We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable budget hotel but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Ranked #621 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable budget hotel but small room”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I chose the Holiday inn Express because I wanted the known quantity of the brand, and this certainly proved to be the case. The hotel is in Pimlico rather than Victoria, in a quiet, elegant georgian street about 10-15 minutes walk from Victoria station. the room was very small, which is not unusual in London, but it was clean and fresh, and well-designed. It had a (very small) desk, which i needed, and some good design touches, such as the hairdryer on the wall right next to the mirror. I had a nice, quiet room on the back of the hotel, which was very welcome. The hotel does not offer a lot of service, but such staff as I encountered were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was descried as 'continental' but in fact also included some hot items (sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans).

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookingchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad that you found our staff helpful and pleasant. We are sorry your found the room a little small. One of our distinguishing features is that our hotel is a listed period building in the heart of London and we have tried to maintain the beautiful characteristics of the property. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Kind regards Maria Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    218
    198
    83
    38
See reviews for
139
164
46
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Tucked away on the Belgrave Road, what a little treasure. Very clean with staff that are there to please and a very pleasant breakfast included. The setting is nearer Pimlico underground than Victoria and within walking distance. Belgrave Road is also quite a nice area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our friends were in much larger, probably family rooms, which I think were 114 and 115. The lift tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiethetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you stay was a good experience and you will highly recommend us in the future. We hope also to see you in our '' little treasure '' . Many thanks for the 4 stars , Maria Castro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have traveled around the world and the US and have stayed in some 4 star hotels that were dumps and road side mom & pop motels that were fit for a king. Our stay at the Holiday Inn Express Victoria was fantastic! We (my husband and I) stayed there from May 29 to June 6 2014. We reserved a room with 2 single beds and an in-room bath. We were put in a room on the 4th floor, on the street side (Belgrave). The hotel has a lift (elevator) which turned out to be very useful for me. We arrived about 1130 am and the young lady at the front desk, Mylene, tried to find us a room that was ready at that time that met or exceeded our reservation but had no luck - which was fine. She helped us store our luggage (only backpacks) in their locked storeroom and then made some recommendations for a drink or lunch/snack. She said that our room should be ready in about an hour or 2. We went to one of here recommendations and had a light lunch and began planning our afternoon. We returned to the hotel at about 2pm and were warmly greeted again by Mylene. She said our room was ready, helped us get our belongings, and made the check-in process a breeze. She provided me with the access codes needed for the free wifi and said if we needed anything to let her know. We got settled in our room which was spotless with the temperature perfect for us. We decided to stretch out while looking at the various maps of London, the Tube, and the bus routes - we ended up waking up 16 hours later. The water pressure in the shower was strong and the water stayed hot. Breakfast is served on the lower ground floor. They offered scrambled eggs, beans (like pork & beans if you have never had a British breakfast before), and bangers (sausages). There were several types of breads/rolls & croissants and sweet roles. Also offered were 3 different cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, cheese, several various toppings for bread - butter, jam, nutella, marmalade, & jelly. There was cold orange juice, apple juice and water. Hot water for the many different teas available plus 2 hot chocolates and 4-5 different coffees including cafe-au-lait, cappuccino, and decaf. The staff that worked the breakfast room was very courteous, the room was kept clean, and the food was plentiful, even on the couple of days that we slept in late and only made it with 15 minutes to spare before serving was over.

Our first morning there after breakfast we stopped by the front desk to verify our directions to the Tube (London subway). We were greeted by Maria who was very helpful and directed us to the much closer Pimlico Station instead of going all the way up to VIctoria Station. When we returned 10 hours later we were greeted by Ehab who was also very friendly and helpful. I had sprained my ankle earlier in the day and my husband came back down to get some ice for my ankle, Ehab helped him get a special arrangement for ice so I could ice my ankle down. That was very helpful.

By the time we had to check out we had friends who happened to work at the Holiday Inn. Ehab and Maria helped me print our boarding passes so we didn't have to pay to so it at an internet cafe.

So in closing, our stay was very enjoyable and the free breakfast and internet were great. he staff was very helpful and friendly. The cost was better than most for the same type of accommodations. We will be making another trip to London in the future and we intend to stay there again. I highly recommend this establishment. Just remember - European rooms are smaller than the ones in the States. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: sorry accidentally clicked swimming pool...they do not have a pool. Our room was in the front on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mrs Lemley

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us your feedback.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are glad that your experience with us was a positive one. It was a pleasure for us to serve you, we really enjoyed having you stayed with us as well. Our special thanks to you for appreciating the hard work done by the team. I will be happily sharing this information with my team.
We are also glad that you found our location good located. We are a traditional building, located in the hearth of Victoria and just a stone through away from the Pimlico Underground station; small but decent - we are really pleased that you noticed that. We rely on guests like you to expand our business and thank you for spreading the word.
Thank you so much once again and we hope to see you soon in our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Sachin
PS: Hope you ankle is healed by now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Room was small, but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only detractors are that it is a significant walk from Victoria (nearest tube isn't somewhere I would be comfortable on my own late at night) and the breakfast was really poor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenK297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Jen K. Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast and the location did not live up to your expectations. Just to let you know for the next time, there is a nearest tube station called Pimlico is 3 minutes walk from our hotel and is a Victoria line that takes you to all the destinations that you need. We apologise again and we hope that you can give us another chance to show what we have done. Kind regards, Maria Castro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ok I'm a holiday inn gold member so perhaps I should be more positive about HI places. The location is great, really well placed...but you do have to walk a little. It is ok, but the free wifi and breakfast are pretty much valued as by what you pay for...you pay nothing so .... well work it out. I stay at other HI express places and don't say this. Room was clean but my consistent problem was that I had to fix the shower before using it the first time. I will use it again because of the location but I hope it improves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Andy, Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize that your stay was negatively affected by the room accommodation. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us another chance to show what we have done. Hope to see you soon, Kind regards Maria Castro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Check-in was quick and efficient. Lift took an age! Room was tiny and I had to double check that the single glazed window was closed due to the fact it was so noisy.

Bed was comfortable and I was provided with the choice of firm or soft pillows. Shower was fine and there was plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was an experience... help yourself orange juice and hot drinks from a machine and a choice of hot and cold breakfast items buffet style. Not convinced that the cost of the stay was justified by the room size or quality of the breakfast. I would try hard not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are presumably a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet_Tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Front Reception at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the most importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the breakfast. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Kind regards Maria Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

hotel is near to Victoria theatre and amenities. room small but adequate. staff helpful and friendly. however the breakfast lets it down. if you do not offer a full breakfast at least have a good selection of cereals and fruit ie some freshly prepared chopped fruit instead of cheap nasty tinned peaches. would use again but i would go outside for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglelady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Beaglelady71,

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are very proud of our property which sits in a listed period building in the heart of London! Thank you for your feedback on our breakfast. We are working on the offering we have and we hope you will return to our hotel in the future to see the improvements we have made.

Best wishes,
Munira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#555 of 1,067 in London
737 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#509 of 1,067 in London
471 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#240 of 1,067 in London
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#603 of 1,067 in London
284 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#633 of 1,067 in London
1,375 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Address: 106-110 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #621 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. This central London hotel offers well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, in house pay per movies, bar, breakfast room, High Speed Internet Access also available at charge. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore the 'Sights and Sound' of London, this 'Budget Hotel' is perfect for both occasions. The hotel is ideally located for any one travelling to London via Gatwick Airport or Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick airport is just 35 minutes from London Victora where as London Heathrow is 15 minutes by Heathrow Express to London Paddington station from where the hotel is a short journey by underground or taxi.Closest Rail link: London Victoria Station. Closest Underground Station: Pimlico Underground Station. Closest Coach Station: London Victoria Coach Station. Closest Attractions: Tate Art Gallery, Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, West End Theatres & Shopping. Accommodation: Twin bed rooms with two single beds for max. 2 adults and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa for max. 4 adults or max. 2 adults and 2 children. Nearest Underground Station - Pimlico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing