We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and great location for tourist class hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #517 of 1,088 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and great location for tourist class hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed there for a week in early April. I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the not so pleasant reviews but was very pleased with our stay. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny but everything was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast (included in our pkg) was enough to start the day- tea, toast, cereal and fruit. I would skip paying for the full breakfast - it was basically cafeteria quality and you could do better elsewhere. Couldn't beat being 1 block to the Russell Square tube stop. Had an issue with the heat when we got to room; could not turn it off. After a call to the front desk, someone was there within 5 mins to adjust it. Note to hotel: adding a hook on the back of the bathroom door and a small shelf on the wall would be small be major improvements in the bathroom. And adding a folding suitcase stand/holder to the room would also be beneficial. Have already recommended this tourist class hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeofox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    1,285
    1,108
    349
    193
See reviews for
610
1,461
252
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have been staying at the President for many years and it never fails to satisfy. The recent refurbishment was a bit overdue but now it's just great. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless, and the breakfast superb.

A great bargain hotel in a central location with easy access to the West End and Russell Square tube two minutes away.

Sure there are plenty of better (and very much more expensive) hotels in London but I'd recommend the President any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelWinnersGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here for theatre break. Staff were helpful and friendly, food was enjoyable (only had breakfast), Atrium bar was lovely, quiet and relaxing. Only issue we had was the bed was hard (that's personal preference). Really close to Russell Square tube station which after a long day was beneficial to our feet. Other than bed had brill time

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here last weekend on a theatre break. The décor from outside is very shabby & the lobby is very dated - however, our room was recently refurbished (7th floor) and was nice enough. The room had very nice views across London.

The lift (which was exclusively for the 7th floor) was pretty shabby.

Our breakfast was was VERY average. The waiters who buzzed around were rude & unfriendly. You can see they have recently updated the breakfast area to a nice standard - just a shame that the food & service wasn't as good.

Room Tip: 7th floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel 15th April for one night and as far as London Hotels go, this is good value for money. Great location, friendly staff and good full English breakfast. We did not have to wait for a table and was served promptly. Yes, it may be a bit tired looking but I understand this hotel is being re-furbished. If you are just wanting somewhere clean to sleep for a couple of nights to visit the sights or theatres in London, this is certainly worth the money. We will definitely return here next time we are in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casalecchio di Reno, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I am here on a business trip and i find this hotel not so comfortable.
Internet is free but slow and not guaranteed in the room. No pay option available. No iron in the room. Only soap, no shampoo. No iron iron in the room.
Maybe for turism if there is a discuonted price. The area aruon here is nice and close to eustone station.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Spent last weekend at this hotel on a theatre break. The hotel was ok, room on the 6th floor quite small but looked
like it had been recently refurbished. Breakfast was very busy with people waiting a long time to be allocated a table, food ok but chef needs to learn how to cook eggs - both fried and poached eggs were brick hard.
We usually visit London twice year and use a hotel in Lambeth but due to the marathon taking place our first choice hotel was not available so this hotel was second choice, I am afraid it will not become our first choice hotel for future visits to london. Staff were not very friendly and found the whole place quite impersonal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #517 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing