We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #161 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Excellent !! We spent 2 great nights at the Rookery in lovely mood. The Rookery is exactly what I looked for, typical 19/20th century english mood, great location at 2 minutes from the Faringdon metropolitan station, 1 station from St Pancras, near to the London Center and the service was wonderful ! At the arrival, the bedroom was under the roof and we asked to change for a bedroom bigger, it has been done in a couple of minute !! This hotel is magical even if it's an old building and sometimes some noises from other rooms we haven't been waking by ! This is my best hotel in London where I have to stay ! Thanks a lot to all the staff.

Room Tip: Do not take the third floor room excepted if you like the under roof charm bedroom :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    136
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
37
267
49
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Shortly after arriving in London, our cabby took us on a wonderful sight seeing tour of the city ending our first glimpse of London at our Hotel.
Rookery Hotel is very well located for anyone wishing to do walking to the incredible historical sights of London. Museums, Exhibits, The Tube, and within a short walk very delicious eating.
Rookery Hotel defines themselves as a BnB, and breakfast was very delicious and always very consistent.

Check in is very well co-originated by the staff on duty, Luggage was quickly ushered to the room and a quick but thorough rundown of the what where and hows was completed. Our room was A Superior Room, with a generous very comfortable queen bed. The room was period Victoria, and well appointed. It was like visiting at your old aunts house in London. The loo was at the bottom of some very steep stairs and was very comfortable for all the amenities provided and for all the necessary business attended to there.

You are made to feel like family when you stay with Rookery Hotel, and every need was accommodated. Please don't hesitate at the higher cost of this hotel. Its very well much worth each pound you spend.

I know I will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudyR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a weekend, with partner. Romantic hotel, well restaurated, Great location - for Oxford Str., Modern Tate, St Paul's. Breakfast needs to be ordered the day before, but there are lots of places in walking distance and better value for money. But will come back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband booked this hotel for my 30th Birthday in June. The hotel is located a five minute walk away from Farringdon tube station making it easy to get around London. It offers a lovely welcoming atmosphere with lots of character. Our room was a good size with a lovely comfortable bed along with lots of character. We only stayed for one night but the staff we met were really helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Maybe my expectations were set too high after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. While I had a perfectly pleasant stay in a hotel with a bit of character, I wouldn't say it was outstanding for the price. If you are looking for a slice of traditional English accommodation, complete with quirky (but functional) plumbing, then this is for you. Steer clear of the "honesty bar" though - you might be shocked by the final bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maccaspooksralu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at the Rookery on the 18th and 19th of October with my wife. Firstly I would like to say what a beautiful hotel it is. It had a Grand but cosy feel. Our room was wonderful with a view over to Smithfield’s that probably hasn’t changed much in 200 years. A personal thank you to Carl and Kim for always being there to help in anyway. I would highly recommend the Rookery. We will be back.
Thank you again.
Mark and Julie x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is literally 2 minutes walk from Farringdon Tube and has a great history. We have walked past it many times without realising that it was a hotel. Greta decor, very atmospheric and very different which is exactly what we like. We had a wonderful room although it was a bit of climb to get there, amazing carved woodwork on the very comfortable four poster bed, shutters on the window and a bathroom with the shower cubicle fronted by a wonderful Puginesque wooden frame. With the toilet on a raised dais you were literally "on the throne". If you want a shower rather than a bath you need to request that when booking as the rooms tend to be fitted with baths. Breakfast is served in your room although you can take it in the conservatory. Logistically I think it is easier for the hotel to serve it in your room as the eating area downstairs did not appear that large and is mainly outdoor. Breakfast is not included in the price and we felt it was rather restricted in choice and rather expensive for what was on offer so we had breakfast elsewhere - there are plenty of places in the area to eat. The staff were very accommodating and keen to make your stay comfortable. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#103 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#272 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#215 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#160 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing