We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rookery has old world English excellence and an exceptional staff.”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #241 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the true English ambiance and lovely rooms. Furnishings were beautiful, noteworthy English garden and fantastic history. Each room had a book of bios and we stayed in the Sally Salisbury room. Portraits of each individual were in the room in which they resided.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our second visit and again stepping back into a true Dickensian atmosphere was a wonderful experience. All rooms are named after characters who lived in the original building or in the surrounding area and whose lives are detailed in an extremely detailed directory in the room. Staff were very helpful and the breakfast which we had in our room was excellentl. This hotel is ideal for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family recently stayed at the Rookery for 3 nights. We had two rooms, one having a rollaway bed for third person. The building is old, has its quirks, but wow, it is lovely! It is also very comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful both before arrival in answering my numerous emails, and during our stay with any questions or requests. I loved walking around, looking at the building and its tasteful decor. My daughters felt like princesses living in an old English manor. The antiques and artwork are stunning. Each room was different; not your usual cookie cutter hotel. The breakfasts, while not free, are fresh, delicious, and presented in a lovely way. We enjoyed eating them in one of the common rooms downstairs instead of in our rooms. It is very near Faringdon station to easily catch the tube to anywhere in London. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautifully decorated and styled, gorgeous hotel! Lovely roll top bath, gorgeous large wooden bed. We were up high in the rafters but they are so well cared for. Not a single cobweb. The room wasn't overly large but was perfect for our 3 night stay. Perfect place for our short honeymoon. At a stone's throw from both the overground international and the underground stations The Rookery is perfectly placed for business, travellers and tourists alike. The staff were polite, helpful and wonderful to be around. Don't forget to fuss the resident cat.

Room Tip: There is no lift, but a very nice porter will take your bags to your room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsobelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here on our way back to the States from an whirlwind European vacation. It was a charming hotel with a big, soft bed and very good AC. The staff were very, very nice and helpful (even doing a load of laundry for us). We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff was fantastic, they helped us with everything we needed. Our room was classic English, we loved it, very large in size. The bed was very comfortable, hotel very quiet. The breakfast was perfect, not too much and not too little. Location was great, not touristy at all, nice to be in a quiet area. I will stay at this hotel when I am back in London.
Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RST65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a basic room-plenty big enough with incredible furniture and plumbing of a past era. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast appears to be quite expensive at first glance but of superb quality and well worth the cost. Handy to tube. The immediate area of the hotel is not prime tourist country but very interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sevenoaks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#226 of 1,081 in London
1,623 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#213 of 1,081 in London
903 reviews
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#54 of 1,081 in London
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#182 of 1,081 in London
674 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £147 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing