We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far not worth it”
Review of My Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
My Bloomsbury
Ranked #460 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 February 2008

toilett flush not working, weak water stream and changing shower temperature, a dangerously burning hot towel dryer in the small bathroom, a micro hifi not working, used-looking furniture, bad insonorisation from the noisy street, hard to manage heat system... and perhaps most frustrating from it all, a "sorry we don't serve the breakfast you already paid for anymore, it's eleven and it only served till eleven, but here is the menu if you wish to order a breakfast"...
a definitely no-go

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick_with_a_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2007

I like staying at MyHotel Bloomsbury. It is always clean and comfortable.

It is a great location for me as i love to shop on oxford.

Rooms are quite small, but i think that is common in Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ponyandminji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Hmmm average rating really, was in London working for 2 nights and needed to book somewhere reasonablly priced at the last minute in December. Used to use the Myhotel bar a couple of years ago when I lived in London and had always wanted to stay but wasn't as great as I remembered. The room was the real let down although it was ok for a business trip. Just an extremley small single room, ok I didnt expect it to be that big as it was a singe but I am a small UK size 8 and I struggled to move around the bathroom and a weird set up with the wardrobe - had to reach hand into a small gap to hang up clothes, my husband would have got his arm stuck?! Another big bug bear with me although this isnt unique to this hotel the hairdryer. Will somebody please provide a decent hairdryer in a hotel, we ladies do like to style our barnets and not just wash and go, thankfully this one did have switches not one of those awful things that you have to hold on to use, however there was no mirror in the room. Ugh so annoying!! Didnt stretch to the mirror on the door or into the bathroom. Apart from that if you need somewhere to stay that is central for around £155 per night this is an ok pick. It's clean, the breakfast was fine but wasn't included in the price, check in was good, one of the lifts was broken. Just average.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LadyGrayChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Stayed here a while back and loved the location. It is so central to the parts of London that I like to explore.

The bar was nice and was used one night to hang out with some friends from Paris. The bathroom was decently sized with a good soaker tub and the room handled our American sized luggage. The bedding was very comfortable but did swallow up the room. Considering the prices of neighboring Mayfair hotels this hotel seemed like a bargain. I would definitely stay here the next time I am in London.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Shanehoustonlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

I stayed at myhotel bloomsbury back in 1999 and had an absolutely serene experience. The room, the service, everything was very Zen. I loved it and actually thought about it in the years after I'd been there.

I came back again in 2007. I'd been to London since, but had stayed at higher-end places either because the company was paying or because I was using some mileage or point program to pay.

this time I was footing the bill, so I chose the somewhat more modest myhotel.

the quite good: the location is still great - quick walk to the theaters or the subway or the national gallery or the british museum. love the location.
also, a very nice feature of this hotel is the library. There are a couple of computers you can use to get online. There are magazines and books, and there's even coffee and water. A very nice way to wind up or down at the beginning or end of a tiring day or trekking around the city.

pretty good: the rooms all come with stereos and nice toiletries, and the breakfast is fab. Really nice.

not as good as I remembered: it could be I'd idealized this place, or maybe it really had changed. I'd remembered it all as very Zen -- especially the rooms. Very spare, very peaceful, etc.

This time the room was sort of orange and brown and maybe some other color. Also, as others have said, there was construction outside -- very noisy, yes, although not when I was trying to sleep; attractive to look at? no. Out of the hotel's control, to be sure, but it does take away from the Zen quality.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JB2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

This was my third or fourth stay at myhotel Bloomsbury. The room was smallish but comfortable, the staff friendly and accommodating, and the amenities acceptable. As a business traveler, I dislike being trapped in touristy areas, where everything is overpriced, selection is limited, and locals scarce. Fancy tourist hotels are also a tipping nightmare - I don’t need anyone to open my door or hail me a cab, thank you.

For me, the best part of myhotel Bloomsbury is its great location, just off Tottenham Court Road a few blocks from Oxford Street. From here, buses, tubes and cabs can get you anywhere in the city, pretty quickly, and if the weather is tolerable, you’re within walking distance of all of central London. It’s a great stroll neighborhood. There are funky little restaurants and shops on Goodge Street, two blocks away. Tescos and newsstands and electronics shops and conveniences abound. The British Museum is around the corner. There’s a little movie theater across the street. The hotel itself houses a popular little sushi restaurant, and has a hip young bar scene at night. There’s a friendly corner pub right next door.

All that said, here are my quibbles:

1. Construction noise - The stately old building that completely flanks the rear of the hotel is being renovated, with jackhammers and all. The work doesn’t begin until around 8 am and ends around 8 or 9pm, but if you’re expecting a nice afternoon nap or some quiet time for daytime business, you’d best bring heavy-duty earplugs. I don’t know when the work is scheduled for completion, but from the looks of things it won’t be any time soon.

2. The flat-screen TV receives something like 7 or 8 boring channels, plus a few music-only channels. If you need video entertainment in your room, bring a laptop and a pile of DVD’s.

3. No vending machines. Most neighborhood shops close at 10, the Tesco at midnight, so plan ahead. If you want a snack or a soda, you have to get it at the lobby bar, which is open 24 hours. A glass of Coke will set you back 2 pounds. Outrageous!

One more thing - try to avoid rooms facing Tottenham Court Road. Although the large double windows and heavy curtains muffle most of the sound, there is truck and bus traffic all night long. It’s impossible to open the windows and sleep with the fresh, cool night air.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank homesick_and_grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stood there for one week.
Reception was always friendly and helpful.
Room was quite small, but with everything equiped you will expect in a 5 star Hotel: coffee & tea facilities, flat TV, CD, Radio, shoe shine...
In the basement you can find access 24h to the so called library...real cool location with tea & coffee facilities, allways fresh fruits, relaxing area and 6 Internet Terminals with free use of printer and everything you need to do your admin.
The F&B was very good, always nice people at the bar / restaurant.
The location is perfect in London for Musical (Queen round the corner) shopping, clubbing...and for business.
I will def. go there again for my next London trip!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SMaiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#271 of 1,081 in London
1,145 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#68 of 1,081 in London
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Bloomsbury

Address: 11-13 Bayley Street, London WC1B 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#332 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £112 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Classic in the Heart of the Action With its history of literature, philosophy and the arts, Bloomsbury is the central London sanctuary that inspires creative thought. My Bloomsbury is designed to do the same. Serene contemporary design guestrooms, comfortable hot desks and fine gastronomy give you a personal hub that is welcoming, laid back and easy. And with Soho, Oxford St. and Covent Garden just a stroll away; and trains from Euston and King’s Cross close too – the location is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your My Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Bloomsbury London
Myhotel Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing