We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary trip”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We have just returned from the president hotel. After reading some of the reviews i was a little worried about going. How wrong can you be . The staff on arrival were helpfull and friendly, we arrived at 9am to leave our case but were given a room straight away.The room was clean and the en suite spotless There were plenty of drawers and wardrobe space and a hairdrier in the room. we had a meal in the hotel before going to a show. The staff were very good and the carvery was lovely . The meat was not dried out or over cooked. Everything else was hot and well presented.It was very good value for money and i would recommend anyone to give it a go. After the dinner the porter got us a cab to take us out nothing was too much trouble.When we came down to breakfast there was a huge choice. The full english was very nice and there was a huge choice. It was hot and set us up for the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done to all the staff and thank you for a lovely stay and making us feel very welcome..

Room Tip: Eat in the hotel for a good meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolandgeoff_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,198 - 2,204 of 3,663 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

Clean room, bed & bathroom. Pillows good. Quiet room at the rear of hotel. Breakfast ok, busy, for a budget hotel its good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillonholsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

The main reason I´ve picked it was its location. It takes you only 15 mins on foot to reach Leicester square. Upon arrival the impressions were not so good; dated rooms and not so large in size. But it all got better as the days were passing by. Surely, I´ve been to better hotels in the same category, but way more expencive. The rooms are clean, carpets recently changed, free wifi (ask fot the password at the reception), a mere 2 min walk to the tube station. If you do not want to be disturbed by housekeeping personnel, they will give you a call around 1 pm to check if you would still need your room to be cleaned. By default, the breakfast is continental, very basic and somewhat dull, but sufficient to start the morning. Best of all - windows can open, which doesn´t seem to be the case with many hotels in London. All in all, if I would find the same price of 80 eur for a double room incl. breakfast, I would pick it up again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pero305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Seven of us stayed in 3 rooms for 4 nights in late March. We are seasoned travelers who enjoy good hotels, but after a week's tour in Ireland we were looking to save money. We were able to check-in upon arrival at 12pm. The rooms were clean and the beds fine. The shower was the strongest I'd ever had! The breakfast buffet was equal to the fine hotels we stayed at in Ireland. Our room had always been cleaned when we returned from breakfast. The staff was very friendly. I imagine it might be hot in summer (no AC), but we were very comfortable. Good value for a great price (Keep in mind it's a budget hotel, not luxury - 3 bath towels per double, soap, no other toiletries).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike20260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at the President for seven nights. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was adequate. The staff was helpful. The room was clean, although it could use some redecorating. We found a great deal through British Air, and continental breakfast was included. For an extra 4.50 pounds each, we could buy the hot English Breakfast. No complaints about either. The location is about a block from the Russell Square tube station.
One thing: there were only bath towels provided in the bathroom, and just bars of soap. No facecloths, hand towels, and no shampoos and such. If you like a facecloth, be sure to bring one.
We had a room in the front of the hotel, and it was noisy up until about midnight. We were so tired from sightseeing that it didn't matter to us.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hilltowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, bed and breakfast, hotel rooms are small but really clean, the maid who cleaned our room changed the sheets the whole time we were there.
Evening meal was a carvery which was excellent, also the breakfast in the morning was a self service buffet which was great. the hotel is also a street away from the tube, which myself and my husband got on through the stay of our break it only cost 13 pounds for both to ride the tube all day,.
Would regommend this hotel to any one on a short break to london really comfy hotel and the staff are really frendly.......

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This is my 2nd visit in as mant weeks the first was bad (see last review) but the doors are still slaming and this time children were allowed to play football and ball games as well as running up and down banging into your door while you are trying to sleep on the 6th floor. If you want a good nights sleep do not stay here. (Try its partner hotel the Bedford its alot better) one thing check in was very good

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHIL-N-D-JIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,077 in London
2,098 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#573 of 1,077 in London
2,697 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#879 of 1,077 in London
8,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#390 of 1,077 in London
2,181 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#475 of 1,077 in London
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £79 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing