We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more fun than expected, perfect amount of frightening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The London Dungeon

The London Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.31*
and up
London Dungeon Entrance Ticket
Ranked #23 of 337 Fun & Games in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The London Dungeon, one of the UK’s most iconic attractions, has reinvented itself now as a bigger, bolder and better attraction in the vast underground vaults of County Hall on the South Bank, next to the EDF Energy London Eye. The all new multi-million pound attraction will bring 1000 years of authentic London history to life with a unique mix of talented live actors performing in scarily funny shows, stunning special effects, edge of your seat surprises and two exciting thrill rides. Guests will embark on a journey through a dramatic London landscape going back ten centuries. They will be guided through ghastly plague-ridden streets, witness Guy Fawkes’ dramatic plot to blow up Parliament, travel back to Jack the Ripper’s bleak Whitechapel and walk beneath London’s foreboding medieval gates. There are new shows and rides which are more dramatic and surprising than ever, new funnier scripts, more theatrical costumes and styling and more talented actors to play even more colourful villains and blaggards.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Much more fun than expected, perfect amount of frightening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, all of us in a party of four want to praise "Mrs.Lovett" and her hilarious puns which it seems were lost on some not familiar with the story!the queues were frustrating, half an hour pre booked, but once inside we were constantly kept entertained by brilliant actors, scary rides and gruesome details.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,011
    2,183
    1,169
    593
    508
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Brilliant actors, very scary ride during experience! Total good fun and very informative! A little perturbing "queuing to get a time" to then re queue for the actual tour, but expected I suppose at peak season in the capital.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for your review & thinking we're a CUT above the rest! ~ Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrid...and not in the way you're paying for”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was a terrible experience. I want my money back, along with the hour and a half of my life I wasted.

Some travel guides say the "Penny Dreadful" atmosphere is gone. It isn't. It's dreadful, all right, but with the original meaning that it was a poorly conceived, poorly executed attempt at horror mixed with history.

Ways in which it sucked:
(a) It wasn't scary, even for the kids.
(b) They put people on the spot and get them into cages and other compromised positions. This happened to my travel partner and she was VERY upset by the confining experience. I know it's supposed to be for fun, but it just wasn't.
(c) The place stinks. It's probably meant to make it more realistic, but it just stunk.
(d) Boring. Most of the time you're just standing around while actors tell you about the Gunpowder Plot, or sausages made with crap, or whatever.
(e) Poorly acted. I feel sorry for the young people who are probably trying to make it as actors and actresses, but only one of them (she played a barkeeper) did a half decent job.

In short, this isn't an exhibit where you walk through at your own pace. It's a forced confinement play, poorly written and poorly acted, with still sets.

You'll be screaming alright... screaming to get out so you can have fun elsewhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Waste of money , typical tourist trap , go to the original dungeons much better. Its meant to be frightening not at all even for the kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

You should definitely take some time out when in London to visit The London Dungeons, the experience is amazing and you will learn so much from a fun, interesting history lesson! I know to enjoy this little experience it can be quite expensive so you should look for deals on Groupon etc.to make it much cheaper for the group! The part I enjoyed most about visiting The London Dungeons was the ride... it is a very unexpected drop so for those who are quite afraid of heights or have the fear of falling, I advise not to go on it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thanks for thinking we're a CUT above the rest! ~ Sweeney T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The London Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing