We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Colonnade London
Ranked #343 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at this hotel through a Travelzoo offer. Lovely welcome and fantastic afternoon tea. Such a treat! The room was disappointing. Number 46 on the 4th floor is a small room, with not enough width to have a bedside table at each side of the bed. A bit troublesome when you want to have a cuppa in bed in the morning & nowhere to put your cup down. The only other downside was, our room wasn't made up until after 5pm & then it was only after a trip to reception. Maybe we slipped the net in the housekeeping dept? For the price we paid, we were well looked after. Having a free paper each morning, water & plenty of choice of hot drinks in the room were all big plus points. If we stay here again, we hope to have a room lower down, which can be reached by lift. The hotel is in a beautiful, tranquil part of London. Book it & enjoy!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Holheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciated the area and the service.
I have noted your comments about housekeeping and on your next visit please do request a room on a lower floor and we will be delighted to try to accommodate your request
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
There are newer reviews for The Colonnade London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Was met by very friendly reception staff on arrival and given the opportunity to sit and enjoy a complimentary bottle of filter water- much needed after a hot tube journey!

Concierge was very helpful and polite when showing me to my room but even he seemed perplexed by the air conditioning unit, which later turned out to be useless.

The room was nice but the bathroom small and windowless. The shower seemed to intermittently turn either scolding hot or freezing cold which was less enjoyable than being at home!

Unfortunately I didn't manage to sleep much through the night as the room was sweltering hot and the other guests on my floor were loud. If the air conditioning had been more effective, my stay would have been greatly improved.

Ordered room service, food was OK but I wouldn't hurry to eat there again.

Overall the staff were faultless but the hotel not up to the 4* standard I would expect.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Emma-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciated the service but I was disappointed that your were not happy with your room.
We have a great variety of rooms at the hotel and had we known you were not happy with your accommodation we could have offered you an alternative, unfortunately once you have checked out there is little we can do.
I have passed your comments about the food to our head chef
I hope we can welcome you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in July, and I definitely will be back the next time I'm in London! The property was clean and comfortable, we stayed in room 24 and I was pleased with cleanliness of the room, and the four post bed was lovely and very comfortable (though this is literally the highest bed I have ever slept in). We had very little interaction with the staff due to being out most of the time, but check in and check out was efficient and friendly. The morning before we were due to check in I had dropped off some luggage before wandering off for more sightseeing. When I arrived that evening I was pleased to see that once our room was ready the luggage had been brought up. Do also take a walk around the neighborhood with the lovely architecture and check out some of the yummy restaurants on Formosa Street.

All in all a pleasant stay, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciated the area and the service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My two friends and shared a lovely large room, with French windows which opened onto a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. We arrived a little early and there was a warm welcome when we checked our bags in. We then had a light lunch and a bottle of wine at the local pub around the corner.

The hotel had a real cosy, olde worlde feel to it. There seemed to be a lot of little corridors and stairs which made it all the more special. The staff were really attentative and helpful, especially the porter, and Borden; who gave us a brief history of the hotel, even showing us the oldest operating lift in London. Wait for the surprise at the end!

We all had a peaceful night's sleep. The air-con worked really well, but this wasn't needed during the night. We were woken quite early by some noisy young neighbours (doors opening and closing) but this wasn't the fault of the hotel.

I was expecting a buffet breakfast, but it was still good. We had cereal, and an option of a cooked breakfast: standard fry-up, or salmon and scrambled egg. Would loved to have some pancakes, but that was extra. The fresh fruit was delicious. We were lucky to have good weather, so we finished our tea on the terrace, with the sun on our faces.

Little things like the complimentary slippers (much more comfortable than normal ones in some places), bottle of water, and the chocolate muffins (in reception), were nice touches.

I didn't give it 5 stars because, although we had booked for 3 people, I had to ask for the extra bathrobe, towels and slippers, as they only allocated for two. However, the sofa end had been made up ready.

Still, we had a lovely stay and, if the chance arose, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay, I'll pass your comments on to Borden.
We are delighted that you appreciated the area and the service as well as the additional extras we provide for our guests to try and make the stay more memorable.
You should have been given an extra robe and slippers so I am sorry this did not happen.
We hope to welcome you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from 5 days in this lovely hotel. It is our hotel of choice in London. Convenient to Paddington Station and the Warwick Avenue Tube Station, it is ideally situated.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and all the staff could not have been more kind or helpful.
The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful both before and during our visit.
The area is quiet and well located to go out to eat in a charming variety of reasonably priced restaurants in the evening. It was appreciated to have access to the Times newspaper and a variety of books during our stay. I also enjoyed the range of current magazines left out for our use in our room.
Our only suggestion would be that the breakfast menu could be more clearly set out. It was difficult to know if it was necessary to take continental breakfast as well in the morning to get toast with the salmon and scrambled egg choice. However the young staff member at breakfast sorted out this issue for us. Her service was excellent.
The hotel has recently been repainted outside and inside and a young man was constantly working very hard at keeping brasses shining and all surfaces thoroughly cleaned. His diligence was impressive and gave the hotel a sparkling and well maintained appearance.
The cost of staying in this hotel is high but we felt that we were well looked after and that standards were exemplary.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayEnthusiast38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor and calling us great, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciated the area and the service so much.
I have taken on board your comments about the breakfast and will look into it
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Historic hotel with character. Comfortable, large, well equipped room, good breakfast, friendly staff. Quirky - resident cat in reception, oldest lift in England which sometimes stops between levels, lift only goes to level 3 then stairs up to level 4 with sloping steps. Maybe not to everyone's taste but we loved it's character and style. Breakfast was huge and plenty of choice. Hotel very close to tube station so ideal for exploring London. Some bits of hotel looking tired - especially the restaurant where furnishing are in need of replacement.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 4 do not have lift (lift ends at level 3) so not suitable for people with disability.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found us quirky
We are delighted that you appreciated the area and the service.
I have taken on board your comments about the restaurant and we hope to be doing a full refurbishment in the near future
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Colonnade hotel London

Beautiful old London Hotel in the heart of bustling Maida Vale. Good location for Little Venice, Warwick Ave tube station.
Quaint lounge with resident cat, making you feel at home. The receptionist was the most confused I've ever encountered and probably on a Youth Training Scheme. Rest of staff very helpful. Lovely rooms with comfortable bed, thick drapes and pleasant decoration. Clean and well presented.
You can eat inside or out, the inside being modern and small, they offered members of our party breakfast in room to keep the dining area free.
Disadvantage No parking, all on street.
Local area Prince Albert pub with good beer and food. Also the Red Pepper Restaurent for Pasta and Pizza.
Well worth booking if your that side of London.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank gruman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about us on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated Minnie the cat!
We are delighted that you appreciated the area and the service, I've noted your comment about check-in and we did have a trainee
Just one thing we do have a small garage with space for two cars which can be booked in advance so please let us know next time you stay you need parking and hopefully it will be available
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonnade and the Little Venice area very soon.
Best regards
Shahar R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#212 of 1,072 in London
1,046 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#261 of 1,072 in London
2,471 reviews
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#353 of 1,072 in London
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
Cranley Hotel
Cranley Hotel
#533 of 1,072 in London
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonnade London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonnade London

Address: 2 Warrington Crescent, London W9 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Family Hotel in London
#193 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Business Hotel in London
#243 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonnade London 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the sweetest smelling flowers in the lobby to the temptingly plumped sofas in the lounge, it's the attention to detail that makes The Colonnade London distinctively different. For each of our guests, there's something that especially appeals. The prospect of stretching out in a bath of bubbles at the end of the day. For business facilities - wifi, dual phone lines. But one thing is for sure: at The Colonnade London we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Colonnade London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonnade London Hotel London
The Colonnade Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing