We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Ranked #205 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I am a fan of Mandarin Oriental Hotels and whilst this is not quite up to the hotels in the Far East it is still a great hotel. Service is excellent staff are well trained and friendly rooms are excellent with all facilities you would expect Overall a great hotel for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear MalcolmR52, thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our world famous Mandarin Oriental service so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London in the future and hope to see you soon.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Have stayed here a number of time because we enjoy the old charm and amazingly great service and hospitality. Our stay was marred by a few annoyances ...the shower and washbasin did not drain adequetly; the bathroom tile grout was grey and moldy; the tub stone surround was cracked and the crack had been caulked instead of replacing the piece; turned on the bedside lamp and it tripped the breaker leaving us in darkness waiting for the building engineer to fix the problem. Great building in need of tender loving care!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Spoek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Yehudigaffen, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. Your honest feedback is invaluable and much appreciated. We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our Edwardian charm and genuine, personable service so much. With that said, however, we were most concerned to read your comments regarding the condition of the bathroom and situation with the lamp and agree that this is totally unacceptable. Let us reassure you that both these matters are now being investigated and we would like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) so that we can examine the issues you experienced and ensure corrective measures are put in place to safeguard against this happening again. We hope to be able to restore your confidence in us and look forward to inviting you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London some day in the future.

Best Regards
Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in courtyard suite.fantastic. Couldnt fault.from greeting coming out of taxi to sadly having to leave accomodation service bar all first class.it was our second visit and in our suite eere greeted by complimentary champagne and huge vase of red roses.new buffet breakfast was grest with no extra charge for second caffitiere of coffee or juice.all in all cannot praise enough.cannot wait to return.thankyou to all staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxurythekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear luxurythekey, thank you for the kind comments about your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our world famous Mandarin Oriental service so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London in the future and hope to see you again soon.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I still consider MO in Chiang Mai the best hotel I've visited so far, but this property is definitely not the best from the chain.
Great location just across the road from Harvey Nicks on Knightsbridge. Comfortable for transportation no matter you choose to travel by taxi or subway. A guy in English suite opening the door as you come up to it. Majestic lobby and hall. Bar Boulud is great for lunch. Main restaurant by Heston Blumenthal serves better food of course, but a little overpriced (for comparable food to my mind) and you have to book a table loooong in advance. It's not so easy to get a table even for lunch even if you stay in hotel. Rooms are good with marble bathroom and B&O plasma. Quite comfortable and nice, but better be sure you book Knightsbridge view. In general good city hotel, comfortable and luxury enough for its price. Definitely better than Dorchester or Ritz from my memories.
Above are the reasons why I stayed there twice last year, but still I do not like this hotel. Because of service. It's my personal experience. You never expect miracle from city hotels especially in a city like London, but in this case service quality is bellow average. Nothing special… Although there is something. Like on my first arrival I booked a hotel transfer from airport, but the car failed to arrive. My calls didn't give any results. Nobody knew why it was not there. Was lucky enough to get a taxi at 11 p.m. Or credit cards story. They book the amount twice first a deposit then a charge upon check-out even if you ask them to use the same amount. Deposit keeps blocked for 30 days. When it happened second time I decided to complain to the hotel and somehow money returned to account the same day. It is possible then? It was like this in many countries before. But now I think this is the last place of a kind. And lack of service appears everywhere, sometimes in arrogance, sometimes in lack of lack of help…
So probably I will return because of not so many options of comfortable stay in London, but without any joy:)

Room Tip: I would recomend booking of Knightsbridge view. It's much more enjoyable than inner court.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Alex M, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. Whilst we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our comfortable bedrooms, fantastic location and lunch in Bar Boulud, we were most disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the level of service that you received on this occasion, especially in regards to the comments made relating to the airport transfer and our credit card policy. We would like to apologise for the lapse in service quality that you appear to have experienced and agree that it is totally unacceptable. We are currently investigating this matter further and would like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) and would welcome any further comments you may have to make regarding either of these issues. Furthermore, for all future reservations please feel free to contact the Resident Manager directly who will delighted to make arrangements and who will ensure the hotel does not authorise and then take the charge on a different authorisation code. We hope to be able to restore your confidence in Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park and if you are planning a trip to London in the future we very much hope you will consider staying with us again.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for a night with wife and child. Staff were very attentive and helpful upon arrival and was swiftly taken to my room. Requested a rollaway for my 3 year old and they delivered with lightning speed. Room is very comfortable and the bed was incredible - i would say that some of the fixtures, particularly in the bathroom are looking a little tired, but then this is a historical hotel - so its hard to have one without the other. The room was a little dark - this was great for lazing in bed, although if I were to stay longer I am not sure i would ever get any work done. All in all i really liked this hotel - and the breakfast was amazing. I ate raspberries to the equivalent of $10000000 in Australia. The view from breakfast over the park was great too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear straychris, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to read that you and your family had such a wonderful experience and enjoyed our world famous Mandarin Oriental service and Edwardian elegance so much whilst here. We agree that the hotel is in a very fortunate location, where town meets country at one address, and that the view over Hyde Park is spectacular at any time of the year. We very much hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to London and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location is great and the hotel is nice. However the rooms are very small and old. I think it needs revamping. The bar is wonderful and service is great.As i mentioned location is a big plus cause it is so close to Hyde Park, Sloan Street and of course Harrods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MQ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Moaffaq E, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our attentive and discrete service and fantastic location so much. We very much hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to London and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautiful hotel with great location and service. Being able to walk behind the hotel and be in Hyde Park, while being in a great city is an amazing experience. There is a tube station next to the hotel with great shopping nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Don F, thank you for the kind comments about your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London some day in the future.

With best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#92 of 1,072 in London
427 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#69 of 1,072 in London
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#19 of 1,072 in London
266 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#206 of 1,072 in London
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#137 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Family Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £575 - £907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With bustling Knightsbridge on its doorstep and leafy Hyde Park at its rear, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park is London's most prestigious address. Blending sumptuous guestrooms with a world-leading spa and a stylish bar, it is the definitive destination for a luxury escape. With two award-winning restaurants including Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, and a new Afternoon Tea salon, The Rosebery Lounge, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park stands at the culinary centre of the capital. On 19 September 2016, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London will be embarking on an exciting restoration designed to significantly enhance the facilities of the hotel. The property will remain open throughout the 18-month renovation, which will be undertaken in two phases in order to minimise disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental London
Mandarin London
London Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing