We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #19 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I cant recommend this hotel enough, we stayed for just one night, the room was delightfully decorated, the bathroom was faultless, great amenities in the room, and a HUGE comfy comfy bed.
From the minute you walk in the terribly good looking staff are friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel brasserie, it was busy and buzzing and even though we ate very late at 10.30 pm the food was delicious and the service efficient.
Breakfast was excellent both my boyfriend and I went for the continental buffet and it was pretty faultless, with attentive service.
All in all this is a incredibly stylish, wonderfully comfy hotel, it is unashamedly spensive, but it does it so well!! We are planning on visiting this and other Firmdale Hotels again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsCBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

This was my first stay at the Covent Garden Hotel. It won't be my last -- I've already booked again for November. I've stayed 4 doors down, at The Mountbatten Hotel, three times a year for the past 13 years. As I've written in a previous review, The Mountbatten, under the latest manager, has gone from very good to abysmal.

Now for the bad news -- the Covent Garden Hotel is expensive (very).
And they charge for internet access -- ridiculous in this day and age.
That's the end of the bad news. The hotel is marvelous and wonderful. It's lovely, charming, cozy, beautiful and so welcoming (in every way). You just want to move in! Plus, it's agreeably small (just 58 rooms), so that you don't feel like you are just another face/body (as in so many tourist hotels) passing through.

The staff looks like they could have stepped out of the pages of Vogue -- they are quite the stunners. But they also know how to make you feel at home. They always have a smile on their faces, and seem so happy to be working there (one of my favorite concierges from the Mountbatten, Tommy, is now at this hotel too. A nice surprise!).

The rooms are spotlessly clean (bravo housekeeping!) and extremely comfortable (and pretty!). They have all the modern conveniences, but it's more like an English country house instead of so many of the new minimalist hotels (i.e. cold/austere/).

Another nice touch: I asked for an extra Diet Coke in my minibar one morning. When I came back to my room, I noticed that they stocked much of the minibar with Diet Coke's! Sure, it's a good profit margin for them, but it was still a smart thing to do. They listen to what their guests need/want.

If you are looking for a home away from home, stay at this fantastic hotel. Let me also mention that you get what you pay for: although very pricey, the Covent Garden Hotel
is money well spent (they also have specials in the winter).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My wife, my 6 year old daughter and myself stayed in this hotel for 5 nights end April/ Ely May 2010 and had a eantastic time. Staff were very helpful, concierge(s) excellent, room was lovely (queen bed with single in corner for daughter), room service food was always quick and delicious and the location was sensational. We were on the Monmeath Street side of the hotel which was a lovely quiet street anyway AND the windows were double glazed. (our room was #302). Other side of the hotel would look onto Shaftsbury avenue, which busier, but not sure noise would be a problem anyway. The hotel is small enough to be personal, but big enough to offer the prudent traveller everything they are likely to desire.
All in all, our stay was first class and we would love to go back to the same hotel again (which is a big rap for a City with so much choice!!?) They are part of the 'Firmdale group' who have several other London hotels in their chain....I'm sure these would be to a similar high standard. p.s - If you get a chnace, make sure you book into Gordon Ramsay restaurant (Royal hospital road). A true fine dining experience.
Enjoy the hotel, and this truly fabulous city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prahran28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

with me girlfriends had a 3day trip in London.we chose the hotel by the tripadvisor comments.the location super,the hotel nice,has a very smart idea,a cinema room,while dining you watch a movie,the rooms have nice decoration and main facilities.The staff is a little bit cold,the price i think expensive.generally, not serious problems.i liked it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunamor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My husband stay with Firmdale group hotels most time when he has business travel in London. This group provides consistent top services and great deco rooms all the time. Best bontique group who do their design and branding not just 50% but all the way !!! This is very important to carry out their idea and provide the unique experience to their guests. Trust me, you will experience the same of what they promise and shown on their website. !

Covent Garden UK is one it. (p.s. i've also stayed at their Soho London one as well )

-super convenient
-great bar, great food (& great ingredients) and cozy restaurant there
-great and friendly services
-nice cozy place that you feel home but with the twist of chic : D

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mycafebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights in a luxury double (#401). Excellent location and very charming hotel. Nice decoration. The room was nice, on the 4th floor, comfortable bed and enough wardrobe.
The only point is that the service is really really bad. When we check-in, we were told that breakfast was included wich surprised me as I usually don't take it (and that it's not offered when you book). Then, the morning after we asked for the comfirmation and I was answered that I might haven't understood what the concierge said to me....Well even if my mother tongue isn't english I consider myself as pretty fluent....always delicious to be considered as a dummy by a staff member.... Then for the check out, we had to wait a long time as the desk person was alone and her colleague was obviously occupied in talking with friends....Then it took ages to get a cab to go to the airport.
This wouldn't be such an issue if the price would be low but as it isn't the case, I was expecting a bit more serious service.
One last thing: overpriced internet connection : 20£ for the 1rst hour each 24h....Let's be serious, 350£ a night and they charge the internet connection?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandre92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed at the Covent Garden in late Feb early March for 4 nights.
Fabulous Room with a great bathroom. Really felt warm and comfortable. and has plenty of room.

The Gym was small but adequate. Not a huge fan of the restaurant - OK but not great. Really liked the Saturday Night Movie concept which was dinner and movie in the hotel's cinema.The upstairs drawing room is delightful. Very cosy on a cold day - nice for coffee and reading the nwespapers.

The staff were helpful with nothing being too much trouble for them although occassionally they did need some reminding.

The hotel is really well located for everything particularly the Theatres and one of London's best coffee shops is just across the road. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,941 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#16 of 1,081 in London
1,541 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £312 - £1,706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing