We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where are the Bathroom?”
Review of Curzon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curzon House Hotel
Ranked #481 of 846 Speciality Lodging in London
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“where are the Bathroom?”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was a big surprise when I discovered that they were no bathroom in the room. Otherwise, Bed was comfortable and room quiet. Personnel was welcoming. Hotel close to the train station with all trains.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffroy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    41
    27
    39
See reviews for
25
40
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Pros:
It is not a 5 star hotel.But this hotel is great value for money. Still in first tube zone, but in a quiet district. By the way this district was awesome, very wealthy, really smart choice. 10 minutes walk from hydepark, 30 minutes from Buckingham Palace. Well equipped kitchen.
Cons:
Poor breakfast, only a toast and jam. At night kitchen was closed, i really dont know why.
I had to tighten screws in the lock. Rare hot water in shower. No lift.
Conclusion:
For 3 night we paid almost 200 pounds for 2 people. If i go to London next time, i chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luk_P2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed at Curzon house three times. Twice in 2001, during my first trip home to England. I found the place online and booked an accommodation. I stayed in a room that was set up for 4 people but transferred to a different room which was on ground floor after the first night. The hotel was spare on resources and run by a group of kids lived next door in a flat owned by the owner of the Curzon house. They were all friendly though a bit toward unprofessional. Breakfast constituted corn flakes and milk or toast which you made for yourself. The kitchen was available if you wanted to cook for yourself too. There's a TV/entertainment room in the basement adjacent to the dining room. It's supposed to be closed at 10pm but often runs all night. Staying on first floor and in the rooms in the basement puts you close to this so be warned to bring ear plugs if you're near the TV room.

The price of accommodations at this place are the lowest you're going to find in most of London, but don't expect any frills. I read a review where someone complained that there was no porter. Curzon House was once a youth hostel and has maintained an operating dynamic close to that premise. It is cheap, friendly and easy to get to. It's three whole blocks off Gloucester Road Tube station. It's directly accessible from Heathrow through Piccadilly line.

It is not for those people who expect luxury accommodations. It is for people on a budget. You will get out of Curzon what you put into it. It is, however quiet, friendly, easy to get to and away from. There is a Sansbury much like Safeway about two blocks from the hotel that is great if you are eating on a budget. Remember trollies or shopping carts in England unlock all four wheels and can drive you spare if you're not paying attention.

Also a point of consideration, Curzon house is a dormer hotel which means you share a room with several strangers and your bathroom might be out in the hallway. I experienced something similar to this in San Francisco off Larkin street at the Larkin Street Hotel.

Personally I enjoyed Curzon House Hotel and made a point of visiting it again last year when I came back from France before returning to America. Please bare in mind my experience with this hotel spans a decade. The hotel is now slightly higher in services and price than when I first went but otherwise remains much the same. I didn't expect luxury accommodations I expected to find a place that would keep me warm and dry at night while I explored London and the countryside. If you want luxury I would suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: BE WARNED, there are no lifts in the building and their are five floors above ground as well as one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick_W001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

On arrival we we found the receptionist very charming and helpful, the hotel itself is very much in need of an up date, the entrance is very dated and untidy, refurbishments were taking place while we were staying, this did not cause us any inconvienience but had to step over the workmens tools and packs of wall tiles were stacked up in the entrance which really shouldnt have been there, the room was very old fashioned but the bathroom was beautiful, these were clearly part of the hotels refurb, which is long overdue, had a nice stay, comfy bed , good breakfast, polite and friendly staff, and cheap. All in all a very very basic hotel, would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

***WORSE HOTEL IN HISTORY***

There is no porter on site, the staff don't even stay on the premises soon as the reception is closed, in a emergency you had to ring a mobile number!

This hotel (the word hotel there is over used for this place) I think a tramp can live in better conditions. This place should NOT be open. All visitors need to keep away.

We were in the basement room, we had no sleep whatsoever as a couple of guests decided they wanted to stay in the sitting area for all guests till 4am talking really loudly/screaming/laughing! We then couldn't sleep because of the live cockroach roaming about (pictures to prove) And this is the area where you would eat your breakfast in the mornings!!!
Instead of replacing the broken blind, they have put scrunched up napkin paper to fill in the gap. A very dangerous open end cable tied up on ceiling of bathroom.
All walls damp and mouldy. The beds need to be tipped away, the springs are non-existent, full of bed bugs as my friends back is covered in bite marks. Refused to sleep with there duvets as they smelt dirty (dark patterned 80's duvet covers, cover up all multiple of sins) so we suffered being cold with just the one white sheet.

We stayed because we had no where else to go, my friend was heavily pregnant and we wanted to sleep! To which we didn't even get. We left the hotel at 6:30am as couldn't stand it much longer.

Something better will come up, be patient and save your money.

Room Tip: Save your money and go else where. Wish I booked into a hostel as they looked a lot cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here for one evening when having a night out in South Kensington. Although the location is great, the hotel itself is shocking and probably the worst place I have ever stayed. It was like a hostel or children's home. Scruffy, worn, smelly, outdated and generally very very unpleasant. My husband wanted to sleep in his clothes it was so bad. Check out was at 10am on a Sunday which was pretty inconvenient, however we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fern_Blue_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My room was for one person but contained 4 beds. It was large and cold. The receptionist when I checked in told me to leave the portable heating on all day even when I was out the room so it would heat up the room. The second day of my stay i at least had a warmish room, however whenever I left the heating on afterwards the cleaner turned it off and I would return to a freezing room again. Despite asking the eastern european cleaner, who spoke no english, to keep it on I returned each day to it switched off. The room wasn't the cleanest but the bed was comfortable. The breakfast room was small and cluttered and the choice not the greatest but for the price in London I have had worse.

Room Tip: make sure you ar not in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#506 of 1,068 in London
403 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#734 of 1,068 in London
352 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,068 in London
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,068 in London
416 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#521 of 1,068 in London
435 reviews
Earls Court
Saint James Backpackers
Saint James Backpackers
#52 of 846 in London
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curzon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curzon House Hotel

Property: Curzon House Hotel
Address: 58 Courtfield Gardens, London SW5 0NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 846 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Curzon House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Curzon House HotelA typical english hotel, in the heart of central London.5 mn walk to Gloucester Road or Earl's Court Underground Station.Situated in the middle of a quiet area, in front of a gothic church and park.Recently refurbished, all facilities and amenities including We are all new here and we try to raise the place up!We will be happy to welcome you to our Hotel!For a short or long stay, we offer a continental breakfast every morning, free Wi-Fi access in to the kitchen and the TV Room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelsClick so you can book your Curzon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing