We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect for a night out in Shoreditch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #481 of 1,088 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night out in Shoreditch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here in early Feb with my mate for a night out in Shoreditch, which, for location is quality. It wasn't noisy as some people have said, we stayed on the 3rd floor facing Old Street and it was fine. We had a Double room but the added bonus of a sofa bed means we both got a double bed each, cant ask much more than that for central london and the price was very decent too. Would def recommend it, plus, when you stay you get a discount voucher for a beer, not the best bar by far but when you get money off it's always a good thing, even for 1 before the nightlife of shortditch drags you out! 1 reviewer said there are not a lot of restaurants close by......I have no idea where this person stayed but there are plenty of places to choose from and Hoxton Sq. is literally on the door step!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonkeyRhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    547
    318
    81
    65
See reviews for
371
199
81
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were in the £150-200 per night tariff.
This is our second visit in 18 months for a business visit.
The good news of this up-dated review is that there is now secondary double glazing on the window sills. We had a room at the front and it is a vast improvement. Ear plugs were not needed. Refurbishment is clear.

On arrival the TV was not working, but a service visit fixed that. Nevertheless, the channel choice is very limited.
We later discovered the hairdryer was broken. That could not be fixed because we had to check out.
Ceiling lighting is very dim in bedroom and bathroom. How eco friendly to be in a gloomy twilight zone.
No free wifi access.

Buffet breakfast was perfunctory and is the only meal available.
No restaurant facility.
Suggest you try the following nearby place on Curtain Street if you need to eat in Shoreditch.

http://www.goodlifediner.com/

Holiday Inn Express staff were very polite and helpful. Presumably IHG trained and managed?
This is a budget hotel in an expensive commercial area of London and is rather expensive for minimal value.
Room was clean and bed was fine.

Room Tip: Ensure equipment is in working order on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear HodderHobbit,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us.
We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

10 mins walk from Liverpool St Station. Not the nicest part of town. Very few restaurants or shops around. Make sure you eat before you get there!

Public areas and corridors a bit tired. But room was very modern. Room on third floor at back of hotel overlooking a courtyard. So very quiet.

Wifi was a rip off. Very expensive and signal too week to use in the room.

Breakfast was ok. good selection and not to busy.

Room Tip: Upper floor at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank No1WelshFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

So, 5 important things to know about this hotel;
1) It's located close to the north east end of the city centre, but it's in the middle of Shoreditch/Hoxton area, which appears shabby and slightly scary to tourists, but is actually chock of really nice places to eat, drink and party.
2) It's a functional place to rest your head with few frills and, my pet hate, no in-room free wifi (just no excuse for this now)
3) Breakfast quality is not the best for choice (continental-style) and the vended coffee is just about undrinkable.
4) The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiet and spacious (by London standards) and have a desk. My room was clean and in good decorative order.
5) If you can book it on the budget rate, it's a steady bet for a weekend break or business traveller.

This is a no frills base for your trip and I think they execute the limited offering reasonably well. However, don't go expecting boutique luxury and take a wifi dongle with you.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room as the front facing rooms suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scobesfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel with our two children. The rooms are clean, with nice cotton bedding, and the sofa bed is made up ready for you. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was much quieter than the front roadside room we had last time. The buffet style breakfast was a big hit with the kids, and plenty of choice.

Reception staff very knowledgeable about the area, and gave help with bus routes etc. Takes about 15 minutes to get to Oxford Street by bus or a 2 minute walk from Old Street tube station. Great location with lots of choice of places to eat nearby.

Would recommend for anyone wanting a reasonably priced city break with children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

So this is the newly refurbished Holiday Inn Express. I'm only giving it 2 stars because the bathroom looks okay and it's all around clean. I sat on the mattress and it sunk down. No safe in the room, no iron, no minibar, no desk outlets to plug in, the sockets are 5 feet away. The closet is this open nook in the corner of the room without a door. There's no place to put away your clothes. You're basically living out of your suitcase.
To top it all off, they charge for internet at 10.95 English Pounds a day, and you've got to use coupons each day with a different login and password. I kid you not.
First and last time I stay here. Total crap.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. Really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier_Amar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel because of location - Old street is vibrant with many places to eat well but cheaply. Nice clean hotel and room, everything we needed. 5 minutes from Old St tube station, whihc is 2 stops from Kings Cross. Easy to find. Breakfast much better than Holiday Inn express usual - cooked sausage and scrambled egg on offer too.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are much quieter, but we had no real noise problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concord Pit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#289 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#70 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Property: Holiday Inn Express London City
Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing