We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great London location and decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Ranked #603 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great London location and decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is located in the Pimlico area near the underground stop of the same name. Advanced purchased pricing is good. There are five floor in this small hotel which contains a small bar and provides a free breakfast. My wife and I have stayed here approx 10 times and have enjoyed them all. The hotel does not have AC so avoid the upper floor (5th) in the dead of summer. All front office staff were friendly and Mr. Ahab was especially helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdindio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Reception Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Mdindio,

It’s fantastic to read your review, especially coming from a regular guest. Many thanks for your continuous support! We will definitely pass on the comments to Ehab and the rest of the team.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Nerea Gonzalez
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    212
    195
    83
    36
See reviews for
135
159
45
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I gave this hotel a 2 because of the lovely staff. The gentleman who welcomed me to the hotel was really friendly and I was asked how my stay was when I left. When I relayed my complaints I did receive an apology which was nice.
My room was reasonably small and on the first floor. My room was clean and I do like having a choice of pillows.
I had asked for a room with a desk as I knew I'd have to work in the evening, but it was very close to the bed, in fact it took a bit of twisting to get the chair out. It was useable but not very comfortable.
The air temperature was about 20 degrees outside but inside my room I could have been in the tropics. I'm not particularly sensitive to heat but this really got to me. I was provided with a fan, thank you for that, it did make the room cooler and bearable when it was on. I did initially turn it off when I tried to sleep because it was quite noisy but I soon learnt that the noise of the fan was the least of my worries. I felt like my neighboring guests were actually in my room, the insulation is that bad. The noise of the relatively busy road outside was incredibly loud. I didn't get very much sleep at all which was quite stressful as I was there for business reasons and really needed to be able to concentrate the day afterwards. If I had been able to sleep I may have given the hotel a 3.
The shower gel dispenser in the shower also did not work.
The breakfast was like others have said pretty standard Holiday Inn fare and quite tasty.
A point to note would be that there isn't a restaurant on site, however there are lots to choose from in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel is you want to get any sleep. I'd also ask for one on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uluru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Uluru_12,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to he room accommodations, noise from our other guests and hotel amenities which fell below your expectations. I have shared the information with the appropriate departments so we can better accommodate our guests and their needs.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

coleshill
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

5 minute walk from Pimlico tube station. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely room.. Complimentary breakfast (hot and cold) reasonably priced for such a great location, set in Georgian style terrace. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Reception Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Debra S,

Thank you for choosing us for your London break, we are very pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and that you liked the location and the room.

It would be fantastic to have you back next time you visit London!

Kind Regards,

Nerea Gonzalez
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, close to Victoria Station, a main underground stop which is also close to Buckingham Palace. The hotel rooms are very small, but clean. It was difficult to find a spot to open up your luggage! The breakfast was pretty good - similar to what you might find in a Holiday Inn Express in the U.S. If you are watching your budget and don't plan to spend much time in your room, this is a fine hotel. Otherwise, you might want to spend a little more money for a larger hotel room. They were very nice and accommodating when we asked for extra internet time (you only receive about an hour for free on one electronic item only).

Room Tip: Our room and a friend's room were both located in the front - street side. It was a little loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneet449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Reception Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Renee T,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that you found our location well connected and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Regarding the room size, please note that we do have larger family rooms which you can reserve in advance, as they are normally the first to be booked. Next time please do not hesitate to request a room at the back, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Nerea Gonzalez

Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boynton beach
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent 2 days in London after a 12 day cruise & stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Victoria. The staff is super friendly which somewhat makes up for the other problems. The rooms are quite small which presents a problem for your luggage-which upon check in they offer to keep locked up downstairs. We were on the 4th floor and the bathroom pressure was extremely poor. The area is interesting in that I think that all the hotels on this block & the next were private homes 80+ years ago & are now small hotels. It is further from the metro (underground) than we were told, but doable for people that like to walk. We took cabs to the main street after we saw the distance & it cost 5-6 pounds-we were 4 people so it was cheaper than using the bus. The room includes breakfast which is a convenience

Room Tip: I saw 3 rooms-they ranged from small to smaller. It appeared that the rooms that faced the back were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniemae835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Reception Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear BonnieMae835,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us during your trip to London. It’s great that you found our Pimlico neighborhood interesting and the staff friendly, I will pass on your comments.

As for the room size, we do have larger family rooms, though they are to be booked in advance as they are normally the first to be reserved.

We would be delighted to have the chance to welcome you back next time you visit London!

Kind Regards,

Nerea Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location, it was booked via work, I suppose I should have checked, because I assumed I could eat there as I had travelled on my own. I was really disappointed that they don't have a restaurant, so settled for sandwiches from the local Tesco. The breakfast was as to be expected, a small selection of cooked food but plenty of cereal etc. The room was surprisingly small for a double, however, the bathroom was a good size and for me on my own it was fine. The staff were really helpful, the room, hotel and restaurant were really clean, at £165 for one night you are definitely paying for the location, but there are no complaints from me about the service I received

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelleandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Michelle and Dave,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. It is thanks to your feedback that we can reflect on our services and improve.

It’s great to read that you found the staff very helpful and the room and restaurant very clean. Unfortunately, we do not have a restaurant, however, next time please ask in reception and we will point you in the right direction as there are plenty of great choices for dinner within a 5 minutes walk.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again,

Ehab Ezeldin
Senior GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We weren't expecting an amazing hotel based on previous reviews, and chose the hotel based primarily upon location for our 2 night stay for a wedding. We literally just expected a clean room to have a decent sleep in, but I'm sorry to say that the hotel failed to deliver on this.

Firstly, the positive- The rooms are small but we were expecting this for the price in central London. It was fine to use for a weekend. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. So far so good. Breakfast was fairly standard Holiday Inn Express fare.

However, everything else was terrible! Before reading this, please bear in mind that our room was in the allegedly 'quieter' back of thd hotel...

Night one: the room was boiling so we opened the window (no air conditioning- must be unbearable in the summer). However we were woken up repeatedly by church bells, and then from 5:30am when the flight path opened. My boyfriend shut the window so we were boiling hot.. And then some pidgeons turned up and started flapping at the window. To add insult to injury we were woken up AGAIN by housekeeping at 8:30am- I'm sorry but on a weekend this is far too early to be cleaning a room. Admittedly we could have put a 'do not disturb' sign on the door but we have never had this issue on weekend stays before.

Night 2: hammers home to us that the sound insulation is rubbish- I am a deep sleeper and got woken up twice in the night (once at 1:30am and once at 6:30am) by people in neighbouring rooms using hairdryers. It was literally like they were using it in the same room as us. So, obviously the sound insulation in the stud walls is non existent. To add insult to injury on the same night the fire alarm went off at 3:30am. I understand that this can sometimes happen, and have actually stayed in a Holiday Inn where this was the case, and all guests had letters of apology put under their doors- this did not happen here which shocked me. Again, we were boiling hot, and AGAIN had pidgeons throwing themselves at our window.

The final straw for me was checkout- no apology for the fire alarm. We weren't even asked about our stay and if we enjoyed it. If we had been then I wouldn't have felt the need to write this review.

So- all in all, we're heading home exhausted after what should have been a relaxing weekend. The hotel could sort most if its issues if it did something about the internal sound insulation, installed air conditioning units (our room didn't even have a fan) so that guest wouldn't have to open windows and put up with aeroplane noise, had rooms cleaned later on weekends (or at least highlighted to weekend guests that they should use the do not disturb signs if they don't want an early wake up).. And did something to keep pidgeons off windowsills!! Finally it would be nice to be asked if we enjoyed out stay on checkout. I've never written a bad tripadvisor review before and am generally a happy traveller, but feel so strongly that the hotel has let us down this weekend that I had to comment.

There are hotels a million miles better than this, for a similar price, in London. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaP190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear RebeccaP190725,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel and providing us with your constructive feedback. It’s a shame to read that you were not satisfied with a few aspects of your stay with us.

Firstly, I would like to apologize that you felt on check out you were not able to voice the issues you faced during your time with us. The staff working the morning after the fire alarm tried to apologize to as many guests as possible and usually we ask all guests for feedback on departure so this isn’t the usual check out standard that we offer.

All of the rooms in the hotel are equipped with fans so its very strange you did not find one inside your room, if mentioned to the staff we would have been happy to help you with this and even provide you with an extra one if your were feeling too hot.

With regards to your issues with internal noise, I understand this must have been frustrating for you, once again if you had contacted reception which is manned 24 hours a day we may have been able to solve the issue for you. The external noise from the church and the pigeons is in some ways out of our control but I must say I have not had any issues reported of this nature so far, saying that we do take the matter very seriously and have investigated what could have attracted the pigeons to you window with pest control.

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the housekeeping department, I understand at the weekends all guests should be allowed to sleep in and not be disturbed, we have conducted a meeting regarding this issue you experienced so thank you for bringing it to my attention.

On a final note I would like to once again thank you for taking the time to share you concerns and hope that we can welcome you back on another occasion to show you this was an isolated issue.

Best regards,

Anthony Zihni
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#259 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Corona
BEST WESTERN Corona
#537 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#601 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#521 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#373 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Address: 106-110 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. This central London hotel offers well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, in house pay per movies, bar, breakfast room, High Speed Internet Access also available at charge. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore the 'Sights and Sound' of London, this 'Budget Hotel' is perfect for both occasions. The hotel is ideally located for any one travelling to London via Gatwick Airport or Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick airport is just 35 minutes from London Victora where as London Heathrow is 15 minutes by Heathrow Express to London Paddington station from where the hotel is a short journey by underground or taxi.Closest Rail link: London Victoria Station. Closest Underground Station: Pimlico Underground Station. Closest Coach Station: London Victoria Coach Station. Closest Attractions: Tate Art Gallery, Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, West End Theatres & Shopping. Accommodation: Twin bed rooms with two single beds for max. 2 adults and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa for max. 4 adults or max. 2 adults and 2 children. Nearest Underground Station - Pimlico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing