We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good start but------”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Ranked #628 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Arrived Thursday 17 April and were greeted by friendly and helpful reception staff, we had requested a quiet room and were given 502 on the 5th floor with a view towards the wheel. Happy with the room and it was quiet by London standards. But the next morning the only lift broke down and being Good Friday we were told it would not be repaired that day. We were offered a ground floor room but we didn't want the noise of a low room so decided to do the climb for another day. The next day was cold so we put the radiators on and they rattled away but didn't get warm and the window would not close fully-- had been like this a while as the paintwork was chipped and the wood dented were the window frame had been banged hard in an effort to close it. We reported this and they did try to vent the radiator but it was as bad as before in an hour. We left on Monday, the fourth day without a lift. surely Holiday Inn can have a lift maintenance contract with a company that works 24/7 and if spares are needed they can be delivered overnight. I am an older guest so found the lift being out more than just an inconvenience. The hospitality tray was not for tea drinkers, Two tea bags on day one and only one tea bag on day two and I couldn't face the stairs without the lift to go down to the breakfast room 5 floors plus another to the basement to get more. Breakfast Ok, scrambled eggs were very dry as other reviewers have said but as a continental breakfast we were happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Pamelag432,

Thank you for staying with us earlier this week. We are sorry that you suffered so much inconvenience with the lift being out of order. We tried to make your stay more pleasurable by moving you to the ground floor. Unfortunately the lift needed a part which, despite 24/7 maintenance, could not be rectified until the holiday period was over (sometimes a long weekend doesnt always work in our favour!). Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast tray and the window. These are extremely valid points and we will look to rectify them. Whilst your stay wasnt quite up to what you expected we do hope to be able to welcome you in the future so you can see the improvements we have made.

Best wishes,

Munira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The only reason I'm not giving it a five star review is because of the really small room and the road noise that we could hear. However, the morning breakfast was great, and the real winner was, the front desk staff! The staff were incredible, and I mean everyone - they let us use their printer to print out tickets that we had purchased online, they lent us adapters as ours didn't work for free, they were always friendly and always saying hello. Thanks so much for the enjoyable stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingtoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear TravellingtoParis,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best wishes,

Munira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

£110 a night so not cheap for anywhere outside London. Centrally located so that was good. Friendly helpful staff so that was good as well. The whole place however is a bit cramped and needs some money spent on it. Room was comfortable enough and clean. Breakfast was awful. Not a terrible experience, but perhaps in need of a refresh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear warren_zevon,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We apologize you were not satisfied with our breakfast selections and the condition of our hotel fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We chose this hotel for price and location.
Price included breakfast and although basic was adequate!
Pimlico tube station literally around the corner . Room small but had all we needed and nice view of battersea!
Would recommend, check prices on internet, some good deals!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tafslovelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

You can't imagine how much this is music to our ears ... truly! The biggest compliment probably, for a bunch of hospitable people who like to remain real, genuine, and be themselves.

A big massive 'thank you' from the heart of all our staff
If you decide to come again near our place. It'd be lovely to have you again.

All the best from all of us and thank you again.
Kind Regards
Giorgia Di Blasi
Social Media Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked this Hotel as we were informed it was 5-7 minutes walk from Victoria Coach Station,with two suitcases pus hand luggage it took 15-20 minutes,my Wife and I are in our mid Sixties and fit found id difficult to manage.
On checking in,despite being informed we had until 4 pm to take the room or cancel,we were informed it was too late,or to contact Booking.com,after travelling for 7 hours we could not be bothered to find a more convenient Hotel.
We were allocated a very small room next to two exterior doors,the noise from the road was constant throughout the night,this was nothing like the standard we constantly receive from a rival Budget Hotel chain,where they guarantee a Good Nights Sleep.
The Breakfast room was very small,not a great choice to eat,all in all,very disappointing considering the price that was charged,certainly will not use again.

Room Tip: Difficult to see the Hotel on Belgrave Road when on foot,walking from Victoria Rail Station or Coach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the size of the accommodations and noise from the road prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the high marks for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

stayed here for 2 nights to view some sites in London. The hotel is a good location close to train/coach stations plus tube was just a few min walk away. The family room was a good size only 2 faults the pillows were uncomfortable and the room was way to hot, with no way to control the heat settings in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny18577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for three nights at the end of December. The staff was great, very helpful during the stay. The rooms were nice, had four people in two double rooms, and spacious enough. Bathroom was in good shape and everything was very clean. We had a room facing the street and it was a bit loud at times, so if you need absolute quiet to sleep maybe ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street. The others in our party had a room that did not overlook the street and did not notice any noise at all. The breakfast was much better than most Holiday Inn Express in which I have stayed and the nook has a rather big skylight. Really pretty area to stay and quick walk to Victoria Station. Not too many restaurants or nightlife right close but only a 15-20 minute stroll. There is an elevator but it is quite slow.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sclittlecsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#200 of 1,081 in London
651 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#547 of 1,081 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Westminster
Pimlico
Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Address: 106-110 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #628 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £87 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. This central London hotel offers well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, in house pay per movies, bar, breakfast room, High Speed Internet Access also available at charge. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore the 'Sights and Sound' of London, this 'Budget Hotel' is perfect for both occasions. The hotel is ideally located for any one travelling to London via Gatwick Airport or Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick airport is just 35 minutes from London Victora where as London Heathrow is 15 minutes by Heathrow Express to London Paddington station from where the hotel is a short journey by underground or taxi.Closest Rail link: London Victoria Station. Closest Underground Station: Pimlico Underground Station. Closest Coach Station: London Victoria Coach Station. Closest Attractions: Tate Art Gallery, Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, West End Theatres & Shopping. Accommodation: Twin bed rooms with two single beds for max. 2 adults and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa for max. 4 adults or max. 2 adults and 2 children. Nearest Underground Station - Pimlico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing