We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the basement room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Ranked #631 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The basement room i got was horrible and smelly. A nice location in the city centre. Restaurants nearby. Carpet floor need to be removed. To get to your room you have to pass 10 doors and corridors lacking fresh air.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the street. Larger window, better view . The street is quite calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MiklosAlmasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Hotel Receptionist at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear MiklosAlmasy,
,
Please accept my sincerest apology if we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation on this day. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve. This building is a Victorian House that we try to keep as original as possible. The fire regulations means we are required to have the fire doors but not as many as you mentioned. On the positive note we are glad you found the location nice. We hope to have you in our hotel in the future and that your experience will be positive one.

Kind regards,

Giorgia Di Blasi
Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Myself and my two children stayed for one night whilst on a sightseeing/theatre visit. The hotel was great, it suited our needs perfectly. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and suitable for our requirements. We were on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel, we could see Big Ben and The London Eye which kids loved, noise wasn't an issue at all! The room was warm but fans provided made it comfortable and bottles of water were freely available from reception.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff were quick to top up things that ran out.
The hotel is in a great location 5 minutes walk from Pimlico underground.
We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your stay. We are really pleased that your family had a great stay here.
We love to welcome you back. So if you are already planning a future visit, why won't you visit our website for good deals, particularly during the winter months like Christmas period, We have excellent offers available during this period.
Kind regards,

Ehab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have to qualify that I have not actually stayed in a prison cell but the room was a bare bones, tiny, hot cell of a room. I understand that it is central London but this hotel was expensive for what you get. The hotel, like all on Belgrave Road, is made up of converted houses with small rooms, small elevators and steep stairs and no air conditioning. On the plus side the staff was excellent and the location is great - close to restaurants, Pimlico tube stop, Victoria Station and Buckingham Palace. I was there for work and had planned to stay there for 8 days but checked out after 3. I was trying to save money and didn't read the fine print that there was no a/c. The temperature was in the low 80's The window only opens about 15 inches and the fan provides no help as there is no ventilation. It can also be noisy (traffic) on the Belgrave Rd side of the hotel with the window opened. The breakfast was minimal compared to HI Express in the US.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel if you want the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pistolpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We are sad to see you left early due to the warm weather in general in London. You have correctly describe the building is a listed building so got a bit of history and we like to keep it like this. While we try to maintain the piece of history, our every effort to install an air con has been challenged by regulations and planning permissions etc, which means there is delay in installing this. If every thing goes as plan we are hopeful to have air con for next year - which should be great sigh of relief for all of us involved with the hotel.
On a positive side, I am glad to read your comments about the staff. They are our backbone and I will be sharing your comments with the team.
Thank you for your stay.

Kind regards,

Sachin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I chose this hotel because they had family rooms for 4 people, free breakfast, free wifi and a good location-10 minute walk to Victoria Station and a tube stop nearby.. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast was very nice for continental breakfast with a nice room in the basement with large skylight. The hotel has a nice lobby and our room was adequate in size for 4 people. My only complaint was that our bathroom lacked counter space. Also, this hotel has showers only. Fans are provided because there is no air conditioning. Our room was first floor on the back so there was no street noise. Rooms could be hot but on the first floor that wasn't much of a problem with two windows and the fan. We were in London the middle of June and the weather was warm. There is an elevator for those who can't do stairs. The lobby has A/C. I would stay at this hotel again. The price was reasonable and the free breakfast is one of my must haves for booking hotels in Europe. It saves time and money. I am a Holiday Inn Priority Club Member. This is definitely a quieter part of the city with mostly hotels and residential areas. If you want exciting night life, stay some where else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

As a loyal IHG Rewards Club member, we are pleased that you were able to recognize the efforts that our staff make to deliver a good experience for every guest. The team are the heart and soul of our hotel so it’s very gratifying to see that, despite your other concerns, they were able to demonstrate great hospitality. Our staff takes great pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

If in future you find yourself in our area or if your business travels bring you back to our hotel we would love to have you as our guest again.

Kind regards,

Sachin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent location, friendly service, warm hospitality. Mylene went out of her way to find me a recharger for my iPhone. Everyone was helpful. Breakfast was generous and staff are quick to serve. Highly recommended hotel close to Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tes1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Tes1943,
Thank you for your very nice comment and its insure to us that your stay was very good with us and you found our staff either in reception or breakfast room are very helpful and efficient yes you are right we are very close to Victoria station and Buckingham palace and we are looking forward to see you again in your next visit of London.
Kind Regards
Bimal Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The reviews match with my experience. The room was tiny! You know it bad when you are anxious to get to you cruise ship cabin. The bathroom is fine and actually roomy. I put my luggage in the bathroom. There is no air conditioning. But they do provide a fan and free water. The breakfast was so so. I eat gluten free. The eggs were powered and terrible so that left me a bit high and dry. The toast, and cereal were good for my travel companion. The front desk folks were helpful. Location was good. Area appeared safe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank palrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear KTnsue
Thank you for your time to write a review it’s really pleased to know that you found our staff helpful and what we provide in a room is efficient as well as good working wifi, as you know we are very close to central attractions and public transportation, we are looking forward to see you again.
Kind Regards
Bimal Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a small hotel, built in an old town house - so it can't have the benefit of wide corridors and palatial public areas. In common with many city centre hotels the room was quite small - but big enough when you are out in town all day. The rooms don't have air conditioning, but fans are provided (as are earplugs if the traffic noise is too much). Breakfast is self service and fairly basic - but there is plenty of it and the quality is fine. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The shower in the bathroom was efficient, room was very clean and had everything I needed - especially pleased with free wifi. I would stay again if the room is the right price.

Room Tip: Near the back would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelServiceTeam, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear KTnsue
Thank you for your time to write a review it’s really pleased to know that you found our staff helpful and what we provide in a room is efficient as well as good working wifi, as you know we are very close to central attractions and public transportation, we are looking forward to see you again.
Kind Regards
Bimal Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Westminster
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#208 of 1,077 in London
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#677 of 1,077 in London
817 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria

Address: 106-110 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #631 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £76 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria. This central London hotel offers well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, in house pay per movies, bar, breakfast room, High Speed Internet Access also available at charge. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore the 'Sights and Sound' of London, this 'Budget Hotel' is perfect for both occasions. The hotel is ideally located for any one travelling to London via Gatwick Airport or Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick airport is just 35 minutes from London Victora where as London Heathrow is 15 minutes by Heathrow Express to London Paddington station from where the hotel is a short journey by underground or taxi.Closest Rail link: London Victoria Station. Closest Underground Station: Pimlico Underground Station. Closest Coach Station: London Victoria Coach Station. Closest Attractions: Tate Art Gallery, Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, West End Theatres & Shopping. Accommodation: Twin bed rooms with two single beds for max. 2 adults and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa for max. 4 adults or max. 2 adults and 2 children. Nearest Underground Station - Pimlico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Victoria Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing