We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #507 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with breakfast on 6th floor ,room was small but comfy/clean and had been recently refurbished,all staff were very helpfull and polite,breakfast was self service with reasonable choice,only comment was the toast and the bacon could do with browning a bit more!
Will go back there and recommend to others ,good value with Super Break including the train fare...and its central for all the sights,bus stops outside hotel and tube just round the corner..What more could you want .

Room Tip: Room above the entrance,on side street was very quiet, no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NIVRAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 3,659 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a visit to Harry potter studios and a day shopping in London. Was on the highest floor and had to use a slow service elevator separate from the rest of the hotel but room seemed newly renovated. Was very small but we didn't mind. Nice comfortable bed, clean room and nice bathroom perfect for an overnight stay. Hotel was perfectly located a 1 min walk from the tube but on a quiet square so no disturbance. Breakfast was included but we chose to eat out to make the most of our trip so can't comment.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leisha93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although it was situated in a convenient place, the corridors and rooms are in need of a complete over hall. When we went for breakfast we were greeted by the person in charge of the breakfast sitting and immediately offered an upgrade paying an extra £10 from continental to English breakfast which we refused. We were sent to the end of the room were we only had the choice of two different cereals and toasts which were already on a counter under an electric overhead heater to keep them warm. The heater never worked and toasts were slightly warm and dehydrated. On a plate at each table there was only butter and jam and nothing else to choose from. The toast tasted of raw dough and the coffee was served slightly warm. I called the waiter who insisted that the coffee was hot. There was only cold milk for the tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mesod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was here enroute to Europe for vacation. Stayed here for 3 nights.

The hotel is part of the Imperial Hotel, located along Russell Street, with its counterpart hotels (Imperial, Bedford, Royal National) all within 5-mins walking distance. Its location is central and superb, about 1min walk to the Russell Square Tube Station, 5min walk to the Brunswick Mall (where many eateries, cafes, fashion and retail shops and a supermarket Waitrose are located).

The hotel lobby is brightly lighted and spacious (with 4 lifts) and checkin service was prompt as staff was efficient and helpful in giving us direction to the destinations we planned to visit. Complimentary breakfast and 3-course dinner were offered as part of our booking. The best thing was that we could choose any restaurant (dinner) we would like to have besides the one at the hotel, among its group of hotels. Isn't that great? In fact, we did try out at other restaurants too!

Our room was spacious, neat and clean, and offered us a good view of the city as we were staying on the 6th floor. The toilet was spacious too with bathtub. The bed was big and comfortable and we did have good quality sleep.

Both the breakfast and dinner (though it stated to be a 3-course dinner but actually its more like a semi-buffet style where you could get additional food items offered at the counters). Spread were generous and quite a number of food items were available like steak, lamb, chicken, grilled and salmon fish, besides salads and greens, desserts like cakes and pastries and various fruit juices. Servers were generally polite and efficient in refilling our coffee and iced water.

Areas of improvement. Free wifi is only available at the hotel lobby and so many people are almost crowding there to use it and speed is slow.

We found this hotel pleasant and wonderful and felt that we have made a right and wise choice to switch to this hotel from the one offered by our agency as that hotel is super packed with tourists (we went there to observe).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZfyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the fifth time I have stayed at the President Hotel. My single room was small but was clean and had everything I needed: shower, lots of drawer space, kettle, coffee. Since I was on the first floor, the WiFi from the lobby reached my room so I didn't have to sit in the lobby to send my messages. That was a bonus! The President is within walking distance of the British Museum and several theatres. The Russell Square tube stop is just around the corner and busses are close by. The continental breakfast is adequate and there was always plenty of seating since I always went fairly early.

Room Tip: My first floor room had NO view but was quiet and the WiFi reached it from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank backnbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The President Hotel in London’s Russell Square has been undergoing some serious remodeling. In the two years since we last stayed there. Good, (and much needed) things have been happening. The rooms are undergoing a complete update; featuring new beds, new bedding, new drapes, new furniture and tasteful wall decorations. It is quite a change from the old days when the head house keeper had to be located to borrow a hair dryer; the dryers are now in the newly remodeled rooms.

The remodeling is not yet complete, but apparently a significant number of rooms have been finished.

The staff seems to have a new attitude. Good service seems to have crept upon the scene. The housekeeping staff is friendly and very efficient. The clerks and bellmen are pleasant and eager to help. While the dining room still has the old menu, the new manager is friendly, helpful and makes it a pleasure to come down to breakfast each day.

When I reviewed this hotel several years ago I mentioned the outstanding bellman Glenn Hynes. Glenn is still on the job with his friendly and professional attitude and his high level of assistance and his knowledge of all things London.

On past visits, the most one could say about the President Hotel was its excellent location, now there is so much more, it is becoming a pleasant hotel with a great location and a staff in touch with the guests needs and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eurofoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent an enjoyable 3 nights here it is in a perfect location for tourists to enjoy london it would have been great to have a room with air con but all you need to do is open the window.room was spotless and comfy breakfast good.would use this hotel again.24 hour tesco just across the road from hotel lots of places to eat and a tube station a stones throw away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glensmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
2,093 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#574 of 1,078 in London
2,693 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#879 of 1,078 in London
8,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#393 of 1,078 in London
2,181 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#472 of 1,078 in London
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Superbreak UK and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing