We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suitable for our needs”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a 3 night stay, and although the beds were quite firm,the rooms were very clean and warm.We had an adjoining twin room for our daughters with a doorway between us if we needed access.Needed a little bit of updating. Fantastic lobby area and very friendly staff. You get the use of the facilities in the adjoining hotel, and for reasonable prices have access to a shop, chinese herbalist, hairdresser, etc. We found it a great location for the underground (buy a day ticket for all areas access), and only 6 minutes taxi ride from Shaftsbury Avenue, (at midnight cost was £8.90).We travelled to Harry Potter World studios while here and took the "Muggle Express" for the grand total of £20 from Euston Station, fantastic day out. All in all a great stay and I would use this hotel again. No young children facilities as such but wear them out in London, they will sleep well.

Room Tip: we were on the fourth floor and it was surprisingly quiet open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 3,708 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel which is in a very good central location for exploring London. Russell Square tube station is less than five minutes walk away and makes journeys around the capital very easy. The rooms are clean and of a good size although the facilities are a bit limited (one tea and one coffee per person) and no hairdryer (have to hire one for a deposit). Breakfast was self service with a wide choice of food (coffee and tea served by waiter). Was a bit put off when we saw the cook replenishing the hot counter with freshly cooked food that he mixed in with food cooked earlier. All in all an average and slightly expensive hotel considering other hotel groups charge about half for the same services and facilities. We assume that the higher cost is due to the location being so central.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guglielmo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel part of the imperial hotel group, which have a number in the area is good value for money in a central location, close to russel sq underground and wakking distsnce to the west end/kings cross and Euston station. Rooms are clean with the usual facilities, tea/coffee hair dryer and some with trouser press, only down side is an iron and board. Well worth staying if for business and ouall day. British museum and great ormond street hospital close buy.

Room Tip: Choose the court yard guiter from traffic, no swimming pool but could not remove once clicked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a nice stay 2 night stay at the president through superbreak, wasn't particularly cheep but London isn't £560 for four people. The hotel was fine. It's a very basic hotel. No toiletries in room, no hairdryer (you can hire one for a £10 deposit). We were given an evening meal with the package which we could choose to eat in a choice of sister hotels. We chose the Bedford which it just round the corner on Southampton Row. Very basic meal but was ok. The only thing I would say is that they are not at all child friendly and we were made to feel very uncomfortable being in there yet it did say families welcome. We had our meal and quickly left to go somewhere that didn't mind children being there. Breakfast was fine. Sausages were cheep and tinned tomatoes just disintegrated, no mushrooms or hash browns. The location of the hotel is good, everything is pretty much within walking distance. Overall the hotel is good, you don't go to London to sit in your room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel and wondered for the price what to expect.... The hotel is a great 3 star choice. The room was clean, nice bedding, small flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities etc... Yes the towels were a bit thin, shower no bath, bathroom amenities were soap!!! But who cares for the price, breakfast was in the imperial hotel which us linked and the night and day bar had excellent prices as London goes. Would 100% stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent weekend here in February. Great location. Just 10 minute walk from Euston or £6 in a taxi. Dont try to use tube. Check in smooth with polite, helpful staff. Rooms small but serve there purpose. Had to queue 10 minutes for an average breakfast. Best part of hotel is location

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Spent a short break in this hotel and despite being anxious it turned out well .
The hotel is close to Russell Square tube and is well served by many buses which take you to all the attractions .I booked the break through Superbreak and an evening meal and a cruise on the Thames were included .
The room was clean , comfortable and had plenty of storage . The bathroom included a shower and a bath but remember to take your own toiletries !
The breakfast was adequate .The evening meal is a carvery and is good value for money .The chefs are friendly as are the restaurant staff .
Paul ,the concierge is excellent .He has in depth knowledge of the city .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,081 in London
2,117 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#561 of 1,081 in London
2,736 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#884 of 1,081 in London
8,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#402 of 1,081 in London
2,246 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#456 of 1,081 in London
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £88 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Atrapalo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing