We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and poor for adults”

London Transport Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.19*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #153 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum whisks you on a journey of London's transportation system since 1800, through fascinating and colorful displays, bus and tube simulators and many family-friendly interactive games and activities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Expensive and poor for adults”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Really not worth the entrance line up or fee - not one I would recommend unless you had children. I'm sure kids would find it interesting and have lots to do - at best I found it poor, but now I've been then I've no need to go back!
Many more better things to do in London.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MuffinManMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    741
    281
    68
    52
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Been meaning to visit for years..”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Been meaning to visit here for years now and finally went in yesterday. We had 2 for 1 with the Days out London train tickets offer which definitely helped, for two of us I think £15 each in total would be a lot although it is central London, but a lot of the other museums are free so it is quite pricey in that way. for the train 2 for 1 you need to be travelling on the day you visit. But you still get one of the tickets valid for a year so pretty good value for money really.

It was quiet when we were there apart from a primary school group. You are guided around in date order starting in the 19th century on the second floor. I would say that as you move down floors and further into the present the route you are meant to take is not exactly clear, maybe could do with some arrows on the floor or something as sometimes we went the wrong way.

as a bit of a London transport geek it had some really fascinating stuff, best experience would have to be the tube simulator where you can drive a tube! and sitting in the drivers cab of a London bus. The shop is also excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greengal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I came here alone hoping to learn about how the tube was built and developed. The museum is comprehensive, starting with exhibits about ferrys and horse-drawn carraiges, and going on to modern trains and buses. The exhibits are not too text-heavy, so you can get through the museum in a couple of hours, though I didn't see everything in detail. And there are enough old trains and trolleys to climb into! There was a bit of a line, and be warned there are a lot of children here, so it is not a "quiet" place. :-) Tickets last for a whole year, and the gift shop is decent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall, UK
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Came here whilst wife and daughter were occupied with another activity. Walked straight in. Price was ok as I had a concession. Headed straight to the cafe by the trams for a sandwich and coffee. Reasonably priced for London. Made my way to the start of the exhibition on the top floor. A lot of history about London and how the town grew. Exhibits for children looked quite good. Spent about 90 minutes looking around. Well worth a visit. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyswalsall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was museum that i had always wanted to visit and I was amazed how it took you on a journey through how London's transport has grown and changed in time. The museum had a really cool arty feel to it and there where simulators real life vehicles for kids to sit in and try out !
For a adult if you pay £15 you get entry for the whole year!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lukeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Transport Museum also viewed

 

Been to London Transport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing