We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”
Review of Vinopolis - CLOSED

Vinopolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, a wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough Market... With eight tasting and education zones and more than 100 wines, spirits and Champagne to taste, you are sure to find something you love at Vinopolis. Do you like crisp and dry wines or prefer more powerful and robust flavours? Chat to our experts and find out more about your own individual taste profile on our interactive machines, sampling at your leisure! Before or after the wine experience, feel free to stop by one of our five onsite bars and restaurants for a bite to eat, or visit Laithwaite's wine shop and the Whisky Exchange to pick up a bottle of your favourite find. Did you know? Vinopolis also has eight fantastic event spaces that can be hired for corporate or private use.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Brought the "middle" voucher, as there was an offer on got it for £24.
Really liked the venue, had a great atmosphere, started off with champagne, then white, then red and finished with dessert wine, loved the Vin santo,
Thought it was enough wine, didn,t feel the need to top it up.
All in all a great day out, would return for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinopolisLondon, Public Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Wine Tasting Experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    192
    97
    101
    121
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lost its sparkle”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Chose the World Cup wine tour with back and neck massage for 4 of us and the massage was the best part . I had been here some 10 years ago and had a fantastic time . It's lost it's atmosphere as all the dispensing is done by machine and the wines were of poor quality . There is very little human contact and too commercialised . If you want Laithwaites wines then this is the place to go ..... Not for me or the rest of my party .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on the Wine Experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the massage however we are disappointed that this feeling did not extend to the remainder of the experience. The machines were introduced to allow our Wine Hosts more freedom and the opportunity to spend more time with you, offering their thoughts and help where possible. Within these machines we have a selection of over 100 wines, spirits and champagnes all with retail value from £8-£100, we are sorry to hear that you didn't like this selection and will bear your comments in mind for future development. We hope that you consider visiting again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

After wanting to do wine tasting for ages my husband and I decided to book a session at vinopolis as a birthday treat. I don't know a great deal about wine and was hoping to learn all about different types of wines. Unfortunately the experience did not live up to our expectations. When you arrive you have an initial introduction on how to taste the wines which was really interesting but then you are just left to wander around the different zones trying the wines. There seemed to be little structure to this and not very much information. I was expecting more of a structured tour of the different wines with explanations about the regions, grapes etc. We left knowing little more about wine than when we arrived. It was enjoyable and a good way to spend a few hours but no different to just going in to your local pub and tasting different wines. The whole experience needs a re-think.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cfh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to Vinopolis. I do apologise that the experience was not as you expected and we are working to improve visibility of our educational elements. We also offer private guided tasting sessions, masterclasses and WSET courses for those who would like a more in depth look into tasting wine. We hope that you visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“If it ain't broke why fix it”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unless of course you want more profit. I wish we had looked at recent reviews before going to Vinopolis again. Like many others the first experience was great with personal attention. Now its a mechanical experience with credit cards and machine based service. The only good exceptions were the tasting class and the champagne bar. If you have never been before you might enjoy it but I for one will not be returning under the current format. It now seems to be aimed at Corporate outings and not individuals who enjoy wine tasting. It is certainly no longer value for money and my advice would be to seek out a wine tasting event that cares about your enjoyment or buy 4 bottle of very good wine for the price of 2 peoples admission!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts on the Wine Experience. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us and are not a fan of the enomatic machines. They were introduced in order to allow the Wine Guides more freedom within the experience and the chance to spend more time with you, providing their suggestions and advice where possible. We apologise that you feel that the experience is no longer value for money; we are always looking for ways to improve the experience based on the feedback from our customers and have taken this on board. We hope you consider returning to Vinopolis again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No longer an experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I last visited Vinopolis several years ago and had a most enjoyable evening tasting wines from around the world as well as learning about the history of wine.and discussing wine with the wine experts I recently went with my wife and we were both very disappointed.The tasting element has been changed so that it no longer seems like an experience I can do this sort of wine tasting in a wine warehouse.Who wants to stand reading about wine i can do that on the internet. The champagne we tasted, both the vintage and regular, were the worst champagnes we have ever tasted.
I suppose it is always going to be hard to visit a place after having such an enjoyable first visit, but I really do wonder why they have changed it
If you are visiting for the first time you will probably have an enjoyable, if expensive, time. If you are visiting with fond memories of a past visit you will be disappointed.Not worth the money even on their offers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank topsy779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is disappointing to hear that you were not impressed with the updates to the wine experience and the champagne that we have on offer. Whilst there are various plaques and information spread around the Wine Experience, we also have a selection of knowledgeable wine guides with a minimum industry standard WSET level 2 who are always eager to share their passion with you. We do apologise if you didn’t get to chat with one of them on this occasion. We are sorry to hear that you felt it was too expensive and will be reviewing our current offers in light of this. We hope that you consider visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinopolis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing