We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Colonnade London
Ranked #276 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had afternoon tea here. Lovely place in a good location. The staff were very pleasant and gave us the right amount of attention. The food quality was very good and we were offered more of everything. Great value for money and would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank s1vasilikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea so much and please do 'recommend' us.
I hope we can welcome you back for tea at The Colonnade very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    375
    125
    66
    38
See reviews for
148
578
79
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

For the price of a budget hotel room this was a real discovery on Lastminute.com. Paddington station is a pleasant canal-side walk away with Warwick Avenue tube station right on the door-step and direct bus services to theatre-land, Knightsbridge and South Kensington for the museums. Although, London traffic make the underground a far swifter option.

Our ‘club double’ was at the top of the building. We enjoyed two restful nights with no traffic noise and the air conditioning quickly made the room comfortably cool. As others have pointed out, the top floor is not served by a lift, so would not suit anyone who cannot manage stairs.

There were numerous additions to make our stay a pleasant one, including complimentary wifi. In the evening there was a litre of water to refresh us, and a chocolate on each pillow. Added to this we were offered a morning paper and there was a selection of up-to-date magazines in the room plus bathrobes, slippers and a tempting mini-bar.

Given that this is a 4* hotel we found eating in was too expensive for our budget but the stay was enjoyable nonetheless. There are some pleasant cafes and interesting shops close-by. Would not hesitate to recommend The Colonnade, particularly if you can secure a discount price online.

If this review was helpful, please be kind enough to click the button below.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the great review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I am delighted you appreciated the extras that we provide for our guests, we really strive to ensure great value for money at the hotel.
I hope we have an early opportunity to welcome back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in July. We got a good deal through lastminute.com and were happy with our choice of hotel. The hotel was lovely. However, considering it is 4 star, I did feel some things had been left to decline.

Good points of the hotel: The location. The hotel is situated in 'Little Venice', a short walk from Paddington Station, along the canals. This part of London couldn't be more different to the hustle and bustle of central London, although still ideally located to reach all the sights. The Staff. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and knowledgeable about the hotel. The rooms. Our room was nice, with a four-poster bed. However, there were some things that weren't quite up to scratch, which I will come to. We had lots of little extra touches in the room too, a chocolate on the pillow, mini bar, complimentary water and fruit and gowns and slippers.

Bad points to the hotel: This should really be called 'Less good points' as they weren't terrible. We felt the room was getting a bit tired, particularly the bathroom, where the seal around the shower seemed a bit rusted and stained and the towels were frayed around the edges. Not huge problems but probably not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Check in: Most hotels these days let you check in earlier if you are to get there earlier, however, the 2pm check in advertised was stuck to ridgedly. Even when we went back at 2pm, the front of house staff had to call housekeeping to check our room was ready. However, they did let us leave our bags in storage until the room was ready, which meant we good wander around London more easily. The bed: The bed was a lovely four poster but the matrress was very hard, creaky and uncomfortable.

Overall this is a good hotel which we got at a good price but because of certain things being left to lapse, i wouldn't pay full price for the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggielea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciated the service we provide and you were happy with your room.
I also very much appreciate your constructive criticism. At the moment we are refurbishing some of our bathrooms to ensure that they are up to standard. I have taken your comment on board about the bed. As to check-in as we only have 44 rooms and most people check out at the designated check-out time we are not always able to get guests into rooms earlier, however, we do strive to ensure that guests get into their rooms as quickly as possible.
I hope we have an early opportunity to welcome back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a wonderful place.
The surroundings/little Venice is really calm and romantic with the canals, boats and small pubs but close to attractions such as the London zoo.
We stayed for two nights and we had booked a small doubleroom but when we arrived they had upgraded us. This meant so much to me since as I was trying my best to give my sweet fiancé a good time in London for his birthday and to start off with stepping into a suite was amazing.
They were really doing all they could for us.
Hope you get to stay here and enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the great review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we were able to make your fiancés birthday treat so special.
Please do recommend us to your friends and family.
I hope we have an early opportunity to welcome back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great boutique hotel in an old building, nice rooms, individually designed with a lot of charm.
Location is in a quite place in Little Venice, away from the crowd. Around the corner are some nice restaurants and a bar where locals hang out in the evening.
Avoid the rooms in the basement as you will hear the tube running under your bed every 2 minutes. The breakfast room in the basement has a glass roof and gives acces via a stairs to the terrace, gr8 when the sun is out. The breakfast should be improved, this is below level. Orange juice from concentrate is not done in such a place and is at level with the rest of the breakfast served.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the basement ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nielsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and enjoyed the area
I have taken your comment on board about breakfast and will speak with the Chef
I hope we have an early opportunity to welcome back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at The Colonnade with my family this year and we all had a lovely time.

The staff were very helpful and charming, the reception area was very welcoming and the bed and breakfast in the room at no extra cost was a bonus.

There are super surroundings in the area with the canal just a short walk away.

We highly recommend the hotel.

Ms Evans

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janisevans2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the great review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your family.
Please do recommend us to your friends!
I hope we have an early opportunity to welcome back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely experience at this hotel. We had a Wowcher deal for afternoon tea for 6 of us as a birthday celebration. They had our table ready in the garden when we arrived. We received very good service; a glass of champagne as we sat down, then 3 trays of sandwiches and cakes between us. We had unlimited tea and coffee and they also brought more sandwiches out free of charge. There was plenty of food and there was a lovely atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for afternoon tea.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherbie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea so much.
Please do recommend our Afternoon Tea to your friends and family.
I hope we have an early opportunity to welcome back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area for Afternoon Tea.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
842 reviews
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#314 of 1,088 in London
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#241 of 1,088 in London
2,331 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Paddington / Maida Vale
Europa House
Europa House
#621 of 1,088 in London
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonnade London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonnade London

Property: The Colonnade London
Address: 2 Warrington Crescent, London W9 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Family Hotel in London
#193 Romantic Hotel in London
#205 Luxury Hotel in London
#210 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonnade London 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the sweetest smelling flowers in the lobby to the temptingly plumped sofas in the lounge, it's the attention to detail that makes The Colonnade London distinctively different. For each of our guests, there's something that especially appeals. The prospect of stretching out in a bath of bubbles at the end of the day. For business facilities - wifi, dual phone lines. But one thing is for sure: at The Colonnade London we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colonnade London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonnade London Hotel London
The Colonnade Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing