We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre Break”
Review of My Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Bloomsbury
Ranked #421 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Theatre Break”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a boutique hotel in a nice location off Tottenham Court Rd. We stayed here on 6th June as we were out at the theatre. The hotel is very clean and staff extremely pleasant. However, when it comes to the room it is a box with just enough room for the bed and separate bathroom. The room is nicely decorated but to get out of bed and use the bathroom you have a 12 inch gap between the bottom of the bed and the wall. Also, the radiator was on full despite it being 24 degrees outside. The bathroom is very small with two annoying features, 1 - the towel rail is boiling so you have to make sure you don't get 50 degree burns every time you use the toilet, there didn't appear to be anyway you could turn it off, 2 - the shower head is on the tiles at a height for any one under 5 foot tall, otherwise you have to squat. Our room was number 102. I'm not going to knock the hotel too much because we just wanted a bed for the night but although it was cheaper than your normal hotels in the west end there were some we've stayed in around the corner £20 a night cheaper with slightly bigger rooms

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanandJakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    335
    155
    63
    47
See reviews for
103
331
128
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex, uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently, at reception staff were very friendly, which you don't always get in hotels, the room was lovely if you stayed there for a while you wouldn't have trouble finding wardrobe space, there was loads, room was clean, although small was very spacious, mini sitting room then bedroom and bathroom, would definitely stay there again, close to shops, [betting shop if you like] and casino, make sure you take ID to casino as for some reason they will not let you in. The only fault about this hotel is that they do not have a bar where you can sit and have a drink, only a dining room, even though we had a drink there we felt very uncomfortable sitting there, as they had to clear a table of cutlery for us to sit there. All in all not a bad place to stay. PS. we went to see we will rock you which was 2 minutes walk, sadly show now finished.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscEssex_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Amazing find right in the city centre. We were looking for a convenient place to stay near London theatres, within an easy access to shopping areas. We couldn't have chosen better. Right in the heart of the city, modern and friendly hotel. After a warm welcome arrival we checked into a bright modern room. We spent the evening at the Her Majesty's Theatre which is just an easy stroll from the hotel. Late dinner at Gale's restaurant was fantastic, some of the dishes reminded us of the time we went to Gordon Ramsay's Maze. Comfortable sleep followed up by a tasty breakfast. After shopping in Covent Garden we popped back to drop off all the bags half way through the day. The two days spent at myhotel will certainly be remembered for all the right reasons. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay in central London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an interesting hotel. It doesn't feel at all corporate but it is very convenient, has free wifi. good restaurant* and bakery* and a 'hot office' on the ground floor.

However, the rooms range alot - avoid the singles which are like cells and have no minibar. The doubles have good space and good beds but many are rather gloomy with tatty and old-fashioned wooden slatted blinds, which don't always work well, and often small bathrooms.

The * are here because when I went for breakfast with my husband today there was only cold food available. When we questioned this, we were told they don't serve cooked breakfasts until 8.30am! Not ideal for people heading to work - I have had boiled eggs there at an earlier time so I don;t know why the timing has changed. The bakery - which sells lovely things - is also a bit haphazard. I think it is supposed to be open by 8am but a few times, it has not opened or been ready for 8am.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be affected by street noise and early lorries unloading at the neighbouring p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldrectorycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfeild
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nicely laid out. Cool without being precious. Brilliantly situated with a restaurant downstairs that opens onto the street and a bakery/cafe the other side that looked very good (unfortunately I was out both mornings before breakfast). What struck me was that considering it's just off Tottenham Court Road, it was amazingly quiet in the evenings. Bedford Square, that the hotel fronts on to, is a lovely spot too, complete with Mary Poppins style houses. Only design flaw is that you can't have the (inner) windows open and your blind down at the same time so it was a bit hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jade b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night when we were down in London for a Arctic Monkeys gig. The hotel is lovely and we were pleasantly surprised. The location of the hotel is also spot on and is even in walking distance to leicester square and 2 or 3 tube stops. Would definitely recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan_swfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked a deal for my friend and I to have a full body massage, glass of champagne and brownie. We both have had a lot of massages but this was wonderful. Kristina is excellent at what she does and has good customer skills. We felt really looked after. After the massage we had a very nice glass of champagne but didn't eat all the brownies as we decided to have lunch in the restaurant. This was also excellent and the staff were so friendly. They also gave us a complementry cake. Really nice boutique hotel and vey customer focused staff, would recommend to anyone. Zoe & Sue

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#296 of 1,069 in London
1,074 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,069 in London
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#555 of 1,069 in London
772 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Bloomsbury

Property: My Bloomsbury
Address: 11-13 Bayley Street, London WC1B 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Romantic Hotel in London
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
#321 Family Hotel in London
#336 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — My Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Classic in the Heart of the Action With its history of literature, philosophy and the arts, Bloomsbury is the central London sanctuary that inspires creative thought. My Bloomsbury is designed to do the same. Serene contemporary design guestrooms, comfortable hot desks and fine gastronomy give you a personal hub that is welcoming, laid back and easy. And with Soho, Oxford St. and Covent Garden just a stroll away; and trains from Euston and King’s Cross close too – the location is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your My Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Bloomsbury London
Myhotel Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing