We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London's little gem”
Review of Hotel 41

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,064 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“London's little gem”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel door which could have doubled for that of a 'Gentleman's Club,' of course it was Hotel 41. Once through the door after being buzzed in you are greeted by a very friendly receptionist, she makes a call to a member of staff who then comes to escort you to the 5th floor and into the Executive Lounge. You are again greeted by more friendly staff members. The Executive lounge is the heart beat of the hotel, the staff more than make you feel welcome and at ease, their attentiveness, it's what the hotel is all about.

The room was adequate, the king size bed an obvious bonus. The bathrooms are larger than most, the showers were a little bit of a challenge. The English Breakfast was disappointing being a vegetarian, there were no alternatives and what they charge it was a total let down; if you go for the continental breakfast you will not be disappointed.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariox1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,467
    176
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
359
1,625
135
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel 41 on 22nd January on a trip to London to see a couple of shows. I had not previously been aware of this hotel but my wife and I were tremendously impressed with the whole experience.
The service is outstanding and the staff were unfailingly helpful with any requests, including generously allowing us to check out an hour later than normal. This enabled us to visit The Queen's Gallery, almost opposite, the following morning without having to rush.
A glass of champagne on arrival, especially of the quality offered, cannot fail to create an instant feel-good factor and a top-up as we relaxed by the open fire showed that it was more than just a standard gesture. The room itself was beautifully furnished with a well co-ordinated black and white scheme - in fact the only colours in evidence were the fresh berries in the fruit basket and the pale blue remote control for the second television in the bathroom. It is not easy to shave and watch TV at the same time but nevertheless a thoughtful offering. The bed was enormous and the pillows the softest imaginable. The provision of an exotic range of toiletries, bedroom slippers and dressing gowns were appreciated, whether or not used.
On our return from the show we were able to enjoy some tasty snacks from the complimentary buffet and a reasonably priced bottle of wine from the honour bar to round off a thoroughly relaxing day.
A lot of thought has obviously gone into the creation of this gem of a hotel and it is clear that the owners have a flair and a passion for excellence that percolates through the whole establishment. In our view, Hotel 41 thoroughly deserves its position as number 1 on Trip Advisor out of over 1000 London hotels, although to be fair, we have not stayed in all the others. Hotel 41 is not cheap for the average purse, but it is good value and well worth the expense for a special occasion. Mike Thompson Farnham, Surrey

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miket t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

First stay for my wife and I, last Saturday to celebrate her birthday, we try and stay at a good hotel for our birthdays every year, this is the second Red Carnation Hotel that we have stayed at.
From the moment we stepped through the door the staff were welcoming and attentive, a choice of champagne and some savoury snacks with check-in. Our room was lovely, we had an Executive King, enormous comfortable bed, complimentary birthday cake and fruit. The room was well equipped with most things that you might need for a short stay and beautifully finished. The room had marble fireplace and a wrought iron gas fire which was more for effect than heat, but quite a nice feature..
It may not have been the biggest or best room that we have stayed in London, but where this hotel absolutely excels is the attention to detail and the personal touch that the staff deliver, nothing seemed too much trouble. When we returned to our room in the evening, collecting a couple of Haagen-dazs strawberry cheesecake ice cream pots on the way, our room had been furnished with chocolate dipped strawberries, rose petals on the bed and bath and half a dozen candles lit, definitely for the girls!
For me its easy to see why this hotel rates so highly in a very competitive market, the staff and management team are an absolute credit and demonstrate faultless hospitality.
41 will joint a fairly short list for me headed 'must return', many thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is our 3rd stay at 41, our second time at Christmas and yet again it was faultless. It really is like coming to stay with good friends as everyone makes you feel so at home. From remembering the music you like, or don't like, to the lovely surprise when we came back to our room from Christmas night drinks just a little too early!!! All the team were great as usual, but particular thanks go to Lauren, Florent and Stefan for making us feel so special. We felt totally relaxed and pampered for the whole stay and can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighMaintenance69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have now stayed here twice, once on business and once with my wife as a treat for her birthday. I would now easily rate it as my favourite London hotel.

You enter on the ground floor, and are then taken up to the 5th floor, where the hotel itself is situated. You are offered a glass of champagne as you book in in a beautiful lounge, lined with old books. The rooms themselves are extremely well-appointed and comfortable, and I also specifically want to mention the staff who are a model of courtesy and helpfulness. The wireless internet is free.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a junior suite for my most recent stay, and the room was stunning, with an upstairs and downstairs!

I received an e mail before my stay, inviting me to state preferences such as foam or feather pillows etc, which were then followed perfectly.

There are some very unusual, and enjoyable touches-it has an external 'living wall', a bar where you can serve yourself, free ice cream etc etc.

The hotel is a short walk from Victoria Station, and very close to Buckingham Palace, and the Theatres where Wicked and Billy Elliott are currently on-no more than a 5 minute walk from either.

This is not a "cheap" hotel, and it is small, so you don't get a swimming pool etc, BUT it is a real treat. I don't think unique is too strong a word. It is very unlikely in my view that you would have anything other than a really enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stopped over in London for one night before boarding a cruise ship to The United States. Hotel 41 is a great place to stay!

The hotel is quiet, quaint and the staff is there to help with anything 24/7. From the second we walked in the door, to the moment we caught our cab to the train station, everything was perfect.

When we arrived to our room initially, they had a beautiful spread of fruit, chocolates and roses laid out for me as a gift for our wedding. I was very impressed. The room was a nice size, super clean.

Would definitely recommend for a boutique, personalized experience! (Walking Distance to Buckingham Palace, too!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank a4zat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My daughter and I plus 2 dogs had a 3 night break at Hotel 41. My expectations were high, from website and reputation and we certainly were not disappointed. In fact everything we experienced surpassed expectation. All the staff were attentive, polite and friendly. The bedroom was compact yet perfect, beds were wonderfully comfortable, as, I imagine the dog beds were. We loved sitting in front of the fire with friends (and dogs) in the evening. The pantry nibbles were irresistible.
Overall it was an excellent hotel, would recommend it without hesitation and shall return as soon as I have an excuse to do so.
Thank you Hotel 41

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 17pe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Property: Hotel 41
Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in London
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club like atmosphere & 21st century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing