We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #517 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the President for a week in July, 2014. If this is the President, then it should be impeached! Although the lobby is air conditioned, the rooms are not and were as comfortable as a brick oven. The bed was as hard as a rock, the towels were so thin that you could see through them, the room, hallways and elevators were aged and not well aged at that. The man in charge of the breakfast room, a Mr. Islam had all the warmth and charm of a Nazi. The continental breakfast was terrible and the full breakfast was way over priced. They would not change the table linens so it was rather unpleasant dining on dirty, stained linens, (unless you got there first thing in the morning). We would have moved after the first day but we had pre paided and it would have been a hassle to get a refund. DO NOT stay here unless you have masochistic tendencies.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    1,285
    1,108
    349
    193
See reviews for
610
1,461
252
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great location, clean hotel, rooms basic and in need of bit of updating, no air conditioning so this weekend was hard to deal with. breakfast nice and staff very helpful and friendly. I have been to this hotel before and would go again but not in the hot weather due to there being no air conditioning as it was too noisy to have the windows wide open all night.

Room Tip: It's ok if the weather is cool but if its hot there is no air con so it does become noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Everything about the hotel - both the looks and service was very reminiscent of the 1970's. From the metal framed secondary double-glazed windows and concrete exterior to the canteen style "restaurant" it was difficult to see any progress. However, it seemed very popular and was absolutely packed when were were there for a weekend break in London (be aware of big queues for breakfast.)

The double room we booked was clean and we were given a location away from the main road as we had asked for a quiet room. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean and crisp. However the pillows were a little flat and the bathroom towels, although clean, were small and in need of replacement. The room itself was a good size, but had no air conditioning (not even an apparent extract in the bathroom) something I would expect as standard in a large Central London hotel. The shower over the bath was very powerful, but if you need a hair dryer, you will need to go to the Housekeeper's office on the first floor to borrow one (for a £10 refundable deposit!!!!!)

Other facilities included tea-making equipment but this was limited to just one tea bag each per day. I think that's a bit stingy! Wifi was a bit patchy throughout the hotel.

Hotels in Central London are not cheap, but this one can probably be considered as a relative budget option. From that perspective, it is worth considering providing you are aware what to expect. It has a good location for both the British Museum and "Theatreland".

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from a Theatre break weekend. We chose this hotel and were optimistic given some of the most recent reviews.
Unfortunately this was short lived. £18 for parking for 24 hours was about the only good point but it all sort of deteriorated from there.
I understand some of the rooms have recently been updated, we were not fortunate to get one of these. Our first floor room was tidy but not clean. It was a very tired looking room which could really benefit from a revamp.
We spotted quite a few cobwebs at various locations in the room which would indicate to me that dusting doesn't seem to high on the agenda.
The shower mechanism was arguably the worst I have ever come across. You would need really long arms to reach the toilet roll from the loo where it had been positioned. Also lots of additional silicon had been applied to the shower perimeter which looked really awful. It looked like Stevie Wonder had had a go at putting it on!
No AC in the room which meant we had to keep the window open and the street noise at times was loud.
In the morning around 10:00am there was a loads of door slamming around the adjacent rooms which I am of the opinion was the cleaning staff. Not ideal if you were not checking out that day.
Breakfast came in the form of a buffet which was not nice. Very tight seating and not at all pleasant experience. We would have been better going up the road.
Granted they need to cater for a lot of people but so do the cruise ships we have been on and they knock the spots off of this.
The only saving grace about the hotel is its locality to the West End. Yes its only a 3 star but a very ordinary one at that.
Would I use this hotel again? Not the hotel but the car park I would.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wansbrough2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The reception staff were helpful and nice, but the hotel is a poor 3 Star, rooms tatty and bleak. Went and had breakfast in a near by cafe, breakfast in hotel was brutal. A pack em in and get them out hotel, only thing going for it is location. Was quoted 64 quid for a taxi to Heathrow at reception, rang a firm direct and got it for 42 quid. Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We picked this hotel for it's location and because the breakfast was included. LOVED the location as we are museum buffs and we could spend as much time as we wanted at the British Museum as it was just around the corner. Nice leafy neighbourhood with parks and restaurants close by. Within a few minutes were tube stations so you could get anywhere in London. The rooms were fine (not expecting 5 star) but the staff were very professional and friendly (5 stars here). Breakfast was quite English and yummy! Thai place down the street is excellent. We would definitely go back to this hotel again when staying in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2go2anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was bad except the location. The breakfast was very poor quality. Also the hotel does not provide wi-fi in the rooms. The beds were very uncomfortable. Generally i am very dissapointed from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReviewerCy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #517 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing