We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Hotel 41

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel 41 this past May. As other reviewers have noted it is located next to and over the Rubens, as sister property. The 41 is not like the big luxury hotels – Mandarins or Four Seasons, but is very similar to a private club property. From time of arrival until departure you will be treated with a personal interest by every member of the staff.

The room we had was small with a little too much furniture for it size but otherwise was immaculate. The bed is about as comfortable as you will find anywhere. The room we had was extremely quiet.

The 41 is located across from the Palace grounds and along with the Rubens are probably the closest hotels to the Palace itself. The hotel is ideally located within walking distance to many of London’s attractions. A number of pubs are a block or two away.

The entire staff will try to meet your every wish. From providing directions to answering the most inane question they were informative and helpful. My wife asked if they had a flat iron for her hair since hers was not compatible with the voltage. Thirty minutes later a flat iron was delivered to our room – they went out and purchased one! The staff often surprised us – from a welcome cake, and assortment of berries, a bottle of Champaign and an invitation to high tea. We would single out Antoinette and Monika. They made our stay particularly special.

The 41 may seem a bit pricey, but in London you get what you pay for. And the 41 is fairly priced and in our opinion a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LLoydsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,837 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

Enough said really. The service and friendliness and quality just spoke for themselves. There were a couple of minor things, but to be honest they were so minor I'm not even going to mention them. The service is just spot on, not pompous, not over bearing just nice and friendly. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

If only the room had been larger I would have given it top billing as the service they provided was top notch. Nothing was too big/small for them to help us with. Hotel is very convenient and cabs come by often. Not all cab drivers knew of it but they knew of Reuben's next door (sister property). With just 2 people and 2 suitcases, 1 bed and table we were constantly bumping into each other in our room, the chair was in the way and the bathroom was only 4-5' across. Perhaps they had larger rooms I did not think to ask but that was the only negative.

Room Tip: Ask to see if they have larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yellowrosetexas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Having stayed at many wonderful hotels around the world, and reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor, I was greatly looking forward to trying Hotel 41. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing experience.

It's difficult to know whether this is really a hotel, a large B&B, or similar to staying at your wealthy and eccentric in-laws. You enter a mirrored elevator ("through the looking glass" as we joked to ourselves upon each return to the hotel) and emerge into a warren of hallways. You find your way to the "executive lounge", which is nice, but small. Other guests and staff know you and all your movements. And you always end up walking through this lounge on the way to your room. Private it is not.

So addressing some of the strengths described in previous reviews:

Staff: they do indeed seem to try, but they are not very capable. Don't expect minor repairs to be made properly, your room service order to be correct, or any insight or help from the concierge service. They're a chatty bunch, inquiring all about your day, your plans, etc. etc.

Location: Indeed, the hotel is located on Buckingham Palace road, but to say it's "right across from Buckingham Palace" is a slight stretch. The hotel is located on a busy intersection, across from the Buckingham Palace Mews (horse stables)

Rooms: Uncomfortable and unsettling. The black and white decor might look good in photos, but is neither warm nor welcoming. The bath had some expensive-looking fittings, but besides that, the room seemed much past its prime.

2nd best hotel in London: sadly, not by a long shot. They do offer something unique -- but it's a nice 3-star hotel, not anything remotely comparable to the best hotels of London.

Room Tip: Rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank PoLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at Hotel 41, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of 41 on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was sorry to learn that you did not like the decor or the location of the hotel. I was also disappointed to read of the service inconsistencies you encountered during your stay with us. Here at 41, we pride ourselves on the standards of product and service we provide, which makes it all the more disappointing to read that we have let ourselves down on this occasion.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having delivered an exceptional experience and please be assured that I have addressed each point with my team here.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

All good hotels in my experience have something of a conspiracy about them: you feel like you are on the inside of something. 41 is like this, more than most in fact. There isn't even a sign outside when you go in, just the door number; if you didn't know about it, you wouldn't even be here. The receptionist is charming; then someone comes down and takes you up in the lift. There's only one button, it's like going up to a particularty luxurious Space Shuttle launch platform.
It's not so much like a hotel, more a luxurious club. You sit down to check in, and have a drink. The staff are outstanding, the rooms are charming, the food is excellent.
Looking out the window that night, the traffic in the road below seemed strangely foreign and exotic. Now there are words I wouldn't have used about Victoria before ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewFenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband & I stayed at Hotel 41, London for over a week. It is a small & beautifully appointed hotel in a great location just across the street from Buckingham Palace. It is quiet, clean & private. The staff is exceptional! Amenities are many and very thoughtfully provided. We have told our friends that this is the place to stay in London.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We were there for our honeymoon back in April and were not disappointed.

Seriously, Hotel 41 staffs really go beyond expectation in services. There are (positive) surprises everyday in our room (roses, chocolates, candles). The staffs are also very helpful in finding what we need (e.g. tickets for attractions, city recommendations, etc)

The hotel's breakfast is also among the best we've ever tasted.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who is visiting London.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Notosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,076 in London
1,351 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,289 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#1 Family Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £341 - £1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club-like atmosphere & 21st-century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing