of what they promise and shown on their website. !

Covent Garden UK is one it. (p.s. i've also stayed at their Soho London one as well )

-super convenient
-great bar, great food (& great ingredients) and cozy restaurant there
-great and friendly services
-nice cozy place that you feel home but with the twist of chic : D

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mycafebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    127
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
195
374
51
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights in a luxury double (#401). Excellent location and very charming hotel. Nice decoration. The room was nice, on the 4th floor, comfortable bed and enough wardrobe.
The only point is that the service is really really bad. When we check-in, we were told that breakfast was included wich surprised me as I usually don't take it (and that it's not offered when you book). Then, the morning after we asked for the comfirmation and I was answered that I might haven't understood what the concierge said to me....Well even if my mother tongue isn't english I consider myself as pretty fluent....always delicious to be considered as a dummy by a staff member.... Then for the check out, we had to wait a long time as the desk person was alone and her colleague was obviously occupied in talking with friends....Then it took ages to get a cab to go to the airport.
This wouldn't be such an issue if the price would be low but as it isn't the case, I was expecting a bit more serious service.
One last thing: overpriced internet connection : 20£ for the 1rst hour each 24h....Let's be serious, 350£ a night and they charge the internet connection?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed at the Covent Garden in late Feb early March for 4 nights.
Fabulous Room with a great bathroom. Really felt warm and comfortable. and has plenty of room.

The Gym was small but adequate. Not a huge fan of the restaurant - OK but not great. Really liked the Saturday Night Movie concept which was dinner and movie in the hotel's cinema.The upstairs drawing room is delightful. Very cosy on a cold day - nice for coffee and reading the nwespapers.

The staff were helpful with nothing being too much trouble for them although occassionally they did need some reminding.

The hotel is really well located for everything particularly the Theatres and one of London's best coffee shops is just across the road. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed in a junior suite that was very nice and comfortable with a nice granite bathroom. Having also stayed at The Knightsbridge and The Haymarket, we really like the English contemporary style of the Firmdale hotels.

The concierge team was absolutely fantastic managing to secure tables at every restaurant we wanted to go to.

We found the Brasserie Max fine for dinner, but we did not like breakfasts there (would have liked more variety and some breads and cold cuts, cheese etc.). We also found Afternoon tea in the Drawing Room to be rather mediocre.

Service in general was a bit hit and miss - some staff members excellent others a bit surely, but again Nicky at the concierge desk was terrific.

Apart from some minor minuses this is an excellent English hotel with a nice buzz and generally good service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oslonorwayoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto,canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I stayed @ the hotel from March 19-22 with my husband & 2 children.We stayed in a suite which was amazing(brillant colour's in the rooms)the beds were very comfy & the staff did everything to make my kids very comfortable! the hotel is simply lovely!!charming & very english.The lounge on the second floor is so cozy, alot of big oversized furniture & has a honour bar which was stacked with the best of drinks/crisps/ice cream.. The staff was very freindly & helpful with directions/suggestions on where to eat. CC Hotel in on Monmouth St. which is also in an area called Seven Dials loads of restaurants/pubs & great funky shops minutes away from CC main square/neals yard/ T/Square,wonderful cobblestone street which lead into again great shops & eats... most theatre's are within walking distance..(did not use the tube once) the only neg thing would be..we ate dinner in the hotel restaurant & have to stay the food was really bad!!(could have been an off night) Can"t wait to stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coco45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I have stayed at this hotel three times in the last two years and have also stayed at another Firmdale hotel (Charlotte Street) and cannot begin to describe how wonderful it is. The location is absolutely charming--Monmouth is a cobblestone street with lots of foot traffic. It is adjacent to wonderful shopping streets and has great people watching. One of my favorite things to do is have a pot of tea in the evening on the sidewalk and just watch as people go by. You are as likely to see working folks heading home after a long day as you are theater goers just out for the night and the occasional celebrity too.
The rooms are all unique and very comfortable. The beds provide an excellent night's rest whether you have jet lag or not. The addition of lavender spray upon checkin to help with sleep is just one of the little touches that make this hotel superb. The staff do a great job of remembering your name and helping with any need you might have. The restaurant staff remembers your drink order and recommends dishes based on your favorites.
When you stay at the Covent Garden hotel you truly feel as if you're the only person there. It's just fantastic. Highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2010

If you are looking for fabulous accommodation, wonderful service with a personal touch, first class food and a great location, this is the ONLY hotel to chose!
I have stayed in many hotels in London but this is by far the best one I have stayed at. It has a feel that you are staying in a much smaller hotel as the staff are so friendly. The furnishings are very warm and cosy and the room we stayed in was out of this world! I stayed here three months before this stay and returned because I was so impressed. I was worried they would not be able to match the service again.... I was wrong - They beat it!!!
Within two minutes you are in the centre of fabulous shopping and fine dining!
Strongly recommended!!
I forgot to mention the breakfast- Fabulous!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryonif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,068 in London
1,465 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,756 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing