We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun”
Review of Science Museum

Science Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.92*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #101 of 1,616 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcoming over 3 million visitors a year, the Science Museum aims to make sense of the science that shapes our lives, inspiring visitors with iconic objects, award-winning exhibitions and incredible stories of scientific achievement. As the home of human ingenuity, the Science Museum’s world-class collection forms an enduring record of scientific, technological and medical achievements from across the globe.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

such a fun science museum when you're going museum hopping! so many things to learn and its not enough! there are also nostalgic paraphernalia's to look at. So many children and teens from schools visting. an eye opening experience i must say

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,327
    2,019
    887
    283
    146
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visited the Science Museum following several high ratings on this website. In short, we visited in August and were left somewhat disappointed by the experience. The place was busy, as expected in mid August so that itself wasn't an issue for us. Most impressed with the ground floor, several large exhibits on display which were very interesting however as you climb the levels the museum turns interactive with several computer screens on display which is a let down as anyone can log onto the internet and search for information. My view is that a museum should contain several exhibits which keeps the interest going, all we ended up doing was walking past the computer screens to the next level, to discover yet more computer screens hence we left after only an hour in the museum. Best way to describe our visit would be, high hopes from the start - left feeling disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamsarnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent fun”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Very much enjoyed it here but be aware that the cafes etc are very pricey. Free entry to the museum though and we filled the whole day here. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the hands on sections. An excellent family day out.

Helpful?
Thank LizzyC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent museum, lots to do.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited here today 21st August.
Free to enter but they do like a donation which is fine as it keeps these places going.

Very clean and spacious museum. God facilities. Toilets on every level and good cafe's.

Lots of hands on things today. Creating bridges, building electric circuits, shooting water rockets etc. spent an hour in this section but could of easily spent a lot longer.

Was not very busy so didn't have to queue to get in.

Will most certainly visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gimgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Kids Loved It”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We strolled around here from the Natural History Museum. The layout can be a little confusing at times - more than once we descended a staircase and found it wasn't taking us where we expected! The money that's been spent on this place really shows and it's a huge assault on the senses - almost entirely in a good way. I'd like to go for a repeat visit in the near future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chambta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Science Museum also viewed

 

Been to Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing