We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday inn? Never again.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Ranked #605 of 1,089 Hotels in London
NZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Holiday inn? Never again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Miserable, grunting reception staff. Hot, loud rooms with tiny bargain basement televisions. Motorway service station quality breakfast with staff who ignore you. Very expensive and absolutely no right to be. I will never use a holiday inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustb5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear MustB5star,

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not to the level of your expectations.

The issues raised regarding service in particular are quite concerning and not a representation of our usual high standards. I would be grateful if we could discuss this further and have sent you a personal message with my contact details. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you for providing your feedback and please accept my apologies once again.

Best regards,

Anthony Zihni
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    210
    194
    83
    36
See reviews for
132
157
45
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights, a weekend break in London. Location is brilliant, but that's the only positive thing I can say. Rooms were far too small and had no aircon, great in summer when it's humid! Staff were hard to find on several occasions, we stood in reception shouting hello to get attention and just over 5 minutes later we were greeted!! Breakfast is included, but we plated up a rather shameful selection of food, took one bite and left! (Go to victoria station for breakfast!!) Overall we were disappointed with our stay, and certainly won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachcich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Rachcich,

We welcome all forms of feedback. This help us review our services and improve where possible, your comments are truly valuable to us. It is our goal to meet and exceed all our guests’ expectations, so I am disappointed to read that there were a couple of issues that made your stay less enjoyable.

Due to the nature of the building, it is a challenge for us to install AC, though we are looking at ways to go around this. In the meantime, we do try to provide some solutions, such as fan in each room, ice and water bottles all available for free from reception

I am sorry to hear that you had to wait for few minutes to be attended by a member of staff. Please let me assure you that this is certainly not reflective of our usual standards. The reception is attended 24 hours a day. Occasionally during late night, if the front desk was unattended it must have been because the staff member was attending another guest in their room. It’s just a coincidence that this happened to you more than once.

Our selections of breakfast items are in line with the Holiday Inn Express brand standard, offering continental as well as hot options. If you have any further suggestions as to what would improve our service I would be more than happy to hear from you.

Kind Regards,


Anthony Zihni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Jakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Didn't pay attention on the review and picture provided by tripadvisor when we made a booking as we believe that Holiday Inn must be a representative hotel. However we were shocked to find out that the hotel is very small and it shouldn't be categorised as 3* hotel as it does not meet the standard. When we checked in the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming us. They provided a free wifi access in the room as my boyfriend is a member of holiday inn. Since the building is very close to the road so we requested for a quiet room and they gave us the room facing the back road. The room was very very small and we didnt have enough space to put our luggage (2 big bags and 1 small bag). It is also very difficult when we want to access our luggage as we need to put them on the bed. I think the size of the room is almost equal to the size of our bathroom. Well it was a summer hot day with temperature around 33 C so you can imagine it is very hot in our room as the room is not equipped with AC only fan. We have to open our window when we sleep but it was not help at all. The breakfast was very very standard also especially if you used with the buffet breakfast standard at the hotel in SEA so this is clearly far below expectation. Lucky we only stayed for 2 nights and spent most of the day outside so we didnt have to stay long in our room.
A good thing is room was clean and staffs were very friendly, helpful and they also didn't charge for the usage of printer and scan. Location is pretty good as there were lots of selection for restaurant and you can walk to the victorian station in 10 minutes. However if you have a big luggage it will be a challenge to reach this hotel from Victoria Station as the taxi refused to take you to the hotel as it is considered close by cab.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Ira F,

Many thanks for providing us with your constructive feedback, it’s a shame that we seem to have fell short of your expectations on this occasion.

It’s true that the hotel doesn’t have air conditioning mainly due to the building restrictions but we do have many solutions set in place to help our guests keep cool and comfortable. All rooms are equipped with fans and we have extra fans available at reception, we also provide water bottles and cooling spays to reduce the heat.

With regards to the room size, depending on availability we can allocate family rooms which are more spacious and for the same cost upon request, or you can book in advance for this room type.

The hotel is in line with brand standards which include the complimentary breakfast that we offer it consists of continental and hot items served in a buffet style please accept my apologies if this wasn’t up to your expectations.

It’s nice to read that you enjoyed the location and the service that you experienced while staying with us.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and also for choosing the hotel.

Best regards,

Anthony Zihni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria was a hotel that SHOULD NOT be part of the Hoiday Inn Family chain of hotels. The Front desk gentleman was argumentative and seemed like I was a bother to have checked in while the reception area was EMPTY. The Freebie was a Free Bottled water! REALLY? As if they are doing me a favor! He acted like it was a precious commodity!

The ONLY thing about this hotel was the breakfast (inclusive). If I had to pick this area again, there is a BEST WESTERN Across the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPeSh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear JoPeSh3

I am truly concerned to receive such a negative feedback. This is certainly not the representation of the service we provide. Where there are shortfalls I am keen to discuss this with you in person and I appreciate if you could contact me to find out more.

Sachin Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Basement room with bars on windows directly under reception ..... didn't sleep all night as I had to endure the noise of people coming any going with heels/cases etc. The basement rooms are clearly sub-standard and should not be rented at premium rates. Also just to add to the misery .... adjoins the breakfast room so if you were starting to drop-off to sleep following reception noise you then get the noise/smells of breakfast .... appalling!

One positive .... reception staff were really polite!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Sje,

Many thanks for your review, please accept my sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with your room or the noise levels.

It’s such a shame that during the time of your stay we were not able to assist you with the issues you were facing, the reception is open 24 hours and if a member of staff was contacted they would have been more than happy to assist you with a room move or another solution.

Its nice to read that you found the staff polite, I hope that in the future we can welcome you back and don’t hesitate to contact to request a room on a higher in advance.

Best regards,

Anthony Zihni
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Clean room with standard Holiday Inn finish. With no A/c it was hellish ...even with two fans....the weather isn't the fault of the hotel, but it was unbearable. Also, the bar had no white wine when we got back after a long day ay Hyde Park.....really?!? Not good enough! For breakfast, we went to the Vauxhall Cafe 5 mins walk away..bargain full English breakfast for £5.20.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Loll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Loll,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay, please accept my apologies for that fact that you didn’t enjoy it as much as expected.

Due to building restrictions and the style of the hotel it’s a bit a challenge for us to offer air conditioning at the moment, we do offer some other solutions to help make all our guests more comfortable.

We do offer a free breakfast for all our guests so maybe next time you can give it a try, also on your return we will make sure we have plenty of white wine in stock, I am sorry this was an issue during your recent stay.

Once again thank you for your review and choosing our hotel.

Best regards,

Anthony Zihni
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Terrible experience! It had no air conditioning in the room. I stayed for 10 days, and I left a cup of coffee the first day and they never threw it away, just imagine how dirty was my room. The elevator was too slow and no air conditioning when we were 86oF or 30oC.

Room Tip: choose another hotel................
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Chico C,

Firstly I would like to apologize for the fact that you seem to have had an unpleasant experience, it’s very disappointing to read that you found the room to be dirty as our housekeeping standards are usually kept to a very high standard and all rooms are serviced daily.

It’s true the hotel doesn’t have air conditioning mainly due to the building restrictions but we do have many solutions set in place to help our guests keep cool and comfortable. All rooms are equipped with fans and we have extra fans available at reception, we also provide water bottles and cooling spays to reduce the heat.

It’s a shame that we were not able to offer you any solutions during your stay, the reception is open 24 hours and there is always someone available for assistance.

Once again, please accept my apologies and if you would like to discuss anything further do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anthony Zihni
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#261 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Corona
BEST WESTERN Corona
#541 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#498 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#601 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#202 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Address: 106-110 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. This central London hotel offers well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, in house pay per movies, bar, breakfast room, High Speed Internet Access also available at charge. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore the 'Sights and Sound' of London, this 'Budget Hotel' is perfect for both occasions. The hotel is ideally located for any one travelling to London via Gatwick Airport or Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick airport is just 35 minutes from London Victora where as London Heathrow is 15 minutes by Heathrow Express to London Paddington station from where the hotel is a short journey by underground or taxi.Closest Rail link: London Victoria Station. Closest Underground Station: Pimlico Underground Station. Closest Coach Station: London Victoria Coach Station. Closest Attractions: Tate Art Gallery, Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, West End Theatres & Shopping. Accommodation: Twin bed rooms with two single beds for max. 2 adults and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa for max. 4 adults or max. 2 adults and 2 children. Nearest Underground Station - Pimlico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing