We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb experience ... with a quirk or two ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Ranked #202 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Eleuthera
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A superb experience ... with a quirk or two ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel proves the maxim, "You get what you pay for." The service is outstanding -- any request, no matter how small, is dealt with immediately and efficiently, 24 hours a day. Every employee, from management to the humblest room-service attendant, is dedicated to making certain your stay is perfect.

Our room, overlooking Hyde Park, was bright, airy, comfortable, quiet, and included every amenity you could imagine. The room was serviced two to three times a day, and was always perfect.

The Mandarin Oriental's location could not be better, with Hyde Park on one side, high-end shopping across the street, an elegant spa and two world-class restaurants within the hotel itself, and several terrific restaurants within just three or four blocks. There is a tube stop right outside the hotel's main entrance, serving the Piccadilly Line, which makes for easy access to most all the city's popular sites.

We enjoyed our week-long stay immensely and would not hesitate to return.

With all that said, the Mandarin chain continues with a few quirky attributes that can be annoying: Primarily a charge of £12.50 per day for wi-fi service, and utterly outrageous charges for local phone calls. We made two calls to arrange theater tickets and were billed more than £20 for those two brief local phone calls.

The internet issue arose in a previous review and the manager responded that the charges are required to cover the costs involved. I'd beg to differ. This is the 21st century, wi-fi is available free everywhere from airport concourses and humble coffee shops to the cheapest Motel 6 hotels in America. For the week's internet charges I'm certain I could have purchased my own wi-fi router for the room, and a month's connection to the Internet.

We ran into this situation at the Barcelona Mandarin as well, so it appears to be company policy. But it would seem to be beneath the dignity of such a world-class chain of hotels to employ policies one would expect at a Navy-town clip joint.

We love your hotels and we hope these policies are addressed before we decide on our next stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hyde Park are very quiet. Our room, #324, even had a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear daveaddis, thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our outstanding Mandarin Oriental service so much. We agree that we are very fortunate with our location and were delighted to read that the view over Hyde Park was to your liking. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the Internet charges. Mandarin Oriental Hotel group is constantly reviewing existing policies and procedures in accordance with valued comments and suggestions received from our guests and this remains a matter under consideration. For this reason we would like to invite you to contact the Hotel Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) should you wish to provide any further feedback. We very much hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to London and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    228
    106
    61
    38
See reviews for
198
362
56
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London have the high level hospitality service , the best location on the heart of London.Every room have unique interier that let feel home.The staff were so kind , cultural and very friendly.Restoraunt service and food wonderfull and there where you have Hyde Park view .I love this hotel and wish to stay there in my next visit in the London.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice individual style and every room have special charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 146Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear 146Mila, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful visit and our team were able to make you feel so at home. We agree with your comments regarding our fabulous location, where town meets country at one address, and were very happy to hear that you had the opportunity to experience both our bar and restaurants; we are very proud of both the food and service on offer here. We are delighted to hear you intend to stay with us next time you are in town and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My Husband, Daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend whilst travelling from Singapore to visit family. Having stayed in the MO Hyde Park pre baby we wondered if our experience would be any different with our daughter. I can happily say that if anything our experience improved, the staff were so kind and friendly and made us feel relaxed and welcome.

After arriving from the long flight the reception staff were welcoming and efficient which was much appreciated. We opted for the basic room which was ample space for us, the baby cot (provided by the hotel) and our various baggage. (Travelling light is a thing of the past once you have a baby in tow).

Breakfast is a highlight, held in the "Dinner by Heston" dining rooms over looking Hyde Park. The restaurant ambience is stunning and the food is excellent. The restaurant staff were wonderful and provided service with a smile. We sampled a number of breakfast items from the a la carte menu over the 4 day stay but the Black pudding and Eggs Benedict were favourites.

I also made use of the spa whilst staying which was brilliant. Kelly Ann gave me a wonderful hot stone massage, leaving me feel relaxed and rejuvenated. I would recommend staying here for the spa use alone. The spa staff were so lovely, after hearing i had a rough night looking after my little one they took extra care of me and even gave me some samples to help sooth my tired eyes!

The hotel location is great. We walked to South Kensington for lunch which is close to the V&A, one of my favourite museums. We were also able to walk through Hyde park to do a little shopping around Oxford Street and Regent Street.

Overall i can fully recommend the hotel, we had a brilliant experience and i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if i return to London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Joanna P, thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our world famous Mandarin Oriental service so much. The team work very hard to consistently deliver the highest level of service to every guest that arrives at the hotel and we take great pride in seeing the results of our efforts. We were delighted to read that you had the opportunity to experience both breakfast overlooking Hyde Park and our award winning, five-star urban Spa too; the heat and water oasis is a truly memorable sensation on its own. Thank you for the recommendation as well. We do hope that you will come and visit us again on future trips to London and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Visited some while ago for a special birthday, heaven! The spa is to die for and also the bar, anything you like! Birthday cake was in the room without being asked for....everyone s very helpful. Spa treatments are second to none - expensive but treat time!

Room Tip: Try to overlook park, we overlooked main road, was fine though but would have liked park view (more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Kentres, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to read that you decided to celebrate such an important occasion with us and were delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful birthday. Our award winning, five-star urban Spa is a source of great pride for the whole team so we were very happy to hear you had the opportunity to experience this; the heat and water oasis is a truly memorable sensation on its own. If planning a future trip to London we very much hope you will consider staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

A great hotel in a superb location goes without saying. So why so good? The Italian Nectarines in our room were just sensational!! And the continental Healthy breakfast was as good as it gets, first class quality and just fantastic.
But one big question? When you have such a great hotel and experience why in this day and age do you have to pay for Internet access? Surely wireless is part of the expectation these days particularly in a 5 star hotel. The staff embarrassing told me it was not the hotel policy and I would suggest that this was not the first time this issue had been raised. Apart from the lack of Free wireless a great hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Stephen T, thank you for such lovely words about your recent stay here at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our world famous Mandarin Oriental service so much and we really appreciate you taking the time to share these thoughts on Tripadvisor. We agree that the little touches are what make a stay special and our team take great pride in going the extra mile to identify Moments of Delight – small instances where we can really wow a guest. In regards to our Internet Policy, as a five star luxury hotel, we need to be constantly reinvesting resources in our infrastructure in order to ensure the quality, consistency and security of our Internet service remains at the highest possible standard. For this reason we have to levy a small supplemental charge for access to ensure that we deliver the highest grade of performance in high-speed Internet connection. With that said, however, we would gladly welcome any further comments you have to make regarding this matter and invite you to contact the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) should you wish to leave additional feedback. If planning a future trip to London we very much hope you will consider staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Book it! My now husband I married here on 31st August 2013, and we and our guests and had the most amazing experience imaginable. From start to finish, the hotel's staff couldn't do enough to help create our perfect day, and everything ran like clockwork. Special credit must go to the lovely Kelly Hunt, events manager, and her team. Super professional and knowledgeable, she made planning our wedding a smooth, enjoyable process. Thanks, too, to the events chef and his team for producing absolutely delectable food which everyone complimented.

I booked a room at the hotel on the eve of our wedding and was lucky enough to be upgraded to the truly phenomenal, recently upgraded royal suite. This was incredibly generous and so appreciated! We cannot wait to return to the MO and experience their amazing service again.

Many thanks,

Rachel & Saleem xx

PS Try out their (what I recall is called) 'Health' breakfast - a great start to the day :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flufferoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Flufferoo, firstly please accept our deepest congratulations to you both on your recent wedding at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled that you decided to celebrate such a special occasion with us and delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience whilst here and enjoyed our world-famous Mandarin Oriental service. Kelly was particularly touched by the special mention and the chefs were pleased to learn that the food was so popular with your guests. We wish you all the best for the future and very much look forward to welcoming you back someday. We hope to see you again soon.

With very best regards
Kelly and the Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We held a CEO event in the Loggia room for 15 delegates and found that the location and balcony were fantastic. We had a champagne reception after the meeting and the views over Hyde Park are amazing!

The AV equipment was dated and there was a constant drilling noise in the next room which was a major distraction.

We had a private dinner in Bar Boloud at the food and service was fantastic!!

Overall, great location to impress your values customers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PaulO4442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear PaulO4442, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were delighted to read that you liked our location, especially the fantastic views over Hyde Park, and enjoyed the food and service in Bar Boulud so much. With that said, we were most disappointed to learn of the situation regarding the drilling noise from the adjacent room. We agree this is most unacceptable and are currently investigating further. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and would like to invite you to contact the hotel to speak with the Resident Manager directly (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg). We can assure you that this will not happen again and we very much hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Best Regards
Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#58 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#69 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#38 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Property: Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#137 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Family Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With bustling Knightsbridge on its doorstep and leafy Hyde Park at its rear, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park is London's most prestigious address. Blending sumptuous guestrooms with a world-leading spa and a stylish bar, it is the definitive destination for a luxury escape. With two award-winning restaurants including Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, and a new Afternoon Tea salon, The Rosebery Lounge, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park stands at the culinary centre of the capital. On 19 September 2016, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London will be embarking on an exciting restoration designed to significantly enhance the facilities of the hotel. The property will remain open throughout the 18-month renovation, which will be undertaken in two phases in order to minimise disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental London
Mandarin London
London Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing